×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year
     

Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year

4.4 34
by Esmé Raji Codell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Esme Raji Codell has come to teach — and she's not going to let incompetent administrators, abusive parents, gang members, weary teachers, dim-witted principals, angry children, or her own insecurities get in the way. Esme is fresh mouthed yet compassionate; she can be both pigheaded and generous, cynical and charming. In this diary, a record of her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Educating Esme 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
Have you ever wondered what it would be like to teach children for a living? I'm sure we've all taught at least one child one thing or another in our lifetime. Witnessing my nephew learning to do new things makes me so happy. He gets a big ole grin on his face and you can just see how proud he is of himself. He also whispers, "I did it!" and you can hear the pride in his voice. It is a wonderful thing, teaching a child. I couldn't imagine teaching a class of twenty kids and feeling a surge of emotion every time a child learned something new. At the same time, it would be extremely difficult to try to teach a child who doesn't understand what you say. When I first received an email about EDUCATING ESME, I knew that I had to read it. I've always been fascinated with education and still to this day, one of my goals is to learn at least one new thing a day. Even if it is something as simple as a new world. Knowledge truly is power and I actually have a craving for learning. Anyway, enough about me. Esme catalogs her experiences as a teacher in a diary her first year. She's the kind of teacher kids need growing up. She is an independent, no-nonsense, straight to the point, understanding person who truly wants to guide her students through the school year. She isn't your average teacher, she doesn't just want to teach these kids, she wants them to really learn. She's not satisfied with her students knowing 2+2=4. She wants them to understand why it equals 4 and how they can apply their knowledge in everyday life. Esme quickly learns that she has her work cut out for her. The good thing is, she knows just how to handle the situations placed in front of her. She's has a wild spirit and enjoys shocking the students as well as fellow teachers. Esme is known to roller-skate in the school hallways and dance during a math session. Not only do Esme have what it takes to reach these children, they also have what it takes to teach her a few lessons as well. A wonderful, uplifting read that will keep you doubled over with laughter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing, as always! Add more emotion. It makes it way more exciting. I like how you thre in a bit of humor; it nicely weaved in with the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steph53282 More than 1 year ago
I read this book waaaaaaaay back in high school when it first came out in my teacher prep class. Madame Esme was touring and came to an event to speak. I met her and she even signed my copy! The book itself was wonderful and it gave you an incite as to what it would be like to teach at an intercity school (with a horrible principal too). I would highly recommend this book to anyone thinking about becoming a teacher. She had it rough, but she came out of her first year of teaching on TOP!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Georgia_girlGA More than 1 year ago
While some of Madame Esme's stories are almost unbelievable, this book is entertaining to say the least. I originally thought this would be helpful to me during my first year of teaching; however this seems to be meant more as entertainment than a memoir. It's definitely worth reading, but don't expect any stellar teaching advice or even any really useful information. It's mostly fluff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good and inspiring for future teachers. Esme is honest and that honesty is greatly appreciated!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book with a lot of interesting ideas. The book reads very easily, and is humorous and thoughtful. Esme is a teacher who tests the boundaries of her school environment. She ruffles a few feathers, but betters her students in the process. This book is an excellent read for beginning and seasoned teachers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a somewhat spiritual event. Esme is very open and frank about all her struggles in her first year of Teaching. She makes mistakes but she honestly wants to be the best teacher she can be! I think every first year teacher should read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Educating Esmé by Esmé Raji Codell is a diary of her first year teaching fifth grade in a Chicago public school. It is written in journal form and describes her trials and tribulations while teaching. The book describes how Esmé handles parents, disciplining students, and unruly principals. It explains her thoughts and feelings as teacher as well as her teaching style and her classroom. The book gives inside to a first year teacher¿s life and explains the ups and downs of it. She is a creative teacher who loves to make a difference in her students¿ lives, no matter how hard it is. She loves finding new ways to teach, just like when she made the time machine for the students to read in. In this book I like how she explains exactly how teaching is. Esmé explains both the good and bad times and how she handles them. She is able to be successful and enjoy teaching for the love of the students instead of just a job. I also like how she makes teaching fun and creative. She involves the students and makes them work hard and enjoy going to her class. She has great ideas and is very inspiring. She is also able to make the book humorous and enjoyable to read. I did not like how the book is written in journal form because it makes the book choppy. There is not much flow but it¿s easy to understand her life. Anyone who is a teacher or planning on becoming a teacher should read this book. Overall, I liked this book and it was fun to read. It gave great inside into teaching in a public