×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Echo Burning (Jack Reacher Series #5)
  • Alternative view 1 of Echo Burning (Jack Reacher Series #5)
  • Alternative view 2 of Echo Burning (Jack Reacher Series #5)
     

Echo Burning (Jack Reacher Series #5)

4.0 397
by Lee Child
 

See All Formats & Editions

Thumbing across the west Texas desert, Jack Reacher has nowhere to go. Cruising the same stretch of blacktop is Carmen Greer. But the lift comes with a hitch. She's got a wild story to tell--about her husband, her family secrets, and a hometown that's pure Gothic.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Echo Burning (Jack Reacher Series #5) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 397 reviews.
CassieNY More than 1 year ago
I haven't read these books in any given order and I don't think it matters since the plots don't carry over or leave one hanging. That's a gripe I have with other of series. I've read about five of the Reacher novels and each time I have a hard time putting the guy away. I want to read another and another just to be around him ... so to speak. He's a unique character - a drifter I can admire. Echo Burning is about a young, possibly battered married woman in trouble in a small town where the law may as well not exist until she finds Jack Reacher hitch-hiking as usual away to "anywhere". One is quickly led all over Texas from one interesting character to another until the mystery is solved. I can usually figure out who-done-it before the end of a novel but not these. It's always a surprise. Reacher never does what the reader has come to expect from these types of novels. He doesn't sleep with her just to get some. His language is clean - he's obviously educated, even refined in his own way. An ex-military cop, Reacher has the moves that take out the bad guys fast. He describes what he looks for and what to avoid. It's interesting to see how he "reads" people and it's all so true-to-life. Warning: don't start reading just before bed-time!
christytilleryfrench More than 1 year ago
Jack Reacher travels the country with the clothes on his back and a folding toothbrush in his pocket. Hitchhiking through Texas, he's picked up by Carmen Greer, a beautiful Hispanic woman. Although Carmen's husband Sloop Greer is from a rich family, she only has $1.00 in her purse. Her husband's in prison and Carmen hopes he stays there but Sloop's worked out a deal with the federal authorities and is expected home. Carmen's been cruising the streets, looking for someone she can talk into murdering her husband because he physically abused her before he went to prison and she's afraid he'll kill her once free. Reacher agrees to go with Carmen to Sloop's ranch to protect her but tells her he will not commit murder. Just hours after Sloop's home, he's found in his bedroom, shot to death by Carmen's gun. Carmen's arrested and Reacher teams up with a lawyer from the legal mission to find out who really shot Sloop Greer. Reacher is one of the best characters written today; a strong man who is comfortable with himself and his own personal scruples. He's a cultured man with intelligence who lives a nomadic, asocial lifestyle and can be brutal without remorse if he feels it's deserved. In Echo Burning, there are plots and subplots which Child ties together nicely, providing a boatload of suspense along the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my most favorite Jack Reacher Book. Thought it lacked the usual excitement and plot was so much like others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ended up skimming too much, cut the fluff and you'd a good story in half the page size
wallyt More than 1 year ago
excellent reading kept your interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Better than the last couple of Reacher books
Tuney2010 More than 1 year ago
Each Jack Reacher Story is different from all the others and stands alone as a great read. Echo Burning is an excellent example.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not sure I liked the way this one was written. Good story line but didn't have a good flow.
gma16 More than 1 year ago
Really slow start but came together.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is Lee Child's best thriller yet. He captures the heat and desolation of southwest Texas in every page. It's the perfect backdrop for Jack Reacher--army major-turned-drifter--to mete out his own brand of absolute justice. Jack Reacher is clever and tough, but it's his hint of vulnerability that keeps him interesting. I loved watching him try to saddle a horse (not his forte) as much as I loved watching him match wits and fists with the shady characters he meets throughout the book. If you're new to the series, start with this one. You won't be able to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Normally I enjoy the Reacher books, but this one was terrible. Why on earth would he have listened 5 minutes to Carmen's BS? This is where he starts getting idiotic about every woman he comes across, and it ruins the series.
KingFanCA More than 1 year ago
A good Reacher book but not the best I've read. It was a little predicable but great fight chapters. I could really feel the Texas heat. He's a great writer. Cool read by the pool.
Mikeeman More than 1 year ago
Reading the abridged version would have been better than reading the ynabridged version , as I did. Good story but too much melodrama that snags the flow. The conclusion is obvious though bte elimination of characters along the way and that kills alot of the suspense.
goldieinaz More than 1 year ago
I started reading the Jack Reacher series from most recent book backwards; first time I ever did that. Must say I am glad I did because although I have enjoyed every single book, I find the very first books to be exceptional!!! Could not put the book down it was just so great. Can't wait to read Jack Reacher book #4.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader of Lee Child and always enjoy Jack Reacher's adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All Jack Reacher novels are great!!!
doriMO More than 1 year ago
Whenever I want a good read I turn to Lee Child's Reacher books. Recommend if you love a good mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the traipsing back and forth between Hope and Despair as often as jack did a bit tiring. It would seem that he didn't have anything better to do than irritate Thurman. A bit of a nitpick but a large metal cutting operation like Thurman's facility was supposed to be would be using MAPP gas as opposed to acetylene.
firefly13CA More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down, exciting right to the end.
jrw1229 More than 1 year ago
All the Reacher Series books are great reading. Childs, while a stretch at times, is always exciting and an excellent writer capable of putting out one page turner after another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a typical Jach Reacher novel and I enjoyed reading it. The characters were interesting and as usual the location plays a big part in this book. It takes place in Texas during a very hot & dry period. I felt the extreme heat, the smells and the difficulty of the characters as they experience everyday life and Jack's struggle as he tries to solve a murder and clear the name of the young woman who is accused of killing her husband.
Conrules More than 1 year ago
All the Jack Reacher books are excellent and different plots. Recommend reading all of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy mystery and suspense, you will enjoy Jack Reacher series. They are very entertaining. Sometimes they are a little slow getting started, but soon enough you can't put it down.