×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dying for You
  • Alternative view 1 of Dying for You
  • Alternative view 2 of Dying for You
     

Dying for You

4.4 23
by Beverly Barton
 

See All Formats & Editions

All private security agent Lucie Evans wanted was a fresh start—and the chance to show Sawyer McNamara, her ex-boss, that she no longer craved his absolution for a crime she didn't commit. So when the offer of a trip to South America as the personal bodyguard to a billionaire heiress came up, Lucie jumped at the prospect of leaving the Dundee Agency behind.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dying for You 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Darsey_spudnick More than 1 year ago
Sawyer and Lucie's story was anticipated by me for a long time and I have to say it did not disappoint. I was dying to read their story from the beginning when the fireworks were clearly evident between these two in the other Dundee Agency books. Not only do you get their love story but you get three for the price of one. The secondary characters were wonderful as well. The only thing I would have improved upon was more of the book being devoted to Sawyer and Lucie and longer love scenes. As stated there were many characters in this book and several love stories and I felt they somewhat took away from time that should have been Sawyer and Lucie's, even though I loved those characters too. I couldn't get enough of Sawyer and Lucie. With so many stories interwoven into this book not enough time was devoted to them. It was really hard to put this book down after reading the last paragraph. I could have read on and on. On another note I have to mention how many errors were in this book. Whoever the editor was needed an editor to edit their work. I could not believe the number of errors. I lost count of how many errors there were, there were that many. Still, I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone.
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
Dundee Security head honcho Sawyer has always had a love hate relationship with agent Lucie Evans. When she has finally had enough, she quits and takes an assignment to guard wealthy Cara Bedell while on a trip to South America. Cara has loved detective Bain for several years but he cannot get over her wealth on his civil servant salary. Dundee secretary Daisy has loved world weary mercenary turned bodyguard Geoff for years, but his past and their age gap keeps him from accepting her love. When Lucie is mistaken for Cara in a kidnapping plot and Geoff is shot in the rescue, the men must confront their feelings for the ladies they have kept at arm's length, as well as their checkered pasts. But the person who arranged the kidnapping is still out there and could make a second attempt. The two love stories, Lucie/Sawyer and Cara/Bain are based on the guys refusing to act on their feelings and denying their desires for the women. The Sawyer conflict was worse. It was based on someone lying to Sawyer nine years ago. All he needed was a two minute conversation with Lucie to know the truth, but he refused to listen to her for nine years. Finally, at the end of the book, he listens to her, and they are together. I don't enjoy stories where the couple is apart due to vague communication and inaccurate assumptions, which was what this was. At times, there was too much pondering by Sawyer, thinking he wants her, but he must not let himself have her. Regarding Bain and Cara, Bain refused to have a relationship with Cara because she was rich. Later he changed his mind and agreed to marry her, but I didn't understand why he changed his mind, unless it was something about his feelings changing with the passage of time. I would have preferred an interesting reason. Still, a very good read. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Romance-Reader More than 1 year ago
Too many things going on. I lost track of who the main characters were.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beverly Barton is again as artful as ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
navywinter More than 1 year ago
Every book this lady writes is great, cant wait for the next one, would love to read more about Cara and Bane
Mimmi More than 1 year ago
I've followed The Protectors series by Beverly Barton for years...like many, I've been dying for Lucie Evans and Sawyer McNamara to bring their relationship to a head...and I'm so thrilled with the story Ms. Barton came up with for these charachters I've followed for years!!

Lucie Evans has had it...Sawyer McNamara has pulled his last trick out of his bag on her...she's through. She's hunge in there at The Dundee Agency for years, no matter how hard he pushed her to quit~~how could she leave, when there might still be a chance that Sawyer would forgive her? But she's finally seen the light...there is no hope. Or so she thinks, until she is kidnapped and her life threatened~~and Sawyer, CEO and a hands off man, takes a very hands on approach to her case.

Ms. Barton gives glimpses of the relationship Sawyer and Lucie has in the past...we get a clear view of why all the animosity between them, and it broke my heart to see the pain they've shared. But, oh, she does a superb job. I could totally buy the 9 year animosity...the guilt and anger they both experienced.

And we get to see several charachters we've come to love finally get their stories as sidelines...The Dundee Agency's office manager, Daisy, has been in love with one of it's agents, Geoff Monday, for years. Finally they get their story. As well as Cara Bedell and Bain, the police detective the billionaire has loved for several years. How will he overcome the enormous difference in their lives?? Both side stories were just as compelling and wonderful as the main story.
I am so thrilled with this book...I started reading it at about 10 last night...and didn't stop 'til the last page. I'm sad to see The Dundee Agency go...I've loved these stories for years. Ms. Barton has always had a talent for switching them up...some are heart wrenching, some are sweet, some are amusing... but they're all, every one, great books. Up to this point I think Sweet Caroline's Keeper has been my favorite...but Dying For You goes over the top. She really takes this series out with class and style~~Don't miss this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
For almost a decade at Dundee Private Security Lucie Evans and Sawyer McNamara fought like cats and dogs. Anyone who observed the oil water mix would never conclude they were once very close. The gender squabble ends when Lucie leaves the firm to accept the position of a bodyguard to billionaire Cara Bedell.

During an attempt to kidnap Cara, Lucie is abducted instead. A stunned Sawyer bulldozes his way onto the rescue team. They liberate Lucie, but Cara remains a target of a killer. Lucie and Sawyer team up to try to keep Cara safe and bring down her assailant even as the two operatives try to still conceal their feelings for one another.

DYING FOR YOU is a fabulous Dundee Private Security romantic suspense that grips the audience from the moment Lucie quits and never slows down as she and her beloved enemy fights one another while protecting Cara. The lead couple is fully developed especially their flaws as each is willing to risk their life but not their heart. Fans will relish this tense tale while seeking the exciting Protectors' saga (see A TIME TO DIE, MOST LIKELY TO DIE and DANGEROUS DECEPTION).

Harriet Klausner