school and all the events teachers incorporate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Educating Esmé by Esmé Raji Codell is a diary of her first year teaching fifth grade in a Chicago public school. It is written in journal form and describes her trials and tribulations while teaching. The book describes how Esmé handles parents, disciplining students, and unruly principals. It explains her thoughts and feelings as teacher as well as her teaching style and her classroom. The book gives inside to a first year teacher¿s life and explains the ups and downs of it. She is a creative teacher who loves to make a difference in her students¿ lives, no matter how hard it is. She loves finding new ways to teach just like when she made the time machine for teh students to read in. In this book I like how she explains exactly how teaching is. Esmé explains both the good and bad times and how she handles them. She is able to be successful and enjoy teaching for the love of the students instead of just a job. I also like how she makes teaching fun and creative. She involves the students and makes them work hard and enjoy going to her class. She has great ideas and is very inspiring. She is also able to make the book humorous and enjoyable to read. I did not like how the book is written in journal form because it makes the book choppy. There is not much flow but it¿s easy to understand her life. Anyone who is a teacher or planning on becoming a teacher should read this book. Overall, I liked this book and it was fun to read. It gave great inside into teaching in a public school and all the events teachers incorporate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Esme is an amazing teacher. If only all teachers could have the drive that she does. This is a very good book. It was very funny and touching. The epilogue had me in tears, literally. I would read it again, and recommended it to all future and practicing teachers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Educating Esme': Diary of a Teacher's First Year is a compelling, compassionate read. It also has a special place for those whom society calls disadvantaged. I am a 25 year veteran of teaching in the public schools and this book reads as true as UP THE DOWN STAIRCASE or GOODBYE MR. CHIPS...I very highly recommend that young people going into education as a career read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Educating Esmé by Esmé Raji Codell is a diary of the author¿s trials and tribulations during her first year teaching. She learns that sometimes everyone doesn¿t like ¿her¿ way of doing things in this inner city Chicago school. She never gives up though, due to her extraordinary will to succeed. Madame Esmé, as she likes to be called, talks as though she is the only teacher in the school. She writes about being the only one in her school that really cares about the students, and she is the lone one who tries to connect with them. This book was good, but not great. I wouldn¿t read it again, and I would only recommend it to someone going into teaching. I believe that I wasn¿t too interested in it merely because I¿m not into teaching. This book is full of details, but none seem to go anywhere. Nothing eventful happens in this book that makes readers want to keep going to find out what happens next; every event is predictable. Overall, I enjoyed the reading experience, but would not read this book again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Educating Esme is a wonderful book about an eccentric teacher at a public school in Chicago. The book would be interesting to all, not just teachers and soon-to-be teachers. Teachers to get creative ideas of things to use in their own classroom can use the book. She is very creative and does special things in her classroom for the children. She has a lot of inviting decorations and activities for the kids to do. She is very firm and consistent in her teaching style. She also shows the problems involved with teachers, like dealing with parents, undisciplined children and unruly principals. The book is written in diary form, which gives the reader a better day-to-day recount than, if it was reflected on at the end of the year. The book is rather humorous and you can follow her ups and downs throughout the first year. It is a good read for anybody to see into the live of a rookie teacher.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Educating Esmé is an excellent book about first year teacher Esmé Codell. Esmé is teaching in a school in inner city Chicago. The book is written in a journal form, with daily entries. Esmé writes in this journal throughout the year discussing triumphs and failures. She describes her thoughts and feelings, the way her classroom is set up, activities she does in her classroom and outside the classroom, her unique teaching style, problems she has with the principal, Mr. Turner, and the students she taught. It is clear through Esmé vivid descriptions that she is a very unique and creative teacher who has a wonderful ability of reaching the students, even if it means upsetting other teachers or Mr. Turner. Esmé does what she wants to do, but with a purpose. Her insight into teaching and some of her ideas can be very useful for future and current educators. Educating Esmé is a great book that once you start to read, you can not wait to find out what kind of crazy thing is going to happen next. Esmé¿s connection with her students and her creativity are incredibly inspiring. The school system would be an incredibly interesting place if more teachers were like Esmé Codell.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My friend recommended this book to me. We are both in the elementary education program in college and she told me I HAD to read this book. I finished it within the day! It was so inspirational! It gives you a real-life look into teaching and how being creative and a little different can go a long way. It also outlines just how hard it can be and how she was able to overcome a lot of obstacles. She had so many amazing accomplishments just in her first year. It really makes me excited to go into teaching. I really took away a lot of good ideas/advise from this book that I will incorporate into my own class.