×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Transformers - The Movie
     

Transformers - The Movie

4.5 25
Director: Nelson Shin

Cast: Leonard Nimoy, Robert Stack, Judd Nelson

 

See All Formats & Editions

In this theatrically released chapter of the 1984-1987 syndicated animated series, the struggle between the heroic Autobots and evil Decepticons is taken twenty years into the future as both sides must deal with a world-devouring being called Unicron (voiced by Orson Welles). Set in 2005, The Transformers: The Movie serves as a bridge between the series' second

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Transformers - The Movie 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a movie for all TF fans! You can't be a fan and not like it, let alone watch it! Sure, the 80's animation technique can't compare to todays, but it's the story which makes the movie! That's what many cartoons of today lack: story. Sure, these days we have flashy CG's and programs to make the cartoon look better, but looks are nothing without meaning, and that's what this movie has! Honour thyselves, TF-fans! This is a peice of history that may not be available in a few years!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was well animated and the soundtrack was amazing. I found myself engrossed in every scene. I loved the series when I was a kid, and now my 4 year old son also loves the transformers. He is always wanting to watch the movie. The introduction of unicron and the quintessons was vital to fans who had only seen autobots and decepticons to this point. The only thing that annoyed me was that it seemed that all transformers were so easy to kill in the movie and they never died in the series. But, I would strongly recommend this movie to all cartoon and sci-fi fans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is amazing...I'm kinda shocked but then thinking ''of course'' at the same time of the Transformers explosion. I remember when I was a kid, I watched the series relentlessly. When I finally rented (yes, i never got to see it on the big screen) the movie, I couldn't believe my eyes. It was breathtaking to watch, simply for the more ''war-like'' feel to it, the top notch animation, and the darker theme. Yes, it was still TF, but it had grown up so much. From the opening scene with Unicron in all his might, to the final scene with Unicron after a ''major weight loss,'' this movie never gives up. The only low point is the addition of Wheelie, whom I despise and think should never have been animated. Wheelie is the only reminder left that this was a little kids show on Saturday mornings. I recommend this movie to all TF fans, people that like a good dose of nostalgia, and anyone out there who just enjoys a good action flick. Young and old alike, this is not just a kids movie. Don't be thrown off by the kiddy rep., this is much more. I only wish I could give this movie more than 5 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Transformers: The Movie is awsome!This is brand new 20th Anniversary special edition which which contains many special features on 2 discs! Director : Nelson Shin, Voice Actess :Susan Blue and many others share their experiences making this brand new DVD! The Japanese exclusive: Scramble City episode is also included in the discs! Highly Recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well, what more can I say.. I've owned the copy of this movie since I was a little kid. I think my parents bought it for me right after it came on VHS. And I do think I have one of those rare unedited copies, with the oh so lovely use the of the word D*%#. I think that's the word everyone else saw.. And I was quite surprised when I saw the DVD.. It looked so much better, it appeared the colors were remastered, and it still looked great.. I was so happy the day it came out. If you're a Transformer fan, you must buy this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bought it, watched it, loved it. Such well put together animations!I've loved Transformers for a long time. Once I watched the movie I got addicted to it and watched it a few times. One of the greatest things in this movie is that usauly it shows that Transformers is NOT just for kids.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When it was the late 80's everyones vision of the next century was that while we would still be riding in cars with wheels and not living in the Jetson age there was still this need to remake what our wardrobe and cars would look like. With young Daniel sporting a one piece jump-suit with super-cool collar and boots to match, it was the future to be in 2005 but we're closely approaching that year and Old Navy seems to be doing us just fine. As for the rest of the film, I've been a fan of these iron giants for years and the movie only strengthed that love for them. The animation was, to me, just as good as uncle Walt could put out but at times did suffer from a lack of detail. This was more evident as the film ended with Unicron's demise and the somewhat simple animation that was his slightly quick implosion to final scrap iron junk pile floating in space. However, the animation was it's finest at the first battle between Megatron and the newer models of the Transformer team, HotRod, Kup and Springer. The animation and art were nearly flawless and really showed it's Japanamtion roots but still retained it's American upbringing. As for the music, it still captures me and I'm now in search for the soundtrack that I found once but was reluctant to purchase (no money at the time). Now, it's harder to find then ever but with the return of the movie on DVD may make it surface again. Vince DiCola was the genius behind the score of Rocky IV and has a real knack for capturing the futuristic sound and energy needed for the films dark yet still Saturday cartoon feel. In my opinion the film really came into it's adult form when Vince got a hold of the audio representation of the film. In a word superb music, story and animation that optimizes the 80's great last stand in animation and the only film to own if you're a true Transformers fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is an excellent example of good graphics and story together. This amazing movie was my favorite when I was younger, and now that it is on DVD, I'm definately buying it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the things any Transformers fan will tell you, is that this film seared a memory in your brain that will never go away. They KILLED Optimus Prime, the champion hero and leader of the good guys (Autobots) in this movie, in a very, VERY sad and tragic scene. Several others were killed in this movie as well, since the main idea was to introduce the new toyline associated with the product. The movie has a fantastic soundtrack that is hard to get hold of nowadays. The introduction of Unicron was immense - the largest, most powerful transformer ever, larger than the size of most planets, that devours other planets (think of a certain Fantastic Four villain here.) The movie starts in the future, where the Decepticons have already taken over Cybertron, and goes on to make history for this cartoon. I only found the Junkions annoying because they were so hard to understand, but I don't blame Eric Idle for that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only starting to become a 'Transformers' fan (thanks to one of my friends, who is a BIG original'Transformers' nut) but if you enjoy the '80s show, you'll enjoy the movie. Parents, beware, this movie is rated PG for language ('Oh sh*^, what are we gonna do now?', 'Open, d@#mit. OPEN!') and mild violence.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed in this movie. We were so excited to get this for our son for Christmas. He talks about The Transformers all the time. The info indicates this as not rated but it is as indicated on the shell of the movie. There is language totally not acceptable for young children and the info should be presented in such a way as that is represented. This language, I feel, was put in the movie to help secure it a PG rating. If you are a parent that cares about the foul language your child is exposed to while watching movies, please beware.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's about time that they decided to put this movie onto DVD!!! This movie is one of my favorites and it did not disappoint me in the least. The animation is first rate and the story moves along pretty quickly. Just to see Optimus Prime (my hero to this day) and Megatron in their final battle on the big screen was enough for me. But to also see Unicron, the largest transformer ever was an added bonus. If you are any kind of fan of the Transformers you must get this DVD release ASAP! I will not spoil the story for the uninitiated so I will only say in closing ''Autobots...transform and roll out!''
Guest More than 1 year ago
I know you all must think; Transformers = cartoon = kiddy = bad. Well think again. I've seen this movie atleast over 30 times and I still think its the coolest movie ever. They dubbed it great! they barely edited any of it out. They didn't change any major plot differences. Its by far a one the top ten movies, and along with the soundtrack for the movie, which kicks even more anos, it makes it a great great great SUPER MOVIE
Guest More than 1 year ago
I remember going to see this film with my dad about fourteen years ago and it blew me away then, every one of my favourite autobots and decepticons present as well as some new ones. Right from the start when you see the menacing unicron for the first time you know this is no ordinary transformers episode.With the great voice talents of Leonard Nimoy, Orson Welles and Eric Idle, this is one of those films I will never grow too old to watch. Todays kids are deprived of such imaginative entertainment as Transformers, but you can treat them with this Transformers The Movie. As I said in my title as good today as its always been, but better now its on DVD
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've had this movie every since I was a kid and I loved it. Too bad its not on TV any more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hate this movie forever. They effectively killed off Optimus Prime, only to have him come back - four times over, to boot(He returned in the original show's last season, Takara Transformers, BeastWars and Armada). They brought us the time paradoxes that are the old robot and the tranny robot (Arcee used to be a boy, you know). And it was in this movie that they officially forgot Snarl! It is pivotal storywise, and had cool new characters like the Sharkticons and Unicron, but noting how the show went into a tailspin with the end of the Decepticon-Autbot standoff and the entrance of Rodimus Prime, I have to say that the movie heralded the end of the show being fun. I won't deny it's worth watching. I'm just saying getting the TV show is better for your retrohapiness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film is, to put it simply, the best ever. The animation was way ahead of its time and the music, for me personaly is the best heard on any film to date. At 24 iv been a transformers fan for many many years and still remember to this day renting it out weekly when i was young untill the day i was able to purchase it.If u consider yourself a fan then this is a must have purchase. This film is an action packed rollercoster that should not be missed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After 20 years this movie is still the best animation movie ever. I still remember how I felt as a kid when Optimus Prime died within the first 30 minutes of the movie. I was in shock! Thats what makes this movie so great. The film makers were not afraid to sake things up. That took a lot of courage. Viewer P-Can, how can you HATE on a animation movie made for young males. The animation movies coming out of Hollywood today are for sissys. This movie would not be made today. The 80's rock soundtrack is just a cherry on top of a master piece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
TRANSFORMERS IS THE BEST MOVIE ON CARTOONS I EVER SEEN, SPECIALLY THE MOMENT WHEN UNICRON TRANSFORMS.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Transformers is a true show, nothing can beat it. This movie is one of the greatest of all times. Old transformer fans rejoice! We have been redeemed with the beautiful movie once again released!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the few movies that actually changed something in a popular series. Most kid movies wouldnt even dream of doing the stuff they pulled in this movie. The death of the main character, the passing of the mantle of leadership, and a total change in the tide of war. Not only is it fun to watch, it makes you think too. Naw, not really. For a true transformers fan, nothing could be better. ESCAPE THE BEAST MACHINES! BUY THIS MOVIE!
Guest More than 1 year ago
First, let me commence my commentary with a comment. This is the single most important cultural phenomenon, ever. However, the DVD ''Special Collector's Edition'' leaves many holes in the legacy of the Trans Forcers. This could have easily been a five-star release if it had been supervised by my mentor, Alan Alda. Starscream is still as intensely sexual and provocative as an autumn afternoon, despite the faked 5.1 sound. What, Ron? No, leave the dishes, I'll do them as soon as I get off this Infernet here. As I was saying, those who enjoy expletives will be happy to hear an expletive in the beginning part there that wasn't there on some VHS copies there. In 1995, I purchased a small Transformers nightlight and installed it in my VW Vanagon (for safety puposes). This DVD could have been better. The music is great but could use more counterpoint. Not everywhere but in general.