×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Torchwood - Children of Earth
     

Torchwood - Children of Earth

4.1 29

Cast: John Barrowman, Gareth David-Lloyd, Kai Owen

 

See All Formats & Editions

1965: Twelve children are gathered together on a deserted hilltop, before being surrounded by a harsh, bright light... and then they are gone! Today: All over Earth, children stop moving. Stop playing. Stop laughing. Stop everything. Then, as one, they begin to speak with the same voice, announcing to the governments of the world the imminent arrival of a new alien

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Torchwood - Children of Earth 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Lingvo More than 1 year ago
Taken on its own or as a definitive ending to the Torchwood series, Children of Earth is an impressive drama, but for many of us who has long been fans of Torchwood, many of the elements that made us love the original two seasons are either ignored in this shortened third series, or destroyed by its end. No one who likes Torchwood for its mix of dark humor, action, and romance or its interesting characters would not be well served to watch Children of Earth. There is little humor or hope here once things are set in motion and one of the primary romantic relationships of the series does not survive (which has apparently enraged many a Torchwood fan both in the USA and the UK). The action sequences are the finest yet, but largely seem to be covering major plot holes that make the series more difficult to enjoy on second viewing. It seems that Children of Earth was a way for its creator to be done with the series, but with its massive ratings success in the UK and an almost certain fourth season, many of the program's fans are left asking what is left of Torchwood to continue with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This mini-series was unlike any other episode of Torchwood. For those new to Torchwood it, perhaps, would not have the impact of the fans who have followed it since its inception. I sat and cried at the end for fear that this would be the last of it. My own little pathetic world would not be the same without Captain Jack. Mind you, I am not a young sprout. I am 70 years old.
roguetimeagent More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure why TPTB decided that this season was written to break Jack into little pieces and destroy his life. Why does a dark adult drama have to equal tragedy? Was no thought given to the fans who got the show to BBC1? You wouldn't consider breaking the set up, B&N, would you? I'll take Days 1,2 and 3 and you can keep Day 4 and 5. I'll pay you to keep them. OTH, maybe I will break them into little pieces and send them to RTD?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Susanna More than 1 year ago
We love all Torchwood and hope BBC America makes more. John Barrowman is just terrific. What a great and engaging actor he is. Quite funny, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well done use of the characters to cover-up the loss of old characters.
Theobromo More than 1 year ago
This is such an exciting show. The bonus is that this is suitable for younger fans of Captain Jack Harkness. Children of the Earth fills in the gaps between episodes of Doctor Who. Ianto, Gwen, Captain Jack, and Rhys are all that stand between aliens and the human race. Even the British government is part of the problem. There is plenty of action, excitement, joking around and emotional ups and downs. The show begins in 1965 Scotland, where orphans have been told they are going to new homes. But one child escapes and years later he may be the answer to the present day problems. Children around the world are chanting in unison, and all in english. What does this mean? What is the "549"? Why does the government want Torchwood out of the picture? The answers are in this DVD set. Any Doctor Who/Torchwood collecter would be happy with this DVD set in their collection.
Koneko_no_Yami More than 1 year ago
Sorry, spoilerish review... I have to say that I agree with most of the reviews posted thus far. CoE has plot holes Ianto drove a forklift through, the action is equal to many high budget american action movies of the last 10 years, and is equally silly. The first two and a half episodes are fun, and agonising in the best way. The second half... I didn't cry, quite. It would have been better if I had. The tragedy doesn't quite work in a fundamental way. I think the main point of CoE was to point out that Jack is not - in fact - the Doctor. And that politicians are scum, but we knew that. Still, I laughed a lot during the first couple episodes, and enjoyed them greatly.
Ircel More than 1 year ago
What do you do after two seasons and killing off two of your main characters? You up the ante! "Children of Earth" is Torchwood on steroids. It has a big, world-changing feel. The series has always pushed the envelope, but this goes over the top. It will make some folks queasy, but we learn more about the pain of being Captain Jack. I look forward to see where the creators go from here.
NaraMeg More than 1 year ago
As a fan of Torchwood from the beginning, I was more than a little apprehensive about this mini-series, and, as it turns out, with good reason. Oh, don't get me wrong, I loved Children of Earth, it was more than I could ever have imagined. The action was mind-blowing, right from the start, the interactions between all the major players were spot on; I felt as if the break between seasons had never happened. They even pulled an old Doctor Who trick and brought on absolutely brilliant new characters, that made me either love or hate them with such passion, that I could hardly believe that I had never met them before. All-in-all, a risk proved worthy by Russell T. Davies. However, I said that my apprehension proved accurate. In grand Whoverse fashion, Children of Earth broke my heart. And, ultimately, I wouldn't have it any other way. This is my whole-hearted recommendation, to anyone who needs a little wonder in your life. Torchwood is worth it.
Pecos More than 1 year ago
While visually stunning and flawlessly acted, this abreviated 'season' of science fiction drama Torchwood ultimately snuffed out my love for the show. With plot holes big enough to fill a TARDIS, the storyline will leave you bitter and angry. Even the irrepresible Captain Jack Harkness seems at a loss for where to go, what to do, and ultimately surrenders his humanity in the face of the alien threat. This story brings out the worst in everyone, especially the writers. A textbook case of destroying a fantastic television show.
McCalmont More than 1 year ago
Very interesting story line and the reviews are correct in that it's more than a little disturbing. I generally liked the spin-off's from Dr. Who but I didnt care for the character development in this particular episode. I think it was a little too drawn out and too dark for a TV show. And captain Jack is too effeminant than the character he's supposed to be portraying...the whole show wasn't their best...but thats just my opinion. Alot of "devotees" really loved this episode.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago