×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tommy
  • Alternative view 1 of Tommy
  • Alternative view 2 of Tommy
     

Tommy

3.9 11
Director: Ken Russell,

Cast: Ann-Margret, Oliver Reed, Roger Daltrey

 

See All Formats & Editions

Tommy (Roger Daltrey) is a "deaf, dumb and blind kid" who retreats into himself after the death of his father. His mother, Nora (Ann-Margret), and stepfather Frank (Oliver Reed) take him to see a specialist (Jack Nicholson) but Tommy is apparently a hopeless case. That is, until Tommy discovers that "he sure plays a mean pinball." Tommy gains fame when he defeats the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tommy 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this film for the first time in my life. I loved the music before knew all the texts. But the pictures are as great as the music. I have not been disappointed , bying the DVD (I own only a few really good DVDs) There are only 2 things, which I don't like. The first is the very poor sound quality.(sound like a bad record player this 2*4W Amp) The other one is , there are no text, to read while watching the film. If you show it to someone who do not know the lyrics , (s)he won't be able to understand the texts they are singing (sometimes) But in the end. Great art, Great musics. Kai (Germany)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not the best musical, but a good one. The music is good, but it's all meaningless and delirant. That's not bad, I like it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If a human being says Tommy is a bad film is because it doesn't know nothing about films and MUSIC! I think in general the film is excelent beacuse it shows the black face of humans, i mean all we know God, but not all know how to go to him, there are fanatic - comercial religions that promise you to take us to God, if you pay, and show it with Marilyn Monroe its a good form to explain this. When Tommy Is th Messiah you can see this too, how he is comersilizated. If you read the Bible you'll know than the only way to God is the faith, and the spiritual connection with him, im glad Pete Townshend make those scenes because he challenge those religions. Music!!! The Who (I think all is explained with these two words). Well all 22 songs are excellent, i dont know how can John Enwhistle do that with the bass! it seems like a guitar, Keith Moon, does he had four arms? what emotion give to the film Roger Daltrey with the vocals, he have multivoices, at last the Tommy-brain Pete Townshend at guitar, making all Tommy. I wouldnt recommend to rent it... BUY IT
Guest More than 1 year ago
This video enhanced version of Pete Townshends great album tommy, is fantastic for someone who likes music, unlike vanden02111 who apparently doesn't appreciate anything and watched the movie because he wanted to see the story. The purpose of the movie is the music.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen!! I watched it 5 times!!! Townsend ironic vision of religion ain't to ban!! it's just ironic sarcastic vision of a world where money and fame count more than the real things.. pinball Wizard is awesome!!!!!!!
Cosmic_Messenger More than 1 year ago
The Tommy movie is a great rock movie! I first saw this movie when it was originally released in theaters and I have loved it ever since. There are some of the best performances of The Who's songs in this movie and Roger's voice never sounded better. The Who were at the top of their game here and the addition of other artists adds more to the experience. Unlike most of the bland musical expression of modern culture, the 1970's were alive with a freedom of expression that is captured in this movie to some extent. I think this movie truly captures the ideas and the ideals of this period in rock in a very honest artistic expression of music, storytelling and the 1970's rock culture.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it was the sweetest movie ever. if ur a fan of the Who, its a must see must buy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReverendSteve More than 1 year ago
Loud, ostentatious David Bowie/Elton John strangeness for strangeness sake. This film is simply piles upon piles of the type of strange faux artsy mess that was plentiful in the seventies. Post-hippies seventies bellbottom throwup. "LOOK AT ME, I'M ARTSY!" Plus they completely butcher the music of The Who to suit various actors and made-up plot points. It's fun to watch and some of the music (kudos to Eric Clapton) is amazing. But for a TRUE Tommy experience, go see the play. Or buy the original rock CD and listen to it with your eyes closed. THAT is true Tommy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I have seen many movies in my life, this one is the worst. What started out as a weird movie with some big names on it, became a bad movie, than a horrendous waste of any person's life. The reason I say this is due to several reasons, one of which being the disturbing nature of the movie's theme and it's sick satire of religion Anyone with any religious affiliations would be disgusted by the cultist representation of a Marilyn Monroe church in which communion is a drug in pill form and a swig of whiskey. The video and sound qualities were wretched. If I had actually enjoyed the movie¿s odd theme, I would have still been constantly irritated by the poor sound quality, so low that the conversation could hardly be heard. The scanty plot and controversial, over-the-edge images make this movie a ''Must Ban.'' I would recommend that no one rent, buy, or even glance at this film. It was that bad.