×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ugly Truth
  • Alternative view 1 of The Ugly Truth
  • Alternative view 2 of The Ugly Truth
     

The Ugly Truth

4.0 43
Director: Robert Luketic

Cast: Katherine Heigl, Gerard Butler, Bree Turner

 

See All Formats & Editions

Katherine Heigl stars as a lovelorn television producer who's made to run a gauntlet of romantic exploits by a pig-headed morning-show host (played by Gerard Butler) as a way to prove whose romantic methods are more accurate. Legally Blonde's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Ugly Truth 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
sharonfgraves More than 1 year ago
I thought this movie would be good from the trailers I saw...unfortunately, the trailers showed the best parts of the movie. I love Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler but was terribly disappointed that their talents were wasted for this movie. It was more infuriating to me than funny. The humor was missing totally. The writers used vulgar and juvenile jokes. I was looking for a romantic comedy, but I found an 'American Pie' type movie which was not what was desired at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tidalwave3 More than 1 year ago
I found this movie to be more like "The Proposal", where the woman feels she has all the answers to a meaningful relationship with the perfect man. Yet she finds out more about herself than knew before. The scene where Mike first appears on her set is beautiful and shows an example of what is about to unfold. The elevator is a bit of theater as feelings & manuvering develop. The ballon scene has some beautiful scenery of the area around Sacramento.
slimikin More than 1 year ago
The Ugly Truth is a charming movie. The humor isn't quite my style---it relies a little too heavily on pratfalls and humiliation, which usually make me cringe and cover my eyes---but the story behind that humor is engaging, fun, and surprisingly sweet. I loved all the characters and actually felt as though I knew almost all of them, even the ones who spent only a few moments on screen. Achieving that in only a little over an hour and a half worth of movie is impressive. Gerard Butler and Katherine Heigl have fantastic chemistry, and their characters' frank exchanges somehow manage to be sexy even when their conversational topics really aren't. This is a romantic comedy that I think I'd like to watch again...a very rare occurrence for me these days!
DarkLotusICP4life More than 1 year ago
amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The movie was written by three women and executive produced by Katherine Heigl and her mother. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Yes, there was crude language in parts, some naughty jokes, and some frank conversations on thoughts and behavior, but I was expecting that, and so should anyone who watched the trailers. If you are not comfortable with that, you probably shouldn't watch it. It starts out poking fun at sterotypes of men and women, but as the movie progresses, Gerard and Katherine make you care about their characters, laugh along with them, showing you there is more under the surface. Their chemistry and their ability to express emotions in a realistic and believable manner adds to the dimension of their characters on screen. Romantic comedies are meant to be a bit of escapism. As I woman, I found it to be humorous, sexy, and touching, and thankfully not sappy. I loved their latin dance scene. I would not compare the content with American Pie, which is more in line with Porky's, a completely different genre.
JCWilkerson More than 1 year ago
Abby Richter (Katherine Heigl) is a producer for a local TV station's morning news program in Sacramento. The show is struggling, pulling in less viewers than reruns of Geraldo, and her boss Stuart (Nick Searcy) is looking for something to draw viewers to their morning show. When he finds out that a cable access show called The Ugly Truth run by Mike Chadway (Gerard Butler) is pulling in viewers thanks to Mike's brash attitude toward relationships, he brings The Ugly Truth to the morning show as a regular installment on the morning show, much to Abby's chagrin. Best known for his turn in 300 Gerard Butler has amassed a somewhat large female following (I'm sure the uniforms in 300 didn't hurt), making him something of a recent go-to guy for romantic comedies as of late. Katherine Heigl, originally of Grey's Anatomy fame, found her in to movies when Anne Hathaway dropped out of Knocked Up allowing her to jump into the lead female spot. Since then she seems to have taken a spot in the lead in several romantic comedies appearing next in romantic action comedy Killers with Ashton Kutcher. So coming from somewhat different backgrounds how do these two play together in the movies? Fairly well. In a movie like this, you need to believe that the main characters despise each other, and Heigl embodies that in this movie. And while Chadway, if played improperly, could come off as totally unlikeable, Butler makes you like this sexist neo-perv. It's in the characterizations and acting that the movie grabs your attention and pulses with the ability to make you laugh. Another thing that I found more welcome on my end, was the R rating for a romantic comedy, something that you don't typically see in most romantic comedies. The willingness to push things just a little further was kind of refreshing. I can't really say there's much that I didn't enjoy with this movie. As I've said before in my review of The Proposal, this movie doesn't reinvent the romantic comedy, nor does it need to. In the end it's fairly by the numbers, but does more to bring in audience members from both sexes, making it a much better date movie than you can typically come to expect from most romantic comedies. I recommend this movie, especially to guys who need a romantic comedy to watch with their women. 4/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago