×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Easy Spanish Reader / Edition 2
     

Easy Spanish Reader / Edition 2

3.2 18
by William Tardy
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0071428062

ISBN-13: 9780071428064

Pub. Date: 09/17/2003

Publisher: McGraw-Hill Professional Publishing

Learn how to read in Spanish—starting right now!

Easy Spanish Reader is a unique, easy-to-follow guide based on the premise that the best way to learn a language is to start reading it immediately! Whether you're a brand-new beginner or an advanced-beginning learner, this new edition gives you ways to dive into the language with engaging readings that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Easy Spanish Reader 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first learned to speak Spanish with the Learning Spanish Like Crazy program, and while I highly recommend this program, I think it¿s important to use a variety of language teaching tools if you want to continue to improve. Most Spanish language material concentrates on either conversational Spanish or grammar. Easy Spanish Reader is very different in that its main purpose is to improve your reading comprehension. The first few stories are relatively easy to comprehend and have very basic sentence structure, but they become progressively harder as you make your way through the book. As you¿re reading, you¿ll notice that the more difficult vocabulary is listed in the margins along with their definitions. Every section also has exercises at the end. The reading material is interesting and varied. A lot of Latin American history is covered, so the book also serves as a resource for interesting cultural and historical background. Overall, I liked Easy Spanish Reader very much. It¿s a good supplement to my other Spanish language material.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read out-loud to learn and have enjoyed listening to the spoken word. Learning Spanish comes late in life for me but at a time when I know best how to learn. The "Easy Spanish Reader" is not particularly "easy" but not hard either. I will repeat sentences until I have developed a natural speaking voice. Thank you Mr. Tardy.
yupyup More than 1 year ago
Learning Spanish is a hobby of mine. I purchased this book about two years ago and I have not grown tired of it. The lessons are manageable. If you are looking for a good way to gradually increase your vocabulary and confidence, this book will help you meet your Spanish goal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DixieHarleyBlackie More than 1 year ago
Very easy stories to read, excellent fun exercises, good begining reading book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Earlier edition had helpful top page vocabularies so you didn't have to go to back glossary for defintions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK PROGRESSES NICELY IN TERMS OF DIFFICULTY, BUT THERE IS NO ENGLISH TRANSLATION INCLUDED WITH THE WRITINGS. SO, HOW DO I KNOW WHAT I KNOW? OR DON'T KNOW?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great way to practice simple conversation even for a beginner. Helps increase the vocabulary and word usage. An advanced student may find errors in it but for the beginner to intermediate this is an excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After 1/2 of a semester of Spanish, a student should be able to pick up this book for extra practice. The stories are short and the storyline simple. Vocabulary is limitted, but expands with the book. There are short question sets after each story. It is a good addition to Spanish textbooks to build reading skills and vocabulary.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book came to me highly recommended as the best way to improve reading comprehension in Spanish. While the book is very easy to read, the biased and incorrect information in the Mexican History essays proved too much of a distraction for me. The history of Mexico is written in a very condescending, pro-Cortes manner and is at times rude and/or incorrect. The Aztecs are described in a belittling manner, Cortes is revered as a brilliant and valiant hero, and the Aztec religious beliefs are reduced to one word - 'strange.' The most outrageous part is the description of the term 'Malinche' as a word of reverence! It is alarming to me that this book, which is popular for adults and children learning to read Spanish, may be the first bit of Mexican history to which the reader is introduced. It is unbelievable that this book continues to be used and published in the United States.