×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

What the
     

What the "Bleep" Do We Know!?

3.9 50
Director: William Arntz, Betsy Chasse, Mark Vicente

Cast: Marlee Matlin

 

See All Formats & Editions

Part narrative, part documentary, and part animation, What the #$*! Do We Know?! was filmed with the intent of expressing the neurological processes and so called "quantum uncertainty" of life. With the help of a directorial triumvirate consisting of Betsy Chasse, William Arntz, and Mark Vicente, Marlee Matlin stars as Amanda, whose uninspired daily routine is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

What the "Bleep" Do We Know!? 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an incredible documentary. It really opens your eyes to the world around you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found it to be entertaining, engaging, and educational - and most importantly: I walked away feeling much better about myself and how I can deal with negativity of everyday living... For that alone it's worth seeing - and owning.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really don't care if the history is completely accurate. I really don't care if the special effects aren't top notch. I really couldn't care less about the acting. What matters to me is that the movie made me think and question and feel better about myself - because it reminded me that I have the power to create my own reality and path. Sure, we all know this, but sometimes many of us forget and just allow things to happen to us - and then complain that our lives are in turmoil. All I know is that after I watched the film, I felt better than I had in a long time. And that, I think, is what a a film is supposed to do.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this movie, it awakened me in the sence that G.O.D is everything. Generator/Organizer/Distributer. and all of that IS, in every cell particle in our bodies, our enviroment, our universe. Not apart, but within. Don't bother with this movie if you are not seeking within.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How amazing! I've spent my adult life and most of my adolescence wondering that I was the only one with these quirky views of the universe, to find there are others with parallel thoughts and they've actually given it a scientific name, quantum physics. I'm humbled that greater men and women have delineated what I've struggled to only partially comprehend. Still the movie leaves me short. Is it that the movie is inadequate asking for "leaps-of-faith" I can not give it, or that quantum mechanics, like every human notion is imperfect, begging for the next discovery? Perhaps, in a concept like "quantum," I expect too much.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie validates all that I hold dear but does so with the scientific studies as well as humor, drama, and creative genius. Run don't walk and buy this. I already have 5 copies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I watched it twice, and thought it to be another way of looking at myself, and what else there is to look at in this world that I have and will continue to know. I am not a Quantun Specialist but it does have a nice approach and if I am lucky, I'll learn to understand the smallest things life has to offer are larger than any mountain time can create.
CynthiaSueLarson More than 1 year ago
¿What the #$*! Do We Know?¿ is a new kind of spiritual film, which fuses a documentary montage style with the unfolding of a dramatic story and amazing animation. BLEEP takes the viewer on a thrilling tour of the boundaries of what we know, while introducing us to some of the newest concepts in the field of consciousness. Is it possible that words and ideas can change the very quality of physical matter? Do we really have an infinite range of choices available to us at any given moment? Is it possible that there are things right in front of us that are invisible to us until other people start to see them? BLEEP raises these questions and many more, and provides scintillating answers that raise even more intriguing questions. Indeed, the best way for us to learn what is really going on is to ask better questions... and watching ¿What the #$*! Do We Know?¿ is one of the best ways to start asking better questions. ¿What the #$*! Do We Know?¿ tells the story of Amanda, played by Oscar-winning actress Marlee Matlin, who feels like her whole world as she knew it is coming undone, to be replaced by something strange, unknown, and new. Amanda's attitudes and assumptions expand dramatically through extraordinary dreams and remarkable encounters in waking life. Interwoven in the story of Amanda's awakening to fuller realization are documentary clips with fourteen mystics and scientists. These interviews provide a delightful counterpoint to what is happening to Amanda as she considers how she is more in charge of her life and better connected to everyone and everything else than she previously would have believed. When Amanda is given a photographic assignment that requires her to face painful memories from her past, she discovers new ways to view her experiences and a bigger sense of herself that allows her to gain strength, courage and inspiration at a time when she might otherwise have felt sad, small, and defeated. Amanda brings us on our own journey of self- discovery, as we wonder how we might reframe painful memories into life stories that reflect our more heroic, loving nature. ¿What the #$*! Do We Know?¿ brings about positive life changes for viewers, because it presents a framework for how to reclaim mental, physical and spiritual health even in the most difficult times. ¿What the #$*! Do We Know?¿ is the perfect film for everyone who has an open mind and would like to ask more interesting questions... in order to discover more interesting answers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was based in scientific study and theory, and made a point to say that the whole point of theories are to be re-checked again. I think some people who have reviewed this negatively have become a little disconnected from the general public, and are a little too wrapped up in perfection. As any teacher of science knows - you can't hit perfection at the first introduction. Plus, not everyone will be able to pick up a book like the elegant universe and understand it. For others in America (as our last election proved) religion is a major thing for them. The fact then that this has tried to explain something modern and complicated to the masses deserves praise. This movie is a welcome break into the mainstream of DVD culture, and I was glad to see it at blockbuster. Religion was a tool to help this explanation in this movie, however, I did not find it overly biased with religion, and I wouldn't consider myself that involved in religion. Most of the 'religious' talk simply said the basics - such as if you do good things to others, it'll effect theirs and your own life positively. I don't find that overtly biased. A good portion of movie was factional and not based so much in theory (when talking about the functions of the brain for example, and the studies of atoms). There are also quite a few reputable scientists in this production, including a former head of the national institute of health. Many others were PHD holders at major institutions. This re-release of the original movie comes with extended interviews and scenes which lets you almost have a discussion with the people and challenge or ponder their research with more depth. There are also quite a few new scietific experiments and pieces of evidence which differs from the original version. My only complaint was that you could not see the titles of these people as they spoke in the movie - instead you had to wait until afterwards.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I rented this movie and was happy I finally got to see it. I could really relate to the part where they were talking about angry and how that affects you b/c of my childhood and how you need to make choices in how you live your life, how your thoughts are make you happy or make you sick. I'm looking forward to watching the bonus features.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being that I have an advanced degree in high energy physics, I thought this would be a cool introduction for my wife to my world. It starts off with unquestioning truths about quantum mechanics and how it can affect our everyday lives and it's succinct and comprehensible for laymen. Then, we go metaphysical and talk about the exsistence of god and exsistence. It all seems to blend in together and needs to be taken with a grain of salt that "This is one interpretation" The other problem I have with the movie is that it doesn't make a lot of clear connections between the quantum mechanics to the metaphysical stuff. I'm lucid on QM but how it relates to the shaping of our worlds isn't as clear as the authors would have you believe. It's worth renting/buying since the visuals are amazing and it will prompt many good thought provoking questions about your world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was given this and looked forward to a journey into the edges of what we know in science. Instead the author's message boils down to, "we don't like what the science is telling us, so it must be wrong" and "we don't have all the answers yet, so we can believe what we want to believe". If you believe the Earth is 5000 years old, man has been here since before the dinosaurs, and the universe was created for our express benefit, you'll probably buy into this bit of wishful thinking, as well.
HalliwellBoi More than 1 year ago
Trust me this movie is for anyone that has conflict with God, Life, and what is Our Purpose. Roommate and i spent all night talking about the concepts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, this movie is so completely eye opening! I have watched it at least six times, and every time I re-watch it, I actually do learn something new! It is steeped with thought-provoking questions regarding science and spirituality. There are a couple of "cheesy" spots in the show, parts where they did not want the audience to fall asleep. In addition, I strongly do not agree with a certain part near the ending, and it is hard to me to describe without giving the movie away. (Let us just say that the main character wakes up on a park bench near the end of the movie, and what she does after she wakes up is what I have a problem with.) However, overall, I think it sparks one's imagination, which is invaluable these days, over and over again! This movie is for anyone and everyone who has ever thought that there MUST be more going on in this world - in this life - than what is right in front of them. I HIGHLY recommend this film to everyone!
FindingMyWay More than 1 year ago
I began my journey into finding myself several years ago when "The Secret" came out, and I have been on a journey ever since. I found this movie just recently and WOW its amazing. The interviews and information presented here make you realize that your the one causing all your conflict and misery, not anyone else. YOU are to blame for the way your life is not anyone else. It has opened my eyes wide open and I have begun to accept the responsibility of my thoughts which dictate how I experience my daily life. All you have to do is really pay atention to what your actually thinking and feeling, and when you are experiencing something that is not pleasant change it, turn it around, because your the only one who can truly make yourself happy. No one else on this Earth can do it for you. That is what all of us must realize. This is an eye opening experience, I recommend watching it over and over many times so pick up what you might have missed the first, second or third or more times you watch it. It is powerful and life changing if your willing to accept the responsibility and take charge of your own life. Good Luck and God Bless!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film, of course, as most films, is not for everyone...but if you have ever "hated your body", "felt something was missing in the life you are living" wondered "What the Hell am I doing here?" well...then you are going to find something interesting, intruiguing and entertaining about this movie. If you have asked any of those questions, there are scientists here that will focus on those questions. You need not be a full-on intellectual to be fascinated by this film. Do-be prepared to learn something about the way you look at your body...Do-be prepared to feel curious and to let your curiosity push you further.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie fascinated me. I was impressed with the way they illustrated the difficult concepts of quantum theory and the metaphysical without getting bogged down too much. The wedding reception scene was a bit much in certain moments, but other than that, I loved this movie. It attempts to answer questions I've had my whole life and even mirrored certain experiences I've had that were unexplainable. This movie really empowered me. Keep an open mind when watching it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was done with this movie when they started going on about how Native peoples in the Americas couldn't see/comprehend approaching ships because they had never seen them before - absolute tripe. I did find the water experiment somewhat interesting... but it's still fiction.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Most commentaries are grounded in quantum physics. This documentary is an excellent way to aquint yourself with the existential questions raised by quantum mechanics. They story line in this documentary demonstrate the theories raised by the experts in their commentaries. I recommend this film for anyone who is willing to examine their life from new angles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
First off: there is absolutely no scientific basis for the claims that they make in this film. The real experts interviewed for the film denounced it after their interviews were drastically edited and rearranged to make it seem that they confirmed the frankly ludicrous beliefs of the film makers. And the "experts" whose interviews weren't edited have highly dubious qualifications, including a self-proclaimed psychic. If you want some light entertainment, fine, but the concepts that they supposedly explain are fabrications, not fact. If you want education find something by a real scientist.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is one of the few movies I have ever seen that not only makes me go out and want to change the world.... but it also makes me believe that I CAN do it! I feel that if everyone sees this movie with an open mind, there are no ends to what good we could accomplish! Highly recommended viewing! "Be the change that you wish to see in this world."
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is an exciting movie which came from the minds of three students of Ramtha. In fact, Ramtha commissioned William Arntz to do the movie and Ramtha also named it. The three directors changed one word to Bleep. I know. I was there and heard it all. This is a mind-opener movie and the students of RSE helped to promote it and we are proud of it. Create Your Day is a discipline created by Ramtha.