×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eggs
  • Alternative view 1 of Eggs
  • Alternative view 2 of Eggs
     

Eggs

4.5 177
by Jerry Spinelli
 

See All Formats & Editions

Eggs is a quirky and moving novel about two very complicated, damaged children. David has recently lost his mother to a freak accident, his salesman father is constantly on the road, and he is letting his anger out on his grandmother. Primrose lives with her unstable, childlike, fortuneteller mother, and the only evidence of the father she never knew is a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eggs 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 177 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book. It had a bunch of big twists and turns and overall had a nice, basic, story. I think that it is an appropriate book for all ages and maybe a little more so for children. Jerry spinelli is a magnificent writer and nailed it again with this book; eggs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think Eggs is one of the best books I have read. Eggs really caught my attention. It also inspired me to start writing a book of my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jerry Spinelli, you have done it again! This book made me laugh, cry, hurt, and feel for all the characters. Amazing, Jerry, truly amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm going to be honest-this is one of the best books I have read. Spinelli knows how to make his stories come to life with his life-like details that make relating to the book easier and more enjoyable. Eggs is a story of love, loss, humor, anger, and pure joy. It's different and interesting, making it a good read. I definately recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
EGGS is a novel of lost souls--a boy who has lost his mother and a girl who wishes she could lose hers, both who more than anything need a human connection. For David and Primrose, that's easier said than done. As their awkward friendship develops from a strange meeting during an Easter egg hunt to late-night worm catching and finally a trek along a railway line, they badger each other and fight and eventually find a sort of peace. Most of the chapters focus on David, who is a hard character to like. Since the death of his mother, he has been obsessed with rules and rigidity. He turns the cold shoulder on his caring grandmother and deliberately provokes her, as well as pushing away any other kids' attempts at friendship. However, as he spends time with Primrose, who both fascinates him and angers him, her big-sisterly influence starts to soften him up. The way he deals with his pain and slowly comes to terms with it is heartbreaking and believable. The novel is more about revealing the characters and watching them interact and develop than any specific event. Its slow, contemplative pace will appeal to thoughtful readers. But this book isn't a downer--between the spats and the melancholy moments there's plenty of humor to be had. The descriptions of the town are colorful, and the well- developed minor characters add extra life to the story. Anyone who has lost a parent or been estranged from one will find much to relate to in EGGS. It hits readers with every emotion possible, from despair to hope, and entertains them along the way. **Reviewed by: Lynn Crow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jerry is a great author and i love all of his books. He truly is one of those people who makes the world an awesomer place.
George Orellana More than 1 year ago
This book was a very good one. Even though it had nothing to do with eggs... at all! It was a good story on friendship. It shows that friendship will have its ups and downs. I did like the book a lot and I do recomend that you read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have you ever thought if you followed the rules, something good would happen? David, an 11 year old boy is exactly doing that. In the book Eggs by Jerry Spinelli, David thinks that if he follows the simple rules in life, for example, holding a door for someone, or not awake when sun rises. That his mother will come back from the dead. David then comes across a laid back teenager named Primrose. With their adventures David learns new things, and Primrose makes a friend. David learns how to respect and to love. While Primrose finds out that everybody's guardian can be embarrassing, not just hers. The characters in the book are dynamic. They also have some drama, too. David's characteristics change throughout the book. He starts off as a scared little boy, than turns out to be an adventuress kid. David always rides his bike, and explores new things, he doesn't have that many friends to hang out with though. Primrose, a friend of David, and also a laid back teenager with long brown hair, usually up in two braids, is not afraid of that many things. She is also a dynamic character in the book. When David first met Primrose, he thought she was beautiful and nice. But that was before she tried scaring him. Primrose, is more of a prankster teen than a nice and loving one. Primrose's best friend is also a nice man is,Refrigerator John, is a mechanic that fixes Primrose's junk or broken house hold items. Primrose feels that David is a scared kid, and she has to help him get over his fears. David is afraid, he now lives with his grandmother because his mother died. He starts ignoring his grandmother for dumb reasons. Same with Primrose. Primrose's mother is a future teller, and Primrose feels that her mother is embarrassing. The characters share a bond in the book. Eggs is a wonderful book to read for all ages. The amazing author, Jerry Spinelli tells great details and includes wonderful description of the characters. The book has gotten wonderful reviews from The Bulletin, Entertainment Weekly, Publishers Weekly, and more. The start of the book is excellent, its pulling in the reader, and makes the reader wanting to continue reading on. It's a good book because it has excellent details, it has adventures and its a book that has lessons.
koolaid125 More than 1 year ago
If you like books about friendship and adventure, you'll want to read Eggs by Jerry Spinelli. This book is awesome. This book is about a boy named David and a girl named Primrose. David lives with his grandmother, who acts like his mother and he does not like that. Primrose lives in an old van. Her mom is a psychic. David's grandmother makes him go to an Easter egg hunt. He starts to pick up an egg sitting on a pile of leaves, and he sees lips. Primrose was hiding under all the leaves. And that's the beginning of a beautiful friendship! David sneaks out of his window at night, and he and Primrose go on adventures together. Some nights they walk down the streets with a wagon. They dig through trash and find things that Refrigerator John can fix. They sell them at the flea market to get money. Other nights they go hunting for night crawlers, which are long worms that you catch at night. Their friendship has brought them close together. They are almost like brother and sister. David and Primrose have both lost a loved one. David lost his mother and he barely sees his father. Primrose doesn't know where her father is and she doesn't like her mother. I would recommend this book to people in 5th grade and up, who like books about adventure and friendship. You have to go out and buy this book. It is a must read book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was just randomly searching for something to read, when I come across a book with no name on the cover. I pick it up, and check it out, as any random and ignorant person. When I got home, I (Finally) read the back. Starting the book today, and ending today, I could not put it down! Primrose has got to be my favorite character! Her bossy personality always makes me laugh. Overall, this was one of the best books I've ever read. I reccomend this for random searchers ad anyone else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love david badly!!!!!! :):);)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is just awesome in all the right ways. I just love it so much even when he was talking to the girl with glittery purple eye shadow and the only egg he could find in her mouth. Wich personaly i think was his mother. My family is very amazed at how i can understand this book being that i am only 11years old. Im not finnish but i cant wait to!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it!!!! I could read this twice and it will still be great;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts out confusing and mysterious but later you kind of figure things out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this in what....fifth grade. Totally forgot the story line but ik i looooooved it! Reading it soon. Love this author.(along with Wendy Mass!!!!!)
Peter Wagner More than 1 year ago
its very decriptive awesmome book READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!'!!! :D :):) :)
Anabella Seligson More than 1 year ago
great book
Kyla Lepine More than 1 year ago
this book about how 2 kids come together as friends is eggsellent!
Madison Devlin More than 1 year ago
eggs is one of the best books
Ayla Boykin More than 1 year ago
Great book!!!!!!!!!
megarie More than 1 year ago
one of my favorite books by far.
Tammy Enea More than 1 year ago
this is a great book that i recommend for all ages!!!!! --- nina 6 grade
Kiana Altamirano More than 1 year ago
Really good book i enjoyed reading it!!!!!!
Jerellen Wilkerson More than 1 year ago
heartwarming, sad at times, and a good laugh! this was a book that you should definitely check out!!! ---Mikayla, 6th gr.
Kali Duarte More than 1 year ago
I read this in third grade now in fifth i love this book because it is soooo touching i couldnt handle my wonderful mother getting killed.