×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers Series #1)
     

Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers Series #1)

4.0 224
by Jacquelyn Frank
 

See All Formats & Editions

At one with the darkness, the mysterious Shadowdwellers must live as far from light-loving humans as possible in order to survive. Yet one damaged human woman will tempt the man behind the Shadowdweller throne into a dangerous desire. . .

Worlds Couldn't Keep Them Apart

Among the Shadowdwellers, Trace holds power that some are willing to kill for.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers Series #1) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 224 reviews.
jjmachshev More than 1 year ago
Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the battle of what humans call Demons. This series shifts the focus to another race. A race that exists both in and between Realscape and Shadowscape. Two different, yet co-existing realities that can and do affect each other and the creatures living in either.

When Ashla suddenly finds herself in a world that's totally empty of any living creatures, she's pretty freaked. After all, once she's gorged herself on the never-ending feasts, shopped for free in all the best stores Manhattan has to offer, fulfilled her curiosity by seeing anything, anywhere she wants, all the while spoiling herself in the lap of luxury that is the Plaza hotel...what's left? So when she's surprised by the sudden appearance of two men fighting, with swords no less, she's pretty sure she really is insane. But after the deadly battle when one lies dying, she can't help but heal him...and that act will change her life forever.

Trace is truly shocked when he realizes the creature who healed him is not a Ghost or a Fade, but a real human. For one who has lived as long as he, her existence would have been enough of a puzzle, but when she heals him from a mortal wound, he finds himself drawn to her...even though he knows any bond between human and Shadowdweller should be impossible, and is certainly forbidden.

Very different. I don't confuse Frank's stories with any other writers and considering how much I read, that's a real compliment. Her universe is complex and filled with diverse races, each with a rich culture and history that unfold as her series progresses. Having said that, I now must resign myself to wait for the next installment, "Rapture", scheduled for publication in July 09...SIX whole months!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Ashla Townsend has been in a New York devoid of people and light with no idea how she got there or what happened to the sun. She is overjoyed to see another person, but her euphoria turns to abject fear when another man arrives trying to kill the first person. Both men are shocked that Ashla can see them because only Shadowdwellers are able to see one another. Trace kills Baylor, but is mortally injured; Ashla saves his life using her healing hands.

Trace assumes that Ashla must be one of the Lost, a wraith whose body is in a coma in Realscape. As a Shadowdweller Trace cannot cope with any form of light, but to remain only in the shadows typically leads to madness. Trace is further stunned that he has feelings for Ashla as she is the first woman in a dozen years he trusts,. He escorts Ashla to his people, but neither is safe there even though the clan wars ended with the Chancellors solidifying their power; some rebels want the peace broken with Ashla and Trace being perfect targets. She risks her life to heal Trace even while a traitor plots to kill both of them.

With her Demon series over, Jacquelyn Frank begins a new romantic urban fantasy saga that fans of the author will find radically different and refreshing. Readers will love this strong provocative and evocative tale that digs deep into the Shadowdweller society. Trace is honorable and yet caring about his people with an ironic emphasis on punishing rule-breakers. The sub-genre audience will be in ECSTASY with this superb thriller and look forward to more light and dark Shadowdweller entries.

Harriet Klausner
blueVL More than 1 year ago
I loved this book this is the first "romance," i have read. Im not one for romance but just imagine I brought the whole series including the nightwalkers. I am awaiting the mistral stories. Trace is all the man someone could ever want and Ashla is the antidote to his problem make way for the new Romeo and Juliet. It also fed my hunger for the epic type movies. My imagination was stretched to its limits god how I wish to be a member of the shadowdweller race. The plot was one I did not expect when I began readig and I thought I wouldn't finish, all it took was a couple of sentences and I was hooked. My friends all talk about these books, have read the books more than once, and try to put faces to the characters.
MissMe More than 1 year ago
I read the Nitewalker series a few months ago, but because of the ratings ECSTACY got I was reluctant with this one. But while I was at a local bookstore I picked it up just to read a few pages while I was waiting for a friend. I literally couldnt stop reading it. I ended up purchasing the book and read it through the nite. It was great. It coinsides with the Nitewalker series so it wasnt difficult to get into at all. I believe J.F captures the characters emotions just right without the boring stuff you sometimes find with other books. It did keep me guessing as to what would happen and I am left with wanting more! I cant wait for the next book to come out!
corrie_s More than 1 year ago
It was good and i love how its different from alot of other books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly loved reading this book. Since I discovered this book, I completed it and read all the other books in the series. I truly hope that there will be others in the series. I plan to read them again because they are extra-ordinary and they kept me up all night because I couldn't put them down. Thank God I'm retired because if I had to read them at work, I probably would have been suspended.
marshaK More than 1 year ago
Too hard to get into, skipped page after page just to find actual dialogue, anyone who has read immortals after dark series knows what great writing laugh out loud, curl your toes knock em dead heroines are. This was not
bukadiks411 More than 1 year ago
Great Series!! The Shadowdweller are all a great read. Sexy love scenes takes this series to a whole new level.I couldn't put it down! The Nightwalker Series are great reads too! Get both Series.
Mindyrox2010 More than 1 year ago
It was good... I've like this author since I read her series The Nightwalkers... but I will say this... the Nightwalker series is better... I like the plots better and characters... and the series just caught my attention more than this one does... don't get me wrong... it was good and I liked it... it's just not one of the better ones... I'm reading Rapture right now and I will say that Ecstacy is better... but I'm only 80 something pages into it so I got awhile to go... but I would read it... it is a good book and it is entertaining...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I normally read vampire related books. So this is a great series to start with. I look forward to the other books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Found this book something new for a change - the supernatural factor is much different than those of my favorite authors. This is definiately a very good read and makes you want to read the rest of the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mapetite More than 1 year ago
Frank's Nightwalker series was truly awesome. It's a rare find when you can actually be drawn into a book, and she has the ability to do just that. However, this first book in the Shadowdweller series is below par and her writing ability. The first 130 pages simply stink! If you're looking for a sleeping sedative in a non-prescription form; the first 130 pages will do the trick. I read the entire Nightwalker series in less than 2 weeks and it took 17 days to read Ectasy..shame. After that-yes, it was good and the other remaining books in this series is very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you open the book you can't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago