×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eden in Winter
     

Eden in Winter

3.4 11
by Richard North Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Number one New York Times best-selling author Richard North Patterson, author of more than twenty novels, including Degree of Guilt and Silent Witness, returns with the dramatic conclusion to the Blaine trilogy: Eden in Winter, the final volume that completes the story begun in Fall from Grace and Loss of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eden in Winter 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
Richard North Patterson concludes his trilogy in Eden in Winter, preceded by Fall From Grace and Loss of Innocence. Adam Blaine is on leave from his CIA job after the death of his father, Ben.  There was no love lost between the two but Adam takes on the task of making sure that the real murderer of his father is cleared from guilt at the inquest into his father’s death.  In reality, almost everyone in the family wanted Ben dead, so acrimonious were their relationships to the family patriarch.   This is the story of Adam’s illegal activities to clear a family member, a connection to his father’s mistress who is now carrying his father’s child, and some very long conversations with a family friend/psychotherapist who attempts to help Adam purge his memories of the repression that has turned him into an emotionless man who steers clear of all feelings and emotional connection with family and friends.  It goes back many years and Adam tells it all one session at a time, prodded by his therapist and told in a strange way devoid of all emotional expression.  This is the only part of the novel that lacks credibility to some extent, not the telling but the inanimate manner of verbalizing the long-withheld poisons that leave Adam in a perilous condition most of the time in his job as well as with his family. Adam returns to Afghanistan and the reader gets to travel with him in his ever-changing missions, one in particular ironically involving the American POW who has just been released after being kept a prisoner for five years, Bergdahl.  Adam is very, very good at his job but now his formerly clear-headed focus is thwarted by his experiences during his recent home leave.  That makes it risky business and vulnerable to being wounded or even killed! Over the years, Patterson has changed the style of his writing to include more of a psychological bent to his novels.  This adds depth to the stories and throws in some contemporary issues that should make for interesting reading for today’s audience.  Relationships are variable certainly, but Patterson knows how to plumb the depths of those connections with the sordid as well as the sublime.  There’s something in this novel to appeal to men and women of any age. Nicely done indeed!
Lucie More than 1 year ago
Richard North Patterson is back in his original great form. This could be read and understood without the previous two - but the reader would definitely be missing a "good long story"!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
350 pages of nothing, may be the worst book I have ever read. How do I give zero stars?
JoyCagil More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book because of the curiosity for what will happen next, and also because it is written with tension and some suspense. On the other hand, I neither could relate to any of the characters nor to the plot. If there ever were a book with any characters more warped or a plot as disturbing, I haven’t read it, yet.  Still, this might be just what the author intended in the first place. I believe he wanted to write a twisted and complicated family drama with characters just as twisted and complicated. Then he wanted to analyze them, which he did very well.  In the story, Ben Blaine, a famed author who has been suffering from brain cancer, is dead by falling from a cliff. When his death is suspected as being a murder, his brother Jack, his older son Teddy, and even his mistress Clara who is expecting his baby become suspects.  The main character in the story is his younger son Adam Blaine, a CIA operative, who arrives from Afghanistan after the news of the death. An insignificant twist in the beginning of the story has to do with Adam hiding his CIA career from the Blaine family after staying away in Afghanistan for a decade. Also, inside this perverse family drama is Ben’s wife Clarice, Teddy and Adam’s mother who has had an affair with Jack which Ben knew, but the whole family, including Jack, has kept living together in the family house in Martha’s Vineyard.  During the course of the story, other characters such as a reporter from the National Enquirer, the police detective, a policeman who is Adam’s old friend, and another young author Rachel, who for a short time becomes Adam’s lover, act as catalysts in the story. When Adam learns the terrible truths behind the well-kept family secrets as to who he is and why anyone behaved the way they behaved, he finds an alibi for each suspect to use in court and he is quite effective with it, despite his shock over his family.  Thrown in the mix is Ben’s will in which he leaves everything to his mistress Clara Pacelli, an actress with a collapsed career due to addiction. When Adam asks Clara to take a portion of the inheritance to avoid a court fight over it with his mother and Clara accepts his offer, Adam finds out that Clara is not the awful person his family made her out to be, and in the course of this and other events, Adam and Clara fall in love. The way they figure out how to live with this precarious situation and make peace--or not--with the Blaine family is for the reader to find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not on nook for $25. Areyoukidding me?...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the third book of the trilogy but it stands alone because of flashbacks. I've read quite a few of Patterson's books and enjoyed all of them.
mikeburton04 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, but I may have been lost, in parts, if I hadn't read the two previous installments. I'm not sure if this measures up to Mr. Patterson's previous works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book even though I haven't read the previous two volumes of the trilogy. I thought all the complex relationships were handled quite well and the ending was satisfying. My two complaints are: numerous typos in the book format (words were actual words but not the correct ones in the context of the sentence, and the dialogue often consisted of one complex sentence after another (people simply don't converse like that in real life unless they are trying hard to impress). Overall, it was a pretty good story but I don't feel inclined to go back and read the other two books in the series. One book about the Blaine family is really enough for me. I do plan to read some of his other stand alone books, however.