×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dying Light (Logan McRae, Book 2)
  • Alternative view 1 of Dying Light (Logan McRae, Book 2)
  • Alternative view 2 of Dying Light (Logan McRae, Book 2)
     

Dying Light (Logan McRae, Book 2)

4.2 75
by Stuart MacBride
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Number One bestselling detective series from the award-winning Stuart MacBride continues in this second crime thriller. It’s summertime in Scotland: the sun is shining, the sky is blue and people are dying…It’s summertime in the Granite City: the sun is shining, the sky is blue and people are dying…It starts with Rosie Williams, a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dying Light 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MacBride has created a dark and violent fictionsl version of Aberdeen Scotland. His relentless police detective is deluged by murder after murder and McBride spares no detail of the brutality if these crimes...McBride's books are the most violent I have read. NOT light entertainment, but a "no holds barred" world of cold blooded criminals hunted by a tireless investigator, backed up by a girlfriend who may be the toughest person in this ultra-violent city. I get through MacBride's books by skimming over the most violent portions....pages of torture and detailed descriptions of human remains....which means skipping 10% of the book. MacBride's gift is making this imaginary Aberdeen seem very real, and the reader is an eyewitness to its horrors. His weakness is his unwillingness to ever spare the reader some of the gory details or provide breaks in the nightmares. There is never a sunny day in Aberdeen, just one dark night after another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you, B&N for providing a free nook book, Cold Granite, by Stuart McBride, it made it possible for me to discover a new amazing author! Mr McBride is a great find for me, his Logan McRae series has been a joy to read! Fast paced, hard to put down, genuine, I fell in love at first page! Each book (so far, I am begining #4) has been excellent! The story in this book "Dying Light" is quick, interesting and unique to itself while keeping the characters of all the books intact! I was thrilled with the feeling that I was in Scotland, freezing and wet, watching cops solve crimes, working with budget cuts and politics like we all do today! Try this book, in the series or alone, you will not be disappointed!!
Gran10x More than 1 year ago
I have read 3 of Stuart's books so far and they are good!! Hope you will check him out too. All books are set in Scotland, which is a local with a lot of history. You can't wait to read the whole book and then you wish you hadn't read so fast because you miss all the characters. Enjoy!!
MexicoDan More than 1 year ago
All the Logan McRae novels are excellent, this one included.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love violent blood-curdling mystery this is the book for you. Enjoyed both books so far in the Logan McRae series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read nearly all of the books about DS McRae and thoroughly enjoyed all of them and plan to read the rest.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Detective Sergeant Logan MacRae has been bumped to D.I. Roberta Steel⿿s ⿿Screw-up Squad⿠after a raid he led on a warehouse rumored to be full of stolen property ended with no arrests and one officer critically injured. The backstabbing, limelight-stealing, laziest D.I. on Aberdeen⿿s police force, Steel⿿s team is made up of the ⿿no-hopers,⿠the most worthless or inexperienced members of the homicide department, and Logan will do anything to prove he doesn⿿t belong there. Including working overtime on two baffling cases: the murder by arson of six people, and the beating to death of a prostitute down by the docks, not a high priority compared to the fire. At least not until another prostitute ends up dead.   Although both cases seem simple on the surface---turns out the fire⿿s victims are part of a drug dealer⿿s inner circle, and what fate is to be expected for working girls in Aberdeen⿿s red-light district? --- in Stuart MacBride⿿s hands, what⿿s going on in this rainy Scottish city is bound to be much more complicated than it appears.   A detailed authenticity combines with a dark Scottish sense of humor and a lively cast of characters in MacBride⿿s unputdownable second novel, confirming his status as a rising star of crime fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
JMS1057 More than 1 year ago
The story is slow and hard to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DFY More than 1 year ago
Page turner. Doesn't require a lot of brain power to follow. Great book to read on the bus to work.
pur More than 1 year ago
very good plot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jamjc More than 1 year ago
Worst details in a story You need to have a strong stomach Gross.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Taking the time to figure out the meaning of the words was a trying experience. Probably a good story, but frustrating as it didn't move smoothly Will pass on buying another book by this author.
LIBBYEM More than 1 year ago
This is just as good as the first one's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very intense book. I really enjoy DI Insch eating different candies all the time. It helps lighten the strong story. This book in NOT for the weak! It takes a little bit of effort to get used to the British spellings and phrases. I would like to read another type of murder mystery by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago