×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eiffel's Tower: The Thrilling Story Behind Paris's Beloved Monument and theExtraordinary World's Fair That Introduced It
     

Eiffel's Tower: The Thrilling Story Behind Paris's Beloved Monument and theExtraordinary World's Fair That Introduced It

3.8 59
by Jill Jonnes
 

See All Formats & Editions

The story of the world-famous monument and the extraordinary world’s fair that introduced it, by the author of Conquering Gotham and Urban Forests

In this first general history of the Eiffel Tower in English, Jill Jonnes-acclaimed author of Conquering Gotham-offers an eye- opening look not only at the construction of one of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eiffel's Tower 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
cannonball More than 1 year ago
A truly enjoyable book filled with fascinating characters having fun at the 1889 Paris Exposition. The book details how Eiffel overcame waves of criticism to build the world's tallest building, and it visits Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show -an extravaganza across town that drew huge crowds. Thomas Edison also makes an appearance hawking his new, improved phonograph; and artists Paul Gauguin and James Whistler maneuver to have their paintings on display. The book is easy to read, and makes a great prequel to Erik Larson's The Devil in the White City.
pgmetoo More than 1 year ago
In this book the construction of the Eiffel Tower is the lead story with the World Exposition for which the tower was built as a worthy companion subject. The stories are treated well with impressive research and interior pictures but there exists a disconnection, a lack of easy ebb and flow between the subjects. The information is plentiful and the prose is easy but the writing doesn't reach a thrilling or absorbing character. This book didn't become a page turning can't put it down experience. My three star rating is hesitantly rounded up from an average of two and a half.
DuctorCE More than 1 year ago
If you had a head for heights in 1886, you would not have been without a job. If you were American, you could have helped with the construction of the Statue of Liberty. An Englishman, Tower Bridge; but in France only Frenchmen could work on the construction of the Eiffel Tower. Today we tend to take these iconic landmarks for granted, but 123 years ago, they were modern marvels. This fact is not lost on Jill Jonnes in her highly detailed and beautifully written work, Eiffell's Tower. The 1063 foot tower was the tallest construction in the world until the Chrysler Building in 1930. Even so, it was the tallest building in France until the Millau Viaduct was built in 2004. The brainchild of Gustave Eiffel, it was intended to be the focus and centre piece of the 1889 World Fair at Paris; and it was. It did not start out that way however. Many were the critics and detractors particularly those who lived within its environs. Gustave Eiffell had to personally indemnify many in order to get the construction started. One demand of the authorizing committee was that all labour and material had to be French. This was fine until they needed elevators. The only company that could propel an elevator up over a 1000 feet, and bring it back safely, was the Otis Elevator Company of America. Jonne's description of the testing of the 'fail-safe braking' is breath taking. Eiffell's insistence of all things French, caused great consternation between the two companies, resulting in litigation. America, however, could not have been too unhappy with Mr. Eiffell as they used his Chief Engineer Maurice Koechlin to design and build the internal structure of the Statue of Liberty. One could be forgiven for thinking that 354 pages about a cast iron tower would be of interest only to civil engineers: but one would be very wrong. Ms Jonnes, has interwoven the practicalities of tower building with intricate details of the lives of celebrities who visited the World Fair and Tower. One is constantly intrigued by these snippets of information. Eiffle's Tower is a book that keeps on giving. The pace of interest never slackens even to the last chapter where Jonnes winds up the stories of the featured celebs. I highly recommend this work, and will seek out more of Jill Jonne's work.
Colorado_Native More than 1 year ago
Eiffel's Tower is an entertaining and educational trip through time. Meeting characters-some literally-like Eiffel, Thomas Edison, the Van Gogh brothers and the entire Buffalo Bill Wild West Show cast made this book a pleasure to read. Jill Jonnes is a good storyteller who does not lose the reader as the cast of characters expands as time and the event that ties them all together is never lost. I look forward to reading this book again in the future to pick up those tidbits I didn't find on the first go-around.
JoBee93 More than 1 year ago
It gave me quite a thrill to read this book in front of the ET. Because of Jonnes' vivid descriptions I felt as though I was actually at the fair! The book was so interesting, involving, and well-written that I had to ration my reading of it so I wouldn't inhale it at one sitting. I wanted it to last. Jonnes is a terrific storyteller.. the prose flows as though it wrote itself. I can't wait to read it again!
N-ruiz More than 1 year ago
I am a sophomore in high school, and was assigned to do a research project on Gustave Eiffel. Eiffel's Tower by Jill Jonnes, talks about the hardships and struggles that Gustave Eiffel, a prosperous engineer, had to go through before building the famous Eiffel Tower. Before reading this book the only thing I knew was that he had the same last name as the Eiffel Tower. This book gave many details and went in depth about Gustave's life. I enjoyed the way Jonnes used imagery that drew a picture and depicted certain parts of France, in which I had never seen before. One thing that bothered me about this book is that it contains many details about construction, that it gets tiring while reading, but I did learn new terms that I didn't know before. Another thing that bothered me was that there were French words in this book, and I don't speak French, so I had to go on the internet and research it. I wish that there would have been a dictionary in the back, not only notes. This book was actually helpful in finding out facts about Gustave Eiffel, and overall, I enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it to someone else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a high school sophomore and I read this book for my English research project. Eiffel's Tower by Jill Jonnes is a well written book, that was easy to read. This book covers Gustave Eiffel and World Fair of 1889. The book also had the stories about Buffalo Bill, Thomas Edison, and Annie Oakley. I liked reading about them, but I wish there were more stories on Gustave Eiffel. The book also mentions all the troubles Gustave Eiffel went through to create the Eiffel Tower. The book was also pretty long which makes you feel like you have been reading for a long time. But the pictures the book has gets you through it. Eiffel's Tower by Jill Jonnes contains many dates and it talks about all the people involved with Gustave Eiffel which is very good information to have. This book also covers the personal and career life of Gustave Eiffel. Overall I would not really recommend this book if you are a procrastinator, but if you are not then this book would really help you learn about Gustave Eiffel.
m-gomez More than 1 year ago
I am a sophomore in high school and I am required to read this book for a reasearch project. In this Jill Jonnes mentions some information about Gustave Eiffel’s life. A part of the book that it seemed was boring and dull was when they were talking about Gustave’s friends lives and it also discusses the lives of people that went to the World Fair which I thought was not important. Another part that I thought was not important was when the book describes who was at the World Fair such as art dealers and Buffalo Bill who had a “French love affair” with the Wild West. The book also goes into depth about the workers’ lives that had worked on the Eiffel Tower. I mostly enjoyed the parts where it mentioned Gustave’s life and what he had to go through to reach success in the end. My favorite part of the book would be when  it would describe Eiffel’s life, his thoughts when he would be building his different works, his masterful achievements and even on his  personal life, which I thought was really interesting. The information that Jill Jonnes put in about Gustave’s personal life was inspiring and  motivating because it shared what type of life that Gustave had before the fame he got from the Eiffel Tower. Overall, this book was very informative and I learned a lot about Gustave’s life and his family and where he grew up. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This a terrific book--very entertaining & so well written.  While it's a history of the Eiffel Towers inception & construction, it is also a brilliant cultural of the Belle Époque.  I strongly recommend this marvelous book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a fascinating account of engineering and design feat...and Americans and Europeans involved with the tower and the world's fair.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
none123 More than 1 year ago
Paris is on my bucket list for travels The story of the event and construction of the tower is amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago