×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Red Violin
     

The Red Violin

4.8 44
Director: François Girard

Cast: Samuel L. Jackson, Don McKellar, Carlo Cecchi

 

See All Formats & Editions

Francois Girard directed this drama tracing the history of a musical instrument through five countries and three centuries. In 1681, to keep the spirit of his wife alive, an Italian paints the violin with a red varnish made from her blood. It is later found in the Austrian Alps when a prodigy gives a performance in the court of Vienna in 1792. Taken by gypsies, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Red Violin 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An amazing piece of work. It is an intricate story presented in an incredibly realistic forum. Worth seeing over and over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a very good movie on the background and history of the ''red violin''. The movie follows the path of the ''red violin''. It is started with the creation of the ''red violin'' in Italy during the 1600s and then it changed hands in Austria and then it went to England and then to China and lastly it ends up in Montreal at an auction during the present day. It was interesting to see how the violin was treated with the different owners and over time. This movie was very good and worth purchasing to watch over and over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was such a well-written movie. i recommend it to anyone and everyone. you can't go wrong with this piece of art.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film is more than any typical movie, it truly is Art. The film was so absolutly beautiful. I am not even sure what else to say about the movie just that it was wonderful
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is a most have for music and movie lovers as well. A real masterpiece for our time. A standing ovation was my reaction at the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well ,they do make movies like they used to.In Francois Girard's masterpiece,the biograhy-or at times autobiography- of a Stativarius-like,16th century violin serves as the backdrop for this well told tale.All the elements of a classic film are present:great writing,cinematography,acting with the added treat of a world class score . The uniqueness of the storyline actually adds to the movies dramatic punch . Wait and watch this one when you have a couple of hours where you will be undisturbed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
RED VIOLIN IS A MOVIE THAT WILL GET INSIDE OF YOUR HEART, FIRST WITH THE MUSIC, AND DRAMA. I'M A MUSICIAN AND I LOVE THIS MOVIE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're into music, and especially violins, this movie is for you! Also, if you're into history, this movie is for you! Great cast, great story, great acting, some surprises, lots of emotion. Definitely worth your time. Enjoy! ps...Joshua Bell is wonderful though I wasn't too crazy about the score....though the Gypsy song is catchy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best films my husband and I have seen in a long time. It is a beautiful story that captures your heart and mind. Very well written and wonderful acting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Came upon this movie by accident in 2008. Had to rent it twice again, then bought it to watch over and over again. To me it's a love story in many ways, which I admire it for its' complexities, intrigue, deceit, variety of emotions, and even for it's somewhat obscure message. The Phantom Regiment Drum & Bugle Corps is using it on which to base their 2009 presentation in world class competition. I'm watching to see how they progress to the championships in Indy on Aug.8. They should do well and, in the process, bring The Red Violin to the concienceness of many more thousands who will need to buy the movie to see more of it for themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Red Violin is not good
Guest More than 1 year ago
Who cannot love and appreciate a movie that follows a beautiful violin throughout its life? The overlapping stories that are all at once connected with this violin is amazing. The photography is great. I love how the movie moves along thru 100s of years and yet is still told within 1 day (you will understand afterwards). Watch this movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This movie is good.
S-Grim More than 1 year ago
I love this movie. I love violins so I was very interested in watching it. When I finally did, I just had to have the movie. So I made my husband buy it. Its just a most beautiful movie. I watch it every weekend since we bought it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is one of the best movies ever. It is a true masterpeice
DeborahNY More than 1 year ago
In a word, magnificent! I stumbled upon this movie one afternoon about two years ago while wasting a winter's afternoon...and fell in love with the story immediately. It is romantic, dramatic, historically interesting and compelling to the end. Samuel L. Jackson's need to find the truth is palpable and his final 'misdeed' understandable....I would have done the same thing. Have watched the movie four times now...and will watch it again. Fans of foreign films and dramas should definitely check this one out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie...what can I say that hasn't been said already? It really will stay with you, it has an incredible story, the music is outstanding, I loved it! I have never been so sad when a movie ended, as I was with "The Red Violin." I wanted the story to go on and on!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first saw this movie on IFC and it was so good that I had to purchase it so I could watch it anytime. It is one that you can watch over and over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The exceptional screenplay and direction helps you get inside the movie and feel the story in your blood.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This Movie is one of the most wonderful movies i have seen in a really long time and i would really recomind it to any one who would watch it it is also one to own and watch again and again.
MissFire More than 1 year ago
I first watched this movie with my mother, she had always been a fan of classical violin music. I did not know what to expect, however I was immediately drawn into the movie from the beginning. I loved how as movie moved along, you could connect the woman and the violin together. I found the movie to be shot beautifully and the plot intriguing.