×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Nightmare Before Christmas Collector’s Edition 2-Disc DVD + Digital Copy
     

The Nightmare Before Christmas Collector’s Edition 2-Disc DVD + Digital Copy

4.8 155
Director: Henry Selick

Cast: Danny Elfman, Chris Sarandon, Catherine O'Hara

 

See All Formats & Editions

The Special Edition DVD of Tim Burton's magical stop-motion animated feature The Nightmare Before Christmas comes loaded with bonus features. To begin with, it can be heard in either English or French and comes with English captions and Spanish subtitles. The colorful interactive menus have background music, the film is presented in widescreen format, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Nightmare Before Christmas 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 155 reviews.
Grobiegirl More than 1 year ago
Okay, I'm talking about a cartoon character that bears a slight resemblance to Ichabod Crane. Well, I doubt sincerely that old Ichabod, or the Headless Horseman, for that matter, can belt out a tune like good old Jack can. Danny Elfman is so extraordinary as Jack Skelington, a resident of Halloween town. It seems every one relies on Jack to hold them all together- even the dopey Mayor. Now, I am not usually a huge fan of Halloween in the first place(imagine that!),but, this movie is an exception to all rules. Who would of thought Santa and the Bogey Man would have a run-in? No matter how many times you watch this movie, I guarantee, you will find something new to see each time. My third son had to watch this every single day, as it was one of his favorite movies, along with the original "Jurassic Park". Strange thing was, he was only 1 year-old at the time! They say kids know.....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Frankly, I didn't pay much attention to this movie when it first came out. I wasn't (then) a Tim Burton fan, and the whole premise didn't excite me. Then, several years ago I saw the transformation of the the Haunted Mansion in Disneyland (an almost complete &quot ride-through&quot of which is included as a bonus feature) and I was hooked. Finally, with the release of the BlueRay disc I have been able to see the movie. What a TREAT I have been missing for all these years! The one thing that stands out in particular (this being from somewhat of an &quot animation geek&quot ) is remembering that this is NOT CGI work (such as the Pixar films) this is all stop-animation. These are all actual 3-dimentional sets, with 3 dimentional puppets figures. For people not familiar with this technique, every character on camera is posed and a single frame of film is shot. Each character is then moved a fraction of an inch and another frame is shot. Repeat this about 110,000 times and you have this film. AMAZING! The technical virtuosity notwithstanding, the imagry, music, and story are all a perfect blend. Technically, the digital transfer video and audio are top of the line. I can find NOTHING wrong with this disc. Buy it!
chicagogrl15 More than 1 year ago
Ever feel like its Halloween every day? Ever feel like you could bring your dog back to life? For Christmas to appear? In the movie the nightmare before Christmas jack skellington the pumpkin king, is the master of Halloween , till he falls into Christmas land and find what Christmas is all about. Now to turn Halloween into Christmas he must get Santa clause to agree to help. Will he make it work or will everything burn to the ground? Follow jack, sally, and zero on the trip to turn Halloween into Christmas. Tim Burton is the craziest directors and film makers. All of his movies his movies are dark and you could watch one clip of his movies and know it was movies. His characters are the biggest part of his movies. All of his characters are dark. His animated characters are a big part of this movie and a couple of his other movies as well. His animated characters are the coolest characters. Burton can turn them into real characters. The voice of jack skellington is played by Chris Sarandon and the voice of sally is played by Catherine O’Hara they both did an amazing job at playing those parts. The music in this movie all has to do with the scenes. When jack falls into Christmas land he doesn’t know what anything is. All of a sudden he starts singing about everything he sees. It’s different from Halloween town. “There are children throwing snowballs/instead of throwing heads. They’re building toys and absolutely no one’s dead” this is a line in the song he sees them throwing snowballs instead of throwing head. Once again different from Halloween town. Now he knows what goes on. The rating of this movie is PG. I can kind of see why you would have it as PG because of graphics in this movie. This movie is not good for kids under 8 years old. I mean they kidnap Santa clause. It’s the perfect movie for either Christmas or Halloween.