×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eighteen Acres
     

Eighteen Acres

3.6 112
by Nicolle Wallace
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the former Communications Director for the White House and current political media strategist comes a suspenseful and smart commercial novel about the first female president and all dramas and deceptions she faces both in politics and in love.

Eighteen Acres, a description used by political insiders when referring to the White House complex,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eighteen Acres 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 112 reviews.
NovelChatter More than 1 year ago
"Eighteen Acres" is the story of three women: Charlotte Kramer, the 45th President of the United States, her White House Chief of Staff, Melanie Kingston, and TV network White House Correspondent, Dale Smith. All are powerful, smart and savvy. They are living on the edge of an explosive world. One mistake or scandal will bring chaos to them personally as well as to citizens globally. Rumors of infidelity within the White House threaten to expose questionable weaknesses in the President's judgment. Mishandling of the situation when an attack on the President's helicopter causes further concerns about her judgment regarding the people she's put in powerful positions, people whose mistakes could cost the American people their security. As President Kramer struggles to ignite her re-election campaign, forces are in motion to keep this from happening. "Eighteen acres" is a term politicos use when speaking of the White House complex. As a former communications director for President Bush and a political media strategist and a campaign advisor for John McCain and Sarah Palin, author Nicolle Wallace certainly knows her way around those eighteen acres very well. She's given us an insider's view of what it's like on the other side of the security fences as we look into the private areas in the White House and at the presidential get-away, Camp David. Wallace's behind- the-scenes action also takes us into the back-stabbing manipulation that happens within the media and print news arena. While I expected more of a political thriller, I found the story compelling and an interesting read. Ms. Wallace writes characters that the reader can care about and become invested in. I did find the heavy focus on expensive designer name products a bit off putting coming from people in such high power positions. Am I nitpicking? Maybe. But such name dropping is both distracting and unnecessary in a book of this genre. I do recommend Eighteen Acres. It's a fun fast read, with a nice flow through story about what it would be like to have the first woman president. I expected a bit more conflict and complexity, but all in all, Ms. Wallace has written a great first novel. I'll look forward to what she does next!
61yanks More than 1 year ago
Three women and the their lives within the most powerful 18 acres on earth! This is not something the mainstream media will promote as Wallace does not do enough conservative or liberal bashing to warrant their 15 seconds, however, as an avid reader, I could not put this book down, and I am a 50 plus year-old male. She tells a great story about life's triumphs and the sometime consequences that go along with power and money. Although Wallace allows us to experience pain and sorrow, she never really paints a character as evil or hateful, they all are flawed to some extent, and you end up cheering for each one to find their true happiness and as in real life, some do and some don't. In conclusion, I only wish I had two friends like Brooke and Mark!
AOPH More than 1 year ago
Story plot ok but didn't have the depth of details to make one feel any real suspense or appreciation of the complexity of the president and her staff. Needs help from Aaron Sorkin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected a more interesting book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put this book down - a must read for anyone interested in a great political drama!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Weak story line and poorly written including the many grammatical mistakes.
pagemage More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this. A light read. Entertainment for a lazy day.
bethlovesagoodbook More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book because it was entertaining with a touch of politics. It's a great book for a lazy day at the beach or day off work. Women will like it more than men and I really enjoyed the character of Melanie.
mousetater More than 1 year ago
This is one of the few eBooks I would buy at a price above $9.99 and it was well worth it. It started out a little slow as most character development was in the first chapter or two. But after that it really takes off and was hard to put down. I was disappointed when it came to an end, and I would love to read a sequel.
tallygal721 More than 1 year ago
I found it was one I did not want to lay down. Well written and Nicolle write on please!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Maria. Age: One does not ask a lady her age. Gender: Um... Appearance: short brown hair, colour changing eyes, sort of skinning and lanky. Persona: Nice, but kind of nervous about public speaking. She can worry a lot; has been known to break down into hysterical sobs and huddle in a corner during misty days. Job: works at the radio station; sort of an excesutive assistant/manager-type-person-thing. Rank: see prior. RPer: Y. P. F. Jordan Other: Ask! P.S. if some of this doesn't match the story exactly I will happily correct it!
Madriver More than 1 year ago
This book is OK, but is not the political thriller I expected. I'm being generous with the 3 stars, because it was an entertaining book to read on a quiet weekend when I'm willing to suspend reality for a while. It's not even all that realistic, and I'm not talking about the concept of a woman as president or women as the nominated candidates of both parties (although that in itself is far-fetched; seriously, does anyone really think that the Republicans would elect a woman as president?). The central "crisis" of the book is unbelievable (the helicopter crash and subsequent investigation) as is the president's reveal of an affair her husband is having with a network news anchor. And then there's the president' Chief of Staff and other staff members, who are very involved with the re-election effort, writing speeches and such, in violation of election laws. I got this at the library because it precedes Wallace's next book, that I picked up at a library book sale. I'm not expecting a great novel, but hoping that it's entertaining on a cold night.
Joyachiever More than 1 year ago
Eighteen Acres by Nicolle Wallace captures the energy and imagination of what the United States would potentially look like (albeit through a fictional lense) if a woman became the next President of the United States (the character of Charlotte Kramer). What also adds intrigue to Eighteen Acres is that the characters are written in a way that a person can easily imagine how the character might be if they were a real life version of what is written in Eighteeen Acres. For instance, the character of Melanie Kingston has been working in the White House for the past 14 years as the book opens (it is listed that she has been working there since she was 23 years old). Melanie Kingston was now White House Chief of Staff in the book and she had previous experience as a press secretary. For some reason, I can easily see her in real-life having both friends from both the political and academic circles within the Washington D.C. area and have friends ranging in backgrounds as diverse as songwriters, authors, and maybe even radio DJ’.s. Last, but not least, I can probably see a character such as Melanie Kingston participate in and eventually run a local Toastmaster’s chapter near wherever she lives (after she is no longer working in the White House). That is an example of how fleshed out the characters are made to be (in a positive way). Pop culture references also abound in the book such as with Dior bag, Tori Amos, Natalie Merchant, the Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, the New York Times, and The Washington Journal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the interaction of the women in this book. Not usually a daytime TV viewer or The View fan but I have been impressed with Wallace on this show. She is the calm sane one in the mist of all the craziness. Because of this, I bought all of her books and am looking forward to her next ones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful characters that come alive. It is great to see a story with women in such powerful government positions taking on problems and dealing with them in realistic ways. "Eighteen Acres" is the first book in this trilogy. If you enjoyed this book then read #2-"It's Classified" and #3 "Madame President".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CBW50 More than 1 year ago
Heard about the book when Ms. Wallace was on MSNBC. Truly enjoyed the book and Ms. Wallace's ability to tell a great story. Liked it so much, has to read "It's Confidential".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story of politics~ 18 acres is the White House.....a good simple, love story as well; Nicole write well & gives you some insight into DC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago