×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Phantom of the Opera
  • Alternative view 1 of The Phantom of the Opera
  • Alternative view 2 of The Phantom of the Opera
     

The Phantom of the Opera

4.7 274
Director: Joel Schumacher,

Cast: Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum, Patrick Wilson

 

See All Formats & Editions

One of the most popular stage musicals in the history of Broadway and London's West End makes its long-awaited arrival on the motion-picture screen in this lavish adaptation directed by Joel Schumacher. Christine (Emmy Rossum) is a beautiful and gifted young woman who longs to join the company of the Paris Opera House. During rehearsals for one of the opera's grand

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Phantom of the Opera 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 274 reviews.
ClassicRock_Chick More than 1 year ago
Phantom of the Opera is very deep and emotional. I give props to anyone who can watch that movie and not cry. The story obviously intrigues people since it's been the best selling musical ever and the question was could this movie hold up to that masterpiece? The answer is yes! The actors voices are amazing! At the time, the lead characters weren't big names. In fact most of the cast wasn't which really added to the feeling of reality to the movie. The acting was so well done. This movie brought the scenes from the play to life! It is truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. All the elements that make this movie fantastic go hand in hand, from love to singing to revenge. It all just goes so well together. I recommend this movie to everyone!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this movie in theaters four times and I never got sick of it! Gerard Butler is the best Phantom ever, his voice has so much raw emotion that you'll love him right away... I already know several people who are already in love with him! Emmy Rossum is a wonderful Christine, her age matches the innocence and purity of her voice, I say bravo! Patrick Wilson is the best Raoul in the HISTORY OF THE WORLD, when he and Emmy were singing 'All I Ask of You' I was melting away... (seeing that I prefer Raoul to the Phantom, and I know several people who disagree with me) he sounds as good as he looks! ^_^ Everyone else did wonderful jobs with their parts (Minnie, Miranda, Jennifer, etc.) once again, bravo to you all on such a wonderful job! The sets and costumes were amazing and the music is unforgetable... you'll be singing the music for weeks, I promise you that!!! This movie is everything you could ever imagine in a Phantom movie... characters who bring lots of emotion to their roles, a cute Phantom and Raoul, and a Christine with the voice of an angel! I will definetly be buying this movie when it comes out in May, no doubt about that... this will be a classic in the years to come!!! ^_^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have seen the stage performance twice and the movie several times. The operatic voices of Patrick Wilson and teenager, Rossum, were clear and lyrical. Minnie Driver was the surprise since I didn't know she could sing. I had seen Gerard Butler as a folk singer in other films. His voice has a dark, earthy quality that fits the phantom. Some say that he doesn't compare to the more operatic phantoms. He was good enough for Andrew Lloyd Weber so for me, too. Any question of his acting ability is resolved in the roof scene when he is grieving and then expresses that grief in anger.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The original cast soundtrack would blare out of a boom box in my '88 drama club meetings. I finally got to see it on Broadway (in the nose bleed section) in '96. This movie is just as heart stopping as the original cast music and the broadway show itself! From the moment the Chandelier lifts and the dust is blown away from the seats- to the mysterious end and the music box! I can't stop telling everyone they should see this movie and I can NOT wait to purchase it on DVD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've seen the Musical twice and absolutely did not want to see the movie, as I thought that it would deterrerate the quality of the stage production. My lesson after being dragged to the movie? Musicals and Movies are two different arts. Yes they can be similar, but really, with the musical you become part of the audience and so you feel connected to the musical in some way (assuming you do like Phantom), but with the movie, the very little computer graphics they did were enhancements. The mirror tricks and such, they do that on the stage as well. Really though, I like the added scenes, such as the grave yard and such. The only real quality singer I found in the movie was the girl that played Christine. The good thing I'll say with the Phantom's voice was that he doesn't sound as fatherly as Michael Crawford did...Movie Phantom sounded more like he was in love with Christine. Now if you actually read the BOOK you'll understand why they added the scenes in the movie to enhance the story.
Orla More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful movie. I cannot stop watching it. This movie captivated me during the first few minutes. It's magical. This is a musical for everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I dont know what to say. I saw the phantom of the opera for the first time (this movie) and wa instantly hooked. Everything was awsome! My previous school year i had the opperitunity to go see the play but had no idea what it was about, i didn't go... boy was that the most stupid thing i EVER did! thats all that comes to mind is WOW!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first time I saw it, it instantly became my favourite movie. I love the music, the cast is amazing. I'm constantly singing or humming the songs. This movie is definitely a must see and a must buy. Its vital for any true music lover.
Phanatic More than 1 year ago
WOW, I have no words to say for this movie, It is the Most BEAUTIFUL movie and the music is amazing and will leave you speachless it is amazing and thrilling, and sexy, and if you enjoy it watch it ON BROADWAY!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw "The Phantom of the Opera" on stage over ten years ago when I was in high school, and I absolutely loved it (except there was a lady with really big hair sitting in front of me, blocking my view). A year after I saw "Phantom" on stage I had to read the book for my English class (and I loved it!!). I rented this movie this past weekend, and I fell in love all over again with this beautiful story (and I had an unobstructed view!!). Emmy Rossum as Christine and Patrick Wilson as Raoul were amazing (LOVED them singing "All I Ask")! I was also impressed with Miranda Richardson as Mme. Giry and Minnie Driver (who by the way was hilarious!) as "La" Carlotta. I was especially impressed with Gerard Butler as Erik. My heart broke in Erik's last scene when he sadly sings, "Masquerade...paper faces on parade," after letting Christine and Raoul go. My heart broke for Erik, and always has when seeing the musical and when reading the book. (Mr. Butler has now earned himself a great fan in me!) I will admit I was very skeptical that the movie would not do the stage production justice, however I withdraw my skepticism. This movie should be required viewing just as much as the book should be (if it's not in every high school senior English class) required reading. Because of this movie, I have dusted off ten years' worth of dust from my old "Phantom of the Opera" paperback, and have enjoyed reading it everyday since! My love for this story has been renewed, and thanks to this movie I won't have to spend a small fortune to see the story played out on the stage, just to have a woman with hair the size of a mountain sitting in the row in front of me, blocking my view. I do have advice for those of you who will watch this movie: have some tissues ready and available, this movie will move you to tears (but in a good way).
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not believe that such music was possible. Gerard Butler's (Phantom) voice was absolutely amazing. Like many, i was prepared to hear something probably just up to the standard of Michael Crawford (who's voice, honestly, wasn't very good in the role anyway), but Butler absolutely swept me off my feet. He was able to display such passion and loss and pain through his voice that my heart was literally aching at the end of the movie. His character's love for Christine (Emmy Rossum) displays that true, pure love that many people wish they could experience. PHANTASTIC MOVIE!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR YOUR DVD COLLECTION!!!
RaeRay More than 1 year ago
THIS FILM IS AMAZING. I have seen the Broadway show, heard all of the soundtracks... and this movie manages to live up to it. It tells the story with little deviation from the actual plot, and the music is wonderful. Emmy Rossum is an extremely talented singer, and if Gerard Butler works at it he could be a heck of a lot better. But hey, he had no prior music training, so pretty good. The one thing I didn't like about the Phantom was the deformity. On stage and in the book, it's much more dramatic... and freaky. In the movie, it looked like a really bad sunburn/rash. The actor/resses did a great job, it feel sreal when you are watching it. I wholeheartedly recommend this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hi. To the people who do not like Butler's and Rossum's voice, get over it. This movie was outstanding. To be quite honest, the majority of the people who saw this movie were people who have seen the play and/or love music. Your average person is not going to come out to see a movie that has someone consistantly singing with an operatic trained voice. It's like Grease, yeah they can sing, but it wasn't that great either. Phantom's voice was alluring and seductive, yes a little raw, but it had a way of drawing you in to it. Christine's voice was beautiful, a little airy and soft at times, but wonderful. Raul's, I could listen to it all day. The voice that impressed me the most was Carlotta, I didn't know Minnie Driver could sing like that. It was amazing. I, overall, loved this movie. I have the movie memorized beginning to end. I do recommend this movie for anyone who likes musicals.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first heard that Phantom was coming to theaters, I was a little doughtful. Would it be true to the original? But when I saw it, all my fears slipped away. BEAUTIFUL!!!! Though the voices are no where near the original cast, I am quite pleased with the new version of The Phantom of the Opera. The fact that all the cast (almost) sings their parts helped me get used to the idea of them replacing Crawford, Brightman, and Barton. (was it me or was Butler a little hard on the pronuncation of his sylables?)(and though she has a sweet voice, Rossum's words were almost inaudible at the end of "Angel of Music (The Mirror)". Her soprano voice dosent seem to be able to handle words when singing higher in her register. She did a wonderful job acting and her singing was good but she could have brought a little more depth in her voice (including a little more opera)) Any ways, Minnie Driver did NOT sing the part of la Charlotta. It was actually the lady (i cant remember her name!) who sings the part of the confident in "Il Muto". Driver does sing "Learn TO Be Lonely" at the end credits and does a lovely job. I still love the movie dispite its tiny musical problems (again, it could just be me)(I am sorry if anyone disagrees with me on the Butler and Rossum comments, but i just like everything to be perfect.I have played the part of Christine myself and used Brightman as my model, so i am spoiled in a way.) Sincerely, Seventeen year old Angel of Music
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is the greatest movie i hace ever seen. i watch it over and over and over ect. i am obsessed with this movie. i cant stop watching it. i sooo badly want to see it live but i dont think its gonna come here for quite a while. i bought this movie on dvd because i just couldnt wait any longer to record it on t.v. im glad that i got the wide screen too because if i didnt i wouldnt have gotten the extra features (which i cant stop watching either). i hope that if i do get the chance to see it live that i can meet the actors and actresses. sometimes i have cried because i so badly want to see it live. i say that this movie is better than the original ones because the phantom's deformed face does NOT look fake. i love the way gerard butler sings to sound english when he is scottish. watch this movie it will blow you away!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this movie. Gerard Butler is a wonderful phantom!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is the best movie EVER!!!! the music, the passion, the danger..... the first time i saw it, i was on the egde of my seat the whole time, my mouth (literally) hanging open. i had never even heard the music before and was so astounded. i know this sounds cheesy, but it spoke to my soul- deeply. i cry every time i see it- and i dont cry easily... personally, i have heard the original broadway cast CD and the singers for the movie fit the parts much better. i dont know what to say, only that this is a definate MUST see movie (especially for girls). honestly- it is so romantic
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the play on Broadway and Michael Crawford was good but did NOT bring the passion that GERARD BUTLER brought to this movie. Andrew Lloyed Weber did a fantastic job in his casting of Mr. Butler and I hope if the sequel he is writing for the Phantom is either a broadway or movie production,if Gerry Butler is playing the phantom, I will defintely go see it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Phantom of the Opera does not disappoint. The cinematography was superb, the music magnificent, and the singing angelic. I have not seen previous Phantom films so I could not critique the Phantom in this one but he was magnificent in my opinion. I will go out and buy this dvd for my collection.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How do I start? The movie and the music was beautiful, it showed how talent exisits in one human. Patrick Wilson, aka Raoul, was cute! Emmy Rossem, aka Christine, was such a hit, her voice blew me away like the song "Angels" by Jessica Simpson. And let's not forget the real star: Gerard Butler, aka The Phantom, really made the show with his powerful vocals and dare I say how he can pull off the mask and dark make-up great, almost like Johnny Depp! Buy this movie, people, its really cool, and if you don't at least agree with my recomendations!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my #1 favorite movie hands down! This was the first movie I cried in. Nothing can compare to a tortured soul falling in love with a beautiful soprano. The love triangle in it keeps it interesting and I was (seriously)on the edge of my seat at the end. All of the casting fit the characters-especially the Phantom's. And even though this may seem like a musical/opera kind of music, it goes so much more beyong that and anyone who likes any kind of music will like the music in the movie-not just the Broadway fans. This movie was suspenseful, romantic, intriguing, and basically the BEST MOVIE EVER! No joke. Go out and watch this movie and cry your heart out!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have loved this play from the start! The movie only illuminates it more. Gerard Butler as the Phantom gives a darker side to the Opera Ghost!! Emmy Rossum,well what can one say only that her performance as Christine is comparable to Sarah Brightmans. I didn't believe that anyone could top Sarah Brightmans performance as the young Christine,but Lloyd Webber has done it once again in hand-picking his star of the movie version just as he did for the play. The music is haunting and you find yourself days later humming or singing the music. The sets on this movie were spectacular,particularly the one at the masquerade.From the first sound of Emmy Rossums 'Think of Me' you are captivated and she draws you in to her story. I particularly loved the scene on the Paris Opera House roof,when Christine(Emmy Rossum) and Raoul(Patrick Wilson)share a romantic moment with 'All I Ask' as the Phantom who has an unquenchable love for the pretty young Christine and seethes with jealousy for her obvious love for Raoul watches from within the shadows. The catacombs beneath the Paris Opera House are dank and eerie,but you cannot resist the temptation to keep watching. Finally, the music....classic Lloyd Webber....haunting,reverberating, captivating certainly on the same level of composing as Rodgers and Hammerstein.That is truly a compliment because there are not many broadway composers that one could compare to!! All I can say is see this movie,you will then want to own it and it will be a welcome addition to your video library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Brava! This is a film everyone should see. Christine fitted the role and sung the parts well (although my opera-singer freind didn't think her voice had enough power to get through that theatre), the Phantom was surprisingly good (how does he keep that mask on, anyway?)... but Raoul's hair-do had somthing in want. I knew the plot, but I began to have new doubts about how the whole thing would end. The ending that acually HAPPENED ws excuisite (and quite charming as well). I was, overall, very impressed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very amazing movie...absolutley captured me. Gerard Butler was and amazing Phantom, and Emmy Rossum wasn't too shabby, either. One of the most romantic movies i've ever lived to see...im a big Andrew Lloyd Webber phan, and i love his work w/ a passion, but this is the absolute best. I saw the Broadway show for my brthday, and i fully reccomend that one, too. I always cry in the end...but u'll have 2 buy it 2 find out why =]=]=] "Say you'll share with me one love, one lifetime, lead me save me from my solitude..."
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a Phantom phan ever since I was a child. When I heard Joel Shumacher was directing a film adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber's play, I became very excited and couldn't wait for the movie's release. It took me a while to go see the movie, but when I finally did, I fell even more in love with The Phantom of the Opera. The cinematography, the singing, the atmosphere, everything was awesome! I've heard complaints from many about Gerard Butler's singing and comparisons to Michael Crawford, and I do admit that Gerard Butler's voice is not operatically trained in any form, but the raw edge in his voice is able to deliver a certain rough emotion that Michael Crawford's flawless voice never will have. I've also read from other reviews that Michael Crawford should have been casted instead of Gerard Butler. Take in mind that Michael Crawford was 67 (or around that age) when Emmy Rossum was 16. It's entirely not appropriate to have a man of that age caressing a teenage girl. Really, have a bit of sense on matters like that. I am just thankful to have another Phantom film out there. And if it weren't for this movie, the stage sales would have decreased. I don't ask the people who dislike this movie to like it, but I do think you should get over it. For anybody who hasn't seen this movie, I highly recommend it. But don't let anyone else's comments influence your own opinion. Keep an open mind and come to your own conclusions at the end.