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i love this movie. i first saw it when i was about 5 or 6. i too was creeped out with the ghosts in the beginning of the movie and i was a little scared with the oogie boogie man! anyways, i am now 15 and it is one of my favorite movies! this is one of Tim Burton's masterpiece. i also saw Corpse Bride, and it was fantastic!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is in my top 3 favorite movies of all time. It's so much different than anything else out there, and its favorite musical of all time. This may even be tim burtons greatest masterpieces ever.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven't seent the whole movie, But from what I have seen, I loved! I love the music and it inspires me. I also saw Corpse bride, another Tim Burton Film, it was great!
bleedingelement More than 1 year ago
Man...this happens to be my favorite movie from Tim Burton...jack is just the coolest character...I love sally, zero, lock shock and barrel. The whole movie is just awesome...Tim Burton is a master at creating things like this....and for those of you who Nightmare Before Christmas....have to see it in 3D!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am like in love with this movie. I've watched it at least 20 times this year, and it is most definitely amazing. If you like have something against this movie, you were either too young to understand, or not into kidnapping Santa. Lock Shock and Barrel are the best trick or treaters. For those of you who have not seen the movie, it is about Jack Skellington's search for something new. He is Jack the Pumpkin King in Halloweentown, where all things halloween come from, that are brought into 'The Real World', or the world as we know it. In Halloweentown, you meet all the ghouls, witches, skeletons, trick-or-treaters, etc. The two- faced mayor is unable to run the town without the pumpkin king, and is frantic when he finds that Jack has escaped to another world. In this new world, Jack finds what he's never seen before - love, light, and no monsters to be found. If you haven't already, you must see The Nightmare Before Christmas, to see Tim Burton's holiday classic and to see how a simple poem can turn into a full-length animated movie.
OctoberHoliday More than 1 year ago
This has been my favorite film for quite some time. It tells the story of Jack Skellington, a creature no longer satisfied by Halloween. He goes off looking for something new, and finds Christmas. In the process of making Christmas his own, he nearly ruins everything and learns his lesson, a lesson that I'll let you interpret. Woven throughout the story is a tale of romance, longing, acceptance, and mischief, all strung beautifully together by the voice and music of Danny Elfman. Although it was wonderfully directed by Henry Selick, the credit for the story goes to Tim Burton, and this one ranks up there with Edward Scissorhands and Beetlejuice in its originality. It's a catchy film, and keeps your interest held tight all the way though. Though it may not be the most thought-provoking of tales, it certainly is a joy to watch if you're in the mood for something dark, but beautiful and magical at the same time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
truly a mesmerizing tale with its...peach icecream....and its......tecno choclate. kidnapping santy clause has never ben so fun!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Nightmare Before Christmas is fantastic! and guess what?, This is Halloween! and by the way, You rock Jack Skellingotn!
Stephanie86 More than 1 year ago
One of my all time favorite Tim Burton movies..... Love this movie and all the songs !! :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
The movie was prety good overall. The animation is very stylish and unique that could only have come from Tim Burton. It's not so much of a christmas story as it is a love story. The main character felt he was missing something in the beginning and thought what he needed was christmas but really it was the love that was associated with christmas. He found out that after nearly destroying christmas. He accepts who he is and finds his true love in a doll. However, he didn't really find out what christmas was or means...at least the director didn't emphasize it much.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this movie to death i can recite the whole thing.. but one thing i noticed about the digitally remastered collectors edition is that during the first opening song &amp quot This is Halloween at the part when sallys brushing her hair it misses a verse?! i still cant find out why!! if you find out why contact me at my email adress posted
Guest More than 1 year ago
it is the best movie possibly ever made. my friends-Anthony,Diane,And Alyssa are in love with this movie.My favorite character is Jack of course! I LOVE JACK.