×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Easy to Love, Difficult to Discipline: The Seven Basic Skills for Turning Conflict into Cooperation
     

Easy to Love, Difficult to Discipline: The Seven Basic Skills for Turning Conflict into Cooperation

4.0 19
by Becky A. Bailey
 

See All Formats & Editions

Learn how to stop policing and pleading and become the parent you want to be.

You love your children, but if you're like most parents, you don't always love their behavior. But how can you guide them without resorting to less-than-optimal behavior yourself? Dr. Becky Bailey's unusual and powerful approach to parenting has made thousands of families happier and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Easy to Love, Difficult to Discipline: The Seven Basic Skills for Turning Conflict into Cooperation 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book by Becky Bailey. It has truly changed my relationship with my preschooler and toddler and the way in which I interact with my children. I have a very challenging three year old son who is extremely determined and stubborn. Prior to reading this book and using Becky's techniques, he and I were engaged in constant power struggles. By using her techniques, we had instant success and amazing results. The non-stop power struggles are gone! For example, putting on his shoes every day was always a challenge, with me becoming angry as he refused to cooperate. After reading her book, I approached this problem differently. The next time he refused to put on his shoes, I used her techniques. I was absolutly flabbergasted when he thought for a second and then said OK and put on his shoes. I was so shocked I was speechless for a few seconds. For months, he and I had struggled daily with putting on his shoes. Just by approaching him differently the problem disappeared. My husband and I were absolutely stunned at how effective the techniques are. This book has helped me understand the reasons behind my children's misbehavior and how to appropriately react so as to make misbehavior a learning experience for my children. While my children's behavior is not perfect (of course I don't expect that from a preschooler and a toddler) we are seeing vast improvement. Most importantly, Becky's techniques are helping to teach my children the tools they need to interact succcessfully with other persons. Becky's book really ties together how different discipline skills promote certain values. This book is truly the most effective parenting book I have ever read. I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading many books and attending parenting classes, I finally found the answer...Becky Bailey's book. What a find. The book focuses on changing your behavior rather than your child's, under the assumption that your reaction determines their actions. How true. It has been an absolute help for me. I couldn't be happier with my two and a half year old twins now ! I now urge all my mom friends to read it too. It provides wonderful insight, inspiration and helpful tips. Even my husband has read parts of it! It is a must have for all parents of toddlers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I initially borrowed this book from the library, but because it is so full of wonderful advice and helpful 'one-liners,' I am buying one to have at home. I think this is a wonderful book for creating a positive home environment. She really emphasizes that as a parent you need to develop your own sense of self control, before you can teach your children to do the same. Plus, she leads you step by step through many examples of how to do this. My kids even noticed a difference after I started using a few of her techniques and they liked it!! She really helps parents how to understand developmental issues related to their children's behavior which can help put their misdeeds in perspective. I heartily recommend this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have kids, this is a must read book. I read a lot of parenting books. This is the best. In order to be a good parent in today's society, you must be educated. This is the book for self-educating. The most important philosophy in this book is how to discipline ourself before we can discipline our kids and how to discipline our kids with loving guidance vs. fear-based strategies (most of us fell in this one without awareness).
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that every person in the world should read this book, not just parents. It teaches skills that should be utillized by everyone. It teaches them in a very easy to follow format. I have read tons of 'helping to parent' books, and this is the only one that I would reccomend. In fact I bought one for five of my friends with kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pink214 More than 1 year ago
I am an elementary school teachers with a masters in education, but was at a loss with my own almost two year old. I felt so frustrated because I didnt know what else to do or try. I was given this book and I LOVE it. I loved the use of situations and comparing traditional parenting (ie - what my mom used on me) with a better alternative. The examples are so concrete and their are parts which give a script for what to say when correcting behavior. I wrote it out and put it on my fridge. I loved the emphasis on teaching students correct behavior instead of punishing students for poor behavior. I also loved the part about positive intent and assuming your child has positive intentions (i.e biting because they want to get down and play instead of biting to hurt mommy). I dont know if my child's behavior has improved but I do know that I feel better. I feel that I have a tool box that is full and feel more confident with my ability to address behavior. I feel that I am teaching my child to make the right choices and letting him know that I love him and think he is great no matter what. If you find the book a bit weighty, skim thought it first and then read the the parts you think are most relevent to you first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
usaegetta More than 1 year ago
The title is catchy but I was hoping it was more practical and dynamic. It takes too much time to get to the point.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This a great parenting book with helpful tips and respectful ways of parenting that actually work and truly honor both parent and child. Among other things, it offers alternatives to the most common parenting mistakes in our culture. My only complaint would be that it is not an easy read at first. I recommend skimming the whole book first, then going through it in more depth. I loved it so much that I am buying three more copies for relatives who have children.