×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

East to the Dawn: The Life of Amelia Earhart
     

East to the Dawn: The Life of Amelia Earhart

4.1 15
by Susan Butler
 

See All Formats & Editions

Amelia Earhart (1897-1937) captured the hearts of America after becoming the first woman to fly across the Atlantic in 1928. Nine years later, her disappearance on an around-the-world flight brought her extraordinary life to an abrupt and mysterious end.

Based on a decade of archival research through Earhart's letters, journals, and diaries, and drawing on

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

East to the Dawn: The Life of Amelia Earhart 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was initially interested in this book because Amelia Earhart was my childhood hero. While I am not an aviator, I was inspired by her ability to transcend role expectations for women, and to build a fulfilling life for herself by following her dreams. This book does not disappoint in highlighting those aspects of her life. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the research into her family history. I came to believe that the story of the factors in her background that contributed to making her who she was would have been fascinating even if she didn't ultimately become a famous person. It made me hunger for more personalized genealogical histories such as this, no matter who the subject!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very well written and well researched. The details the author puts in are amazing. My only complaint would be that the book did not address the many rumors surrounding her disappearance but it is a minor complaint at that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a high school sophomore student who had to do a research project on Amelia Earhart. I have always been interested in learning new facts about Amelia Earhart, and this book was filled with lots of information about her. One of my favorite things that I have learned about her was that she was a feminist and that she cared for women’s rights.She inspired me more than before when I read this book because she didn’t care about what anyone else thought of her and she took chances to achieve her goals in aviation. It was fascinating to read about her childhood and learning that she stood out as a young girl. Although I am very interested in learning about Amelia, the book was very dry to me and I had trouble staying focused. I felt that Butler put a lot more detail than needed. When I planned to read for an hour, after only reading thirty minutes into the book, I feel as if I’ve been reading for a long time. I do believe that this book is tiresome due to the fact that I’ve dozed off a couple times while reading. The author puts unnecessary information on Amelia’s ancestry, when the person I’m focused on learning about is Amelia.This book was a good resource to learn more information on Amelia Earhart, but I wish that Butler didn’t include too much unnecessary details on non-important subjects which unfortunately made the book to lengthy and boring to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
maryelena More than 1 year ago
I find this book slow reading as it is so heavily weighted with biographic information. Great read for aviation enthusiasts. I was reading it to learn about the woman herself.
DRQ More than 1 year ago
Historical in nature - well written- compelling - easy to read -
cfkjr More than 1 year ago
Details of her life and times not covered in other biograhies. You can tell much research went into writing this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SuzieQSK More than 1 year ago
see the movie!