×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
  • Alternative view 1 of Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
  • Alternative view 2 of Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
     

Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story

3.7 11
Director: Jake Kasdan

Cast: John C. Reilly, Jenna Fischer, Kristen Wiig

 

See All Formats & Editions

Judd Apatow and Jake Kasdan team up to take the swagger out of the traditional music biopic with this look at the troubled life of fictional music legend Dewey Cox (John C. Reilly). Apatow and Kasdan both write and produce, while Freaks and Geeks and Orange County director Kasdan steps into the director's chair. Dewey Cox

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I cannot remember the last time a movie has made me laugh this hard. After watching it, my family was almost silent, exhausted from laughing. The film is surprisingly well made and visually beautiful. John C. Reilly deserves high accolades for this performance. It truly is upsetting that more people did not go to the theaters to enjoy this film "myself included". However, this is a good thing, since the unrated DVD director's cut two-hour long movie seems nearly perfect and does not let up, even when the credits end. Even brief cutaways are gut-busters. The only problem is when the film somewhat sags in the less funny 70's/80's era of Dewey Cox's life. Regardless, many adults should see this film. The previous review surprises me in that children and teenagers watching this film is a problem. It's unrated for a reason, and thinking people will recognize it. That does not mean the movie is bad. "Then the review ends with "lol", so I think that says enough." I cannot stress enough how great and funny a film this is. I'm telling everyone I know about it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is brilliant. It may take a particular sense of humor to "get". My husband and I watched it on PPV, and we kept buying it again and again as our rental period ended. I'm here to buy the DVD. Clever and witty. There are some strange parts, but it just adds to the literal humor of this great flick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
didn't like all the weird comedy, didn't like all the nudity,thought it was crued and just not tasteful, some parts were funny but the other 90% ....gross.
JCWilkerson More than 1 year ago
Spoof movies have been around for as long as the art form of film has been entertaining people. From Charlie Chaplin to Woody Allen to the Marx Brothers and Mel Brooks, film makers have been spoofing other movie forms to satirize society and politics. Spoof movies have made us laugh while also showing us the error in our ways and the inherent stupidity found in our societal ways. Unfortunately, the form has taken a beating with the "[Insert Genre Here] Movie" series which has driven the genre into the mire. But when Judd Apatow joined with Jake Kasdan (co-collaborator on Freaks and Geeks), what they came up with should have turned the genre up on it's ear. After the accidental halving of his brother, Dewey Cox learns how to play blues guitar and starts writing songs. At the age of 14, he insights a riot with the song "Take My Hand" and leaves home to seek stardom. Dewey's discovered by Jewish businessmen in a club where black folk go to dance erotically when Dewey fills in for the regular act when he gets laryngitis. Making a huge splash with his first single, Walk Hard, Dewey goes on the road and we follow him through the ups and downs, the relationships, the drugs, and the destroying of multiple public and private bathrooms. Jake Kasdan and Judd Apatow do a great job of making this movie feel like a real biopic and not just a series of skits formed together to make a movie. They present each time frame with real authenticity, injecting the 60's with the whimsy we've seen in past movies, and the 70's with the "grooviness" we've come to expect of this kind of movie. The music feels authentic as well, feeling as if it's been written throughout the time frames seen in the movie. But you don't go into a parody for the dramatic elements, and for the comedy this movie has great pedigree. It fits in handsomely with other Apatow comedies like Knocked Up, 40 Year Old Virgin, and Forgetting Sarah Marshall. John C. Reilly, fresh off Taladega Nights, shows off more of the comedic chops that he had shown in that movie, while also bringing a dramatic pedigree to the role not typical to this kind of comedy in recent years (he was nominated for an Oscar for his role in Chicago). On top of that, it seems as though everyone in Hollywood wanted to be involved in this movie as this movie boasts one of the largest lists of cameos I have ever seen in a movie including Paul Rudd, Jack Black, Jack White of the White Stripes, Lyle Lovett, Jewell, Tim Meadows, Justin Long, Kristen Wiig, Craig Robinson, and Jonah Hill just to name a few. As with any biopic, whether real or fake, though, this movie seems to loose it's away as the main character loses his way as well. It becomes more frenetic and loses pacing later on, but seems to catch itself before straying too far. Also some of the characters are underdeveloped as usually happens in biopics as you try to cram in characters that truly effected the main characters life. Luckily, the movie never feels as though it's dragging, and remains consistent with the laughs throughout. While Walk Hard was a critical hit, unfortunately, it bombed at the box office where it deserved more of an audience. I highly recommend giving this chance if you like comedy and musician biopics. While funny, the movie never feels as though it's making fun of the people presented in the biopics it's skewering like Johnny Cash or Ray Charles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarkLotusICP4life More than 1 year ago
one very lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie sucked. The beginning was funny, and then the movie went downhill. And what the deuce was up with the stupid monkey? Are monkeys supposed to be amusing or something? They certainly weren't here. The jokes were very juvenile and I could see half the jokes coming from a mile away. Good to watch if you're high or drunk or both.