×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eerie
     

Eerie

3.5 44
by Blake Crouch, Jordan Crouch
 

See All Formats & Editions

From newcomer Jordan Crouch and Blake Crouch, author of the runaway bestseller Run, comes Eerie, a chilling, gothic thriller in the classic tradition of The Shining and The Sixth Sense.

TRAPPED INSIDE A HOUSE

On a crisp autumn evening in 1980, seven-year-old Grant Moreton and his five-year-old sister Paige were nearly killed in a mysterious accident in the Cascade

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eerie 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
SelenaKitt More than 1 year ago
I devoured this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat, turning pages as fast as I could to see what was going to happen next! Although it’s billed as a horror-slash-ghost story, it’s neither, but in some ways, it is both. Puzzled? That’s okay, that’s how it’s supposed to be, and when you get to the end, you’ll forgive the authors their trespasses, because this story is THAT good. At its core, it explores love and family connection and even the meaning of our existence to the depths most novels just gloss over—or shy away from. At times poignant and heart-wrenching, it is, without a doubt, utterly mind-blowing. And just when you think you might have things figured out, the world turns upside down. Again. Thank you to Blake Crouch (always a great read!) and Jordan Crouch (I look forward to more!) for a fantastic ride. Even the interview between brothers, talking about writing two main character siblings, was a joy to read. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!
DonCranford More than 1 year ago
This is a ‘monster-under-the-bed’ story, which leaves the reader wondering throughout the book as clues emerge in a finely paced read. The suspense was killing me to hurry up to the next chapter for more clues. I loved this story, right up until the end, which left me slightly confused. I felt the authors should have exposed a bit more information through the father in the story prior to the end so that the ending would be cleaner. Perhaps that was their intention, but it left me irritated and a bit too deus ex machina. I love Blake Crouch’s writing and the addition of his brother Jordan was seamless. It was difficult to impossible to detect two different styles, which impressed me. The characters in the story are real enough to identify with and are constant with Blake Crouch’s writing. The sibling angst is perfect and the torment between the two main characters is heartbreaking and propels the story along to the end. A well-written opposition with a brother trying to fix his sister while broken himself while virtually locked in their townhouse. The power is out and the characters cannot leave and the townhouse is very cold, brother and sister have serious issues, there is unrequited love, and there is something unexplainable and frightening under the bed. All of this is well woven into a fast and interesting plot which gave me the chills I am so used to from Crouch. I enjoyed the book and was only slightly disappointed with the ending. Maybe I missed something, but I look forward to Blake and Jordan’s next collaboration. I did receive this book free from the publisher for review.
MicahZ More than 1 year ago
From front to back, this book will grab you and not let go. This was an easy read that has an excellent story. Outstanding work by the Crouch boys!
ChrisBowsman More than 1 year ago
Thanks to a random log in to Facebook, I got the opportunity to read EERIE before it was released. As always, Crouch's latest did not disappoint. The gore is practically nonexistent in this one (most of his stuff is actually much less blood and guts than it seems), but rather it is genuinely scary. Like when I read PET SEMETARY when I was 12 scary. It's also interesting to note that Blake collaborated on this one with his younger brother, Jordan, and that this is our first exposure to the younger Crouch's writing. Jordan Crouch's first full length is on the way according to the interview at the end of the book, which I'm very much looking forward to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was creepy but dragged inthe end as if they just ran out of steam. Left me wanting more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad I borrowed this from a friend! It was hard to put down. Just when you think you have figured it out, there's another surprise. It was nice to read something with a different plot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't begin to imagine where this story was going to go after reading 20-30 pages....interesting but I like something more believable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was definitely not one I'd recommend due to the fact it was hard to follow the plot and it didn't make one bit of sense. Utterly ridiculous and a waste of money.
SH69 More than 1 year ago
If you like wierd books it is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book up until the end. Did not care for the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really liking this book. It had an identifiable reality, but the end was too much scifi-fantasy for me. This was my first book by Crouch and it turns out this was written by the two brothers. The main part was "eerie" enough to bring me into the characters lives, but the ending wasn't satisfying to me. It left me wondering why? Even so I will be trying another book by Crouch
Kkl55 More than 1 year ago
It is worth 3 stars
pengesser More than 1 year ago
I have read other books by Blake Crouch and loved them. This is no exception. It has several 'hair on the back of the neck stands up' moments and I really did not see that ending coming. If you like a little horror mixed in with a bit of ghost, this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the read but left me wanting something more at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It grabbed me from the very beginning, scared me and made me talk about it at work, and I couldn't wait for my reading time. Then, toward the end, it took a strange turn and I wished I had read more about the author and his other books before getting this one. But it was on sale for my nook and I was entertained enough, I suppose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Claudia32 More than 1 year ago
I love horror books, so EERIE was right up my alley. The premise behind the book is a good ol' fashioned ghost story, or at least, it started out that way. It's a definite "why are these things happing" kind of book. No sooner did I start to read it, I was hooked. But I do warn you, if you're afraid of the boogeyman, I'd read this one during the day, outside, away from any bedrooms. Blake and Jordan do a fantastic job of appealing to a reader's emotions through their storytelling. Again, this is why I love horror so much... the adrenaline induced fear goes beyond the written page. I had my moments of "do I really want to finish this?" which ultimately passed as I kept reading and now I'm stuck with the notion that they could have added more, especially towards the end, because really, I didn't want the story to end.
mystymoon More than 1 year ago
I have read a lot of this authors books and love them. this one was very different. Awesome would be the word. Trapped in a house, trying to figure out how to get out, why they are trapped. A very, very cool and interesting book. Keep up the great work!