×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wizard of Oz
     

The Wizard of Oz

4.4 111
Director: Victor Fleming,

Cast: Judy Garland, Frank Morgan, Ray Bolger

 

See All Formats & Editions

The third and definitive film adaptation of L. Frank Baum's 1900 children's fantasy, this musical adventure is a genuine family classic that made Judy Garland a star for her heartfelt performance as Dorothy Gale, an orphaned young girl unhappy with her drab black-and-white existence on her aunt and uncle's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wizard of Oz 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
ChrissyMcCarthy More than 1 year ago
I have loved the Wizard of Oz since I first saw it. The gift set is exciting because it it fills in the gaps of how the author came to write the book. I had never seen the movie with John Ritter in it before and I completly enjoyed it. All of the other parts I loved also. I am going to be making a scrapbook about the Wizard of Oz starting with the reason the book was written. I love everyone who loves the movie get this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When a film is as good as THE WIZARD OF OZ to begin with, it's hard to make it better. Having said that, however, this 70th anniversary addition genuinely improves on a timeless original. This digital transfer has obviously been a labor of love for the restoration team, and their affection for and care of the original material is evident from the very first frame of the film. The abundance, depth, and variety of the color palette is unsurpassed. The set pieces, the backgrounds, and the costumes pulse with energy and bring a new level of cinematic authority to this movie masterpiece. The pristine clarity of every shot radiates with power and movement. Who knew that early Technicolor could look this good? The sharpness and visual sweep of this transfer gives THE WIZARD OF OZ a sheen of sheer wonder than enhances its enchantment. And because all of these qualities are incorporated to support the beauty of the film's story, they never overwhelm the action or the characters. The cinematography has never looked better, the soundtrack has never been as crisp, the characters have never looked so alive and detailed, and the entire film is unparalleled. Even the DVD extras enhance the experience of the film, making this a WIZARD for the ages. Whether you choose the standard DVD format or the Blu-Ray option, you will not be disappointed. But don't wait too long to decide. This set is a limited edition collector's item, and when it's gone, it's gone; so get yours today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is a all time favorite and one of the best movies i've seen, it's a life-changing movie that will teach families good lessons about friendship, this is truly a awesome movie on a awesome DVD with tons of extras and it's worth owning to every DVD collector.
2dogmom More than 1 year ago
If you have seen this movie, as we have multiple times, it won't compare to the Blue Ray version. Our family has been Wizard of Oz fans for years and can recite most of the lines along with the actors. This is a must see for Oz lovers! The box containing the memorabilia is very nice and can be a family treasure for years to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The description of this leads you to believe the dvd is in a widescreen 19x9 aspect ration, not its 4x3 television edited format. The only widesrceen formatting in on the movie's home navigation page.
CHirsch More than 1 year ago
My 2 yr old daughter fell in love with "Boz" the first time she watched it. Definately a great purchase. She's watched it so much we may need to buy another!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fabulous story. It is somewhat more savage than I recollect so would not suggest for little youngsters. I brought
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stanley More than 1 year ago
like Wiz of Oz good but like Cheese Wiz better. Me get hungry too much I guess!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarkLotusICP4life More than 1 year ago
one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love watching "Dark Side of the Rainbow". I'm hoping someone will share info on how well this version of the Wizard of OZ synchs up with Dark Side of the Moon. I heard that some editions are better than others due to differences in the length of play of the movie. Any tips out there on the best timing of starting the Music to Sych up to the movie for the first, second and third times? We use the third roar of the MGM lion to start and the second start being the third roar of the cowardly lion and an automatic repeat for the third play. If you haven't tried it, you must!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...and still holds up! The colors are great on my new 1080p, flat screen TV! Like watching for the first time, but now I know all the words! WOULD LOVE TO SEE THIS BACK ON THE BIG SCREEN...IN IMAX 3-D!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is the most entertianing video I have seen in my life. The new experience draws the viewers into a dream world, led by the statuesque Judy Garland,and let them feel the same emotions as the young girl Dorthy Gale, in the movie is feeling. The writers of this movie really bring the book to life with new songs and make it enjoyable for generations to come.
adamsl13 More than 1 year ago
The movie speaks for itself, but this package is amazing. You get so many additional things that you cannot get anywhere else. This is the perfect gift for the WoO fan!