×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Polar Express
  • Alternative view 1 of The Polar Express
  • Alternative view 2 of The Polar Express
     

The Polar Express

4.3 54
Director: Robert Zemeckis

Cast: Tom Hanks, Michael Jeter, Nona Gaye

 

See All Formats & Editions

Directed by Robert Zemeckis and based on children's author Chris Van Allsburg's modern holiday classic of the same name, The Polar Express revolves around Billy (Hayden McFarland), who longs to believe in Santa Claus but finds it quite difficult to do so, what with his family's dogged insistence that all of it, from the North Pole, to the elves, to the man

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Polar Express 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
M3ow More than 1 year ago
@ Anonymous posted Oct 1, 2010: I think you missed the point. The casting of Tom Hanks in all the roles is on purpose. It leads you to wonder if all the characters are the same person, each testing the child's beliefs in a different way and eventually leading him to the same conclusion.  It's really brilliant. This movie is amazing especially for children struggling with the idea of Santa and adults forgetting the spirit of Christmas. It renews a spark in your heart.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My son, who first saw this movie in the theatre when 3, was terrified. We left in the middle of it because his heart was pounding and he was shaking. While this is a beautiful story with a wonderful message, do not let the prior review compel you to believe this movie is for children of all ages. I expect my son will be better prepared for the scary sections when he is 6 or 7.
Anonymous 7 months ago
RunningShoeGirl More than 1 year ago
This is one of my very favorite Christmas movies. It's just not even the holiday season to me without seeing it. I don't have children so I can't weigh in on what age it's appropriate for, but I can tell you as an adult, I love it. The message is fabulous and the animation is so so beautiful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The meaning of the movie is so well told and seamless; would make a great family discussion. It makes me want to believe in Santa again and opens my eyes to angels everywhere. If deciding between the 2D and 3D versions, absolutely go for the 3D. It's the best 3D I've ever seen, including anything I have seen in theaters.
MameWI More than 1 year ago
Wonderful - I have now watched it three times, each time picking up something I previously missed .. this should be viewed by those 1 to 100 plus! You need to see it to understand my excitement over this movie......you would not be disappointed. Plus it is not just for Christmas - I would watch this anytime, for the deep meaning it holds for daily life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once my favorite book.. now my favorite movie... amazing movie for all ages :) Makes you believe in the spirit of Christmas all over again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had seen this at the theater and really enjoyed it. The Blu-ray gives the clarity necessary to bring this movie to life on a small screen and the 3-D or not 3-D makes it a real winner.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Josh Hutcherson is amazing as the hero boy in this film, as always!
kefitsa79 More than 1 year ago
The Polar Express is by far my most favorite Christmas movie. I love the characters, the graphics, the storyline, etc. Because of this movie, my 3 yr old really, truely believes in Santa Claus. We've seen it during Christmas and off-season.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though this movie isn't as good as "Elf" or "The Santa Clause", this is still a very good family movie. However, there are quite a few scenes that would scare kids under the age of seven... so I will just give you a word of caution on that part. However, this is a very good classic, and it deserves to be a part of your DVD library. The only part I don't like about this movie is this... why doesn't any of the kids have names? The main character is cast as "Hero Boy", the sweet girl is credited as "Hero Girl", the obnoxious boy is credited as "Know-It-All Kid", etc. I don't know, it's bothered me for quite some time now. I also don't understand why Tom Hanks played all those roles. He played the conductor, Santa Clause, the hobo, etc. I wish the film-makers gave him at least two roles... he was very funny in the movie, but it would have been better if they just gave him one role. Anyway, the animation is very... stunning! Wow.. it's so awesome! While I was sitting in the theater, quite a few times (hmmm... let's say... 25?) where I was thinking, "Wow! Is this real?" Because that's EXACTLY what it looked like... it looked sooooooooooo real!!! It was really amazing, they did an excellent job with the animation. Anyway, you should get this movie and add it to your DVD library. It's certainly a good Christmas treat for your family!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie has totally brought out the christmas spirit in me. A must see!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My husband and I rented the DVD and previewed it before showing it to my 3 year old son who loves trains. I am very glad that we did that because it was way too scary to be shown to him. There are several scenes where the children are walking on top of a snow covered train and almost fall off. Another scene has the train losing control on a lake of ice and then the ice starts to crack. There is also a mystery ghost man who "lives" on top of the moving train. I know that all children are different, but I can't imagine letting my son see this movie until he is much older. I suggest that you preview this movie before you give it to the little ones in your life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The animation is fantastic, the plot great and simply powerful (whoever wrote the script did a great job making an hour and a half long movie out of a 20 page book) and the songs memorable. Great!
Clarice_B_Spiderwick_28 More than 1 year ago
Like I wrote in my review on iTunes, I thought this was another one of those poorly-made kid movies about Christmas. But after watching it in school three years ago, I finally realized what a wonderful, sweet movie this really is. It helped me see that I could still have the Christmas Spirit even after I grew up. And there's something in it for everyone, adults and children alike. All I can say is...this is an awesome movie!
BELKYS More than 1 year ago
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE SEEN . MY DAUGHTER AND I HAVE SEEN IT ABOUT A MILLION TIMES .I LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you watch one movie this year make it The Polar Express. My sons both loved loved it, especially my 4 yr old. I love the soundtrack too. A beautiful message about faith.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is so cool, there were moments when I forgot I was watching a CGI cartoon. The story is great, there's action, drama, comedy. I love the Polar Express.
Heavy_Metal_Sushi More than 1 year ago
Okay, okay...so I am a bit late in seeing this, but yes...I just finally saw this movie shortly before writing this review. Better late than never though I guess. But yeah, this is an excellent movie. I definitely want to buy this now. Why I hadn't bothered to see this any sooner, I have no idea, but now that I have, I totally recommend it to anyone else who hasn't. It's a lot of fun! Listed below are a few of many other great Chistmas titles to check out also.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My husband and I went with this movie with our then 2 year old son. I was a little sceptical about this as I am not one to make a big deal about Santa Clause. Well what I walked out of the theater with was more than I could muster. The movie isn't about SC, but about faith. Having faith in something you may not be able to see. (at least right away) It was very moving and had me in tears by the end. Now as for my son he was completely fascinated. He has had a love for Trains since he was 9 months old. And for a 2 year old to sit through an entire movie and move only once to sit on my lap due to a semi-scarry part in the movie. (it looked like the train might crash..very emotional for a child) Anyway... My husband and I are going to be purchasing this for our now 3 son and give it to him at Christmas. This is a WONDERFUL film and recommend it to anyone and everyone. Even if you don't believe in SC. It is a wonderful film.
sarjoemom More than 1 year ago
My son is 3 years old and LOVES this movie, he has watched it over and over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is taken from Chris van Allsburg's book The Polar Express. If you have read that book you know how wonderful the story and pictures are. This movie is as or even more wonderful than the book. The animation in this movie is amazing. Not only that and more importantly it has great messages throughout the entire movie, like friendship, patience, love, faith, and belief. This movie is excellent for children as well as adults. This movie has touched my life in so many ways. It is a movie that will always remain a favorite and the characters will always have a place in my heart. Enjoy.