×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Thor
     

Thor

4.3 16
Director: Kenneth Branagh

Cast: Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston

 

See All Formats & Editions

Exiled to Earth after his arrogance fans the flames of an ancient conflict, The Mighty Thor (Chris Hemsworth) of Asgard discovers the meaning of humility when a powerful old foe dispatches a destructive force to crush humanity. Only when the banished prince has defeated an opponent capable of crushing him in battle will he learn what

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Thor 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thor son of Odin. Odin was a king. As Kings were originally meant to be. He was a formidable warrior and wise leader. He put the prosperity of Asgard above all else. He was ready for war, but never sought it. Thor was a warrior also, but not yet a leader. He had grown arrogant hungry, not just for battle but, for war. He wrongly saw war as glorious. Banished for that arrogance. Stripped of his power and cut off from home. He had to survive as just a man, not a royalty. He makes friends with ordinary people and falls for a brilliant woman. He accepts that he can't go home. After he stops trying to return home, his enemies from Asgard still try to kill him. His old friends seek to save him, and almost get killed in the process. To save his friends(old and new), and, more importantly, the woman he loves - Thor willing sacrifices himself. He was ready to die for them. In that sacrifice he became worthy of the power he'd been stripped of. The power to lead, protect, and vanquish, - the power of a King.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
This is the age-old storyline of the younger sibling being jealous of the older sibling and thinking that capturing the older siblings' power and authority will be a great benefit. "Thor" was a great DVD, with plenty of action and violence to keep you glued to the screen. What a thrill ride and a delight to see evil trying to overcome the good. With maturity "Thor" learns many valuable lessons. If you like seeing comic book heroes come to the "big screen," you probably will like this adaptation of "Thor." Enjoy!
Thorbrand More than 1 year ago
Uh, it's Thor and Loki. Their relationship is amazing, and the acting is great. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
The lead actor did a pretty good job as Thor. Sure there were a lot of CGI here and there, but that didn't stop me from liking some of the characters and the story. The fight scenes were really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bert More than 1 year ago
Another Marvel hero.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heavy_Metal_Sushi More than 1 year ago
This movie was amazing! I saw it in the theatre shortly after it's release. My then fiance (now wife) wanted to go and see it too after we had started dating, and I had no problem with that because I loved it so much! The Marvel franchise of movies overall are like I dream come true! I use to read a lot of comics when I was younger, and still do, and when I was younger I had always thought it would be cool if they one day broght these awesome superheroes to life in some movies, and I think it's so cool that they have the technology now to do them. A good buddy of mine in Hawaii sent this to me on Blu-Ray as a birthday gift. Super awesome! So stoked for Avengers in 2012!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JimRGill2012 More than 1 year ago
I suppose any review of *Thor* ought to begin with the reviewer’s expectations—if you’re expecting a solid comic book/mythology movie with a strong sense of the comics ethos, a solid leading man who thoroughly inhabits all aspects of his character (from bathos to boorishness), a rather one-dimensional villain, and lots of rock ‘em-sock ‘em action encased in a simple, mediocre plot—then you will probably be satisfied with *Thor.* If you’re expecting anything else, you can pass on this one. The best parts of the movie are Chris Hemsworth as Thor and Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Thor’s adopted brother and the villain of this film (he’s also the villain in *The Avengers,* a film that displays Hiddleston’s acting talents to much greater effect). Ironically, the worst parts of the film are the two Oscar winners who inexplicably find themselves in a comic book movie trying to ACT all over the place. I’m talking about Anthony Hopkins as Odin, Thor’s father and the chief god, and Natalie Portman, who is allegedly a scientist/researcher but who turns into a mushy, goofy middle school girl whenever Thor flashes her a smile. Despite these two casting mistakes, the film is an enjoyable diversion, and it works well—as long as you’re not expecting it to be something other than what it claims to be.