×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Transformers
     

Transformers

4.5 139
Director: Michael Bay

Cast: Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox, Josh Duhamel

 

See All Formats & Editions

The interstellar battle between the Autobots and Decepticons rains destruction down on planet Earth as director Michael Bay adapts Hasbro and Takara's popular Transformers franchise into a big-budget, live-action summer tentpole extravaganza in this ambitious sci-fi action feature starring Shia LaBeouf,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Transformers 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 134 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie has little to do with childhood memories of the Generation 1 group. Makes no difference though. This movie introduces the world to the concept of these characters, and it does it well for the general audience. Of course, this means that fans in their 30s who thought this would be a movie all about the way they think the franchise must be portrayed will be disappointed. Then again, I doubt anyone with such standards would ever be happy even if it copied the 20+ yr old cartoons word-for-word. That said, this movie is a blast and you should just watch it with an open mind.
RobbieBobby44 More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this movie. The Transformers were my favorite toy - nothing else could compete with them. While I don't have the original cartoon episodes (but will, someday), I do own the original movie. The upgrade features fantastic graphics and a soundtrack that mixes hard-rockin' tunes with orchestral works. The jokes had me doubled over with laughter as they were perfectly attuned to a modern audience, and having veteran actors like John Turturro and Jon Voigt were excellent casting decisions. Shia was superb as the high school kid turned hero/ally to the most powerful creatures in the galaxy. Megan Fox and the blonde Australian gal were absolutely gorgeous. As for the big guys, most were just as I remembered them. Megatron: tough as nails, always to be feared because he was so damn savage. Seriously, he could always take a tremendous beating and not really think anything of it. They even let him kill one of the main Autobots and take Optimus to fight school in this one (payback briefly issued in the forest in the next movie, of course). I also liked the idea to let him turn into a plane rather than a gun to be held by one of his underlings. Starscream? Still the quintessential sycophant when reporting to his boss, but otherwise very capable of f'ing up an Autobot's day in battle. Peter Cullen voicing Optimus was a masterstroke. Bumblebee was cool in a somewhat understated way - having to communicate with radio quotes rather than an actual voice. But the visual touches - the Autobot image in his steering wheel, the "Bee-otch" and disco ball hanging on the rearview mirror and the racing stripes and upgrade to a current-model Camaro were all fantastic. A complete rock-em, sock-em action/sci-fi roller coaster made even better with hip dialogue and virtually non-stop humor. Fun fun fun!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful This introduced a new generation to the Transformers and honored the Inner Child in many Adults. The Autobots and Dicepticons were alive, smart and individual. This gave Megan and Shia their careers, and the chemistry between them was irresistible. This was wonderful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yellowenglish More than 1 year ago
Do you enjoy an action packed film with incredible stunts? Transformers will always be an awesome movie because it¿s filled with action packed stunts, well known actors and it really did good in the box office. There were 3 movies in the series but this movie explains it all from the beginning because it¿s the first film. Transformers stars Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox and Josh Duhamel. Transformers has a Sci-Fi and Action themed genre. It won an award from The Visual Effect Society and it was nominated for three academy awards for Best Visual, Best Sound and Best Sound Editing. It was based on the Transformers toy line that has been around for years. Transformers is filled with mind blowing stunts. One stunt has one of the army men getting swung around by a scorpion shaped robot. Another is when a police car keeps trying to run over Sam Witwickey (aka Shia). The Decepticons try to crush him. A really scary scene has sam running up a building being chased by Megatron then same falls off. Finally, Prime catches him. Some of these stunts kept you wondering what was going to happen next. There are well know actor in this series. Starting with Megan Fox she is well known for movies and sitcoms. Examples are Hope and Faith, Confessions of a teenage Drama Queen, and Jennifer¿s Body. Next we have Shia LaBeouf who started out on Even Stevens and Holes then moved away from family friendly roles. Examples are I, Robot, Constantine, Disturbia and Bobby. Last we have Josh Duhamel who started out on All My Children on ABC also he was on ABC¿s Las Vegas. He is married to a popular singer named Fergie. Josh has also been in music videos. Transformers did really good in the box office. It grossed over 700 million dollars. Even though it wasn¿t rated high by the critics it turned out to be a good movie. It had funny moments and even scary ones. Whoever bought a ticket was very lucky. Transformers is an awesome movie because it is filled with action packed stunts, well know actors and it did really good in the box office. Transformers is an enjoyable movie and very action filled. It had mind blowing stunts that kept you on the edge of your seat. It had people you have seen on your own Television screen. Transformers was an outstanding movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is the awsome movie they ever made the cartoon original movie looks good but i never seen it yet this movie blow me a way one of the best movie every made in history
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thyinsanejuggalo More than 1 year ago
amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wish I could give this movie six stars. I loved it! This is best action-packed film I've seen in a while. I love how this movie combines a little slapstick humor with edge-of-your-seat action. I could watch this film over and over again and not get tired of it. I highly recommend it. Those Autobots are so cool!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this movie. It had an amazing plot and dazzling special effects. I liked it so much I saw it FIVE TIMES. I am planning to go see it in IMAX as well. I'm stoked for the DVD release. I'll love to be able to see Bumblebee whenever I want. A word to the sceptical: I didn't know a single thing about the Transformers before I saw this movie. I got hooked. This movie is "more than meets the eye" and actually has a great story to it. Oh, and a word to Julian, this film had plenty of 'bot scenes, Shia and Meghan were great in this movie, and it got a 4.8 out of 5 stars rating on Regal Cinema's site. People, this was an awesome movie. I think it was the best movie of the summer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh my god, who doesn't love transformers? (I loved all the hot guys in it!!!) They turned a classic into a hot new movie!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great movie- effects are awesome
ashlybby More than 1 year ago
This movie is one of my favorites I love action movies great actors i cant wait until part 2 comes out this summer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Transformers is the best film of the summer! The action is hypnotizing, the onscreen chemistry is superb, and the CGI is far better than even The Matrix or even I, Robot. When the Allspark, a cube of extraordinary power, crashes on Earth, the Decepticons chase after it in the hopes of creating an evil army of robots. At the same time, the Autobots land on earth to also take the sphere, but they want it to restore their world and their species. When the humans get involved, the race is on to acquire the cube for the Autobots. But will they succeed? I found that the romance between Sam and Mikaela in the film was faster than any movie, but that didn’t slow down the action one bit. Peter Cullin as Optimus Prime really was a perfect choice for the role of the leader of the Autobots. This is a great movie. Get it and watch it. You won’t be disappointed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Let's put it this way - I was able to watch it three times straight in a row on a Saturday and I would have been more than willing to watch it a fourth time. My roommate saw it seven times in theaters alone - and this is a girl you can't get to pay to see a movie twice normally.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this movie from the first time to the 10th viewing. Good story and some surprises. Better for sifi or comics loving people. The Best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this adaptation of Transformers. When I first heard that Transformers was going to be out in theaters, I thought that it was going to be a kiddy film. However, when I saw the trailer, it was clear to me that this wasn’t a kiddy film! There is plenty of action, story, and a little room for romance too. Michael Bay made Transformers the way it is support to back in the 1980. It is so awesome! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! And a word to Julian, it sounds that the romance ruined everything to you! Plus too, Megan Fox was well suited for the role, so just be quiet and watch your crummy films.