×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eli
     

Eli

4.7 48
by Bill Myers
 

See All Formats & Editions

What If Jesus Had Not Come Until Today? Who Would Follow Him? Who Would Kill Him?

A fiery car crash hurls TV journalist Conrad Davis into another world exactly like ours except for one detail—Jesus Christ did not come 2,000 years ago, but today.

Starting with angels heralding a birth in the back of a motel laundry room, the skeptical Davis watches the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eli 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only because I trust the work of Bill Myers did I opt to read this book. I was not sure how he was going to weave the critical points of a common history well known from the Bible and various secondary sources we may know of. To stretch out a timeline in having our Saviour's birth in the 1960's. Really? But something important happens between the complexities of reality; lives interact and are driven by their consequences of actions. Jesus meets them honestly. There are questions. There is space between the words in treating the reader as individuals, not as pew warmers listening to a sermon pulled from archives. What I love about this book is that Myers isn't really trying to rewrite the NT, but date us to dust it off, open it up, and simply breathe it back into where it belongs. It is a book which needs a second reading,becauseit is so easy to slip over many of the gems in search of the greater message of hope, and to see whom, why, and how rescue comes. There is nothing boring about this book. Enjoy.
reading-granny More than 1 year ago
Eli Shepherd was born in a laundry room behind a Calivornia motel in the 1970's. Alerted to the event by a light in the sky and voices (presumed to be aliens), a group of hippies attended the birth. Does this sound strangely familiar? In Eli, by Bill Myers, the main character is a reporter named Conrad. He has a serious car accident and wakes up in a parallel universe to our own in which everything is the same except that Jesus of Nazareth wasn't born 2000 years ago. In this world, a strange young man is touring America with a band of misfits in motor homes, challenging the established religious authorities, befriending the poor, healing the sick, and inconveniently fitting nobody's mold. What will modern America's response be to this tactless, self-proclaimed Messiah? What will become of Eli Shepherd, of Conrad, and of the band of unwashed, working-class followers? How different are we from the first century Judeans? This novel offers its own thought-provoking answers, and as you read, you might find yourself also offering your own. Fascinating!
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
What if Jesus had not come until today? Who would follow Him? Who would kill Him? Conrad Davis, well known TV journalist is about to get a very unexpected view at his life in two different realities. We have always known that the biggest news story will be the lead story, the one with the most drama, the most impact, the one with a shock and awe to it. Yet Conrad Davis has been searching all his life for the perfect story that will take his life to new levels. That of a success, more money, more prestige, and more fame. So when all his attempts come back with less than pleasing results and even a degree of being mocked by his fellow co-workers, Conrad sets up a meeting with a man who may be able to prove that dual realities exist right alongside our present one. However, an unexpected accident is about to change things and put into motion a life alternating one. Conraid is about to see things in two different worlds. While he lays completely on life support in a coma, awaiting the arrival of his daughter Julia who will ultimately decide if her dad needs to remain in the hospital or end his life as executor of his will, he will go back in time to the late 60's. A time when the world will be changed forever by the birth of a baby in a laundry mat. His name is Eli and he's about to show the world how much love can change things and make a life worth living. A life that one is even willing to die for. I received the book Eli by Bill Myers, from my husband Steven for my birthday this year. I wanted this book after reading The God Haters and had to see for myself if one book could completely change a person just after one reading. I had to say I wasn't convinced at first as so many books, I've read have changed you emotionally by pulling at your heart strings, but in Eli, I got to see life through the eyes of what our world would have been like if a man like Eli walked among us. How his ultimate sacrifice and teaching through stories along the way would affect me like never before. People have read the Bible and sometimes don't see the relevance in reading stories that happened so long ago and can't fathom seeing it taking place now, but Bill Myers has masterfully through a divine hand, made this possible. Through a modern re-telling of the story of Jesus, we are drawn like a moth to a flame to seeing things through fresh eyes in our own world today. All I can say is that each word will hold you to the last page, the final word and the final tear falls from your eyes as if you heard it for the very first time. This one rates well outside of the 5 star rating and deserves a much 10 out 10 eternal stars for making such a huge impact in my own life. I truly never saw the story coming out the way Bill shares and must applaud him for one of the best books I've read besides the Bible. I can't wait to share this book with others who I know will see it from a new perspective. This comes as a MUST READ, one you won't regret reading and one that will change you forever! This would be a great book to share with this generation of youth that can finally see the relation between this world and one with Eli!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a while back and absolutely was floored by how it made me see things. It put things into reality in terms of today. This is a must read, I know I would love to own it someday.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS BOOK! BEST ONE EVER! My friend Chris, who has never been remotly intrested in reading(he hadn't read a book in 4 years). Saw Eli on my desk and read the back and said 'IM GONNA BORROW THIS!' Now he enjoys reading, and its all thanks to Bill Myers
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!! I'm 12 and and I really enjoyed it. I've recently been studying the some of the miracles Jesus did and was very pleased with Myers interpertation of them. For example, the fishes and loaves miracle became the burgers and fries miracle. I picked up this book in hopes of pleasing my reading teacher (who has been nagging me about reading books more at my level)and found that I couldn't put it down. An excellent book and highly recomended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although it took me nearly three years to get through the entire book due to losing it several times, I consider it one of my favorites. The disciples are so blatantly shown as simply themselves (sinners like the rest of us), and Eli (Jesus) became a real person while maintaining His Diety as described in the Bible. The relationships between Eli and his disciples are real and endearing, and I was in tears more than once; not from sappiness, but from the written tenderness of my Savior told in a different time and a different style. The story, of course, is not Biblical...but remains true to the basis of the best love story ever told!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't like to read books but as soon as I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. Bill Myers gets you hooked early and keeps you hooked all the way until the end. He really gets you thinking with this book. Thank you, Bill Myers, for being an amazing author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best fiction books I have ever read, Christian or otherwise. I found it very well-written and highly entertaining.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a truly awesome book, and has a wonderful plot! It starts off with a journalist who gets into a car crash, and carries him into the 'parallel universe'. There are only a few minor differences between the two worlds, and one major. Jesus had not come 2,000 years ago, but today. This story brings a new twist to the famous life of Jesus. It helps you relate more to Christ, and helps you understand a lot more. The ending of this book is truly heart-wrenching, and even made me cry. Bill Myers has made a wonderful book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bill Myers has blessed us all with this amazing book. I continue to read it and it gets better every time. Jesus is right there with us...always. He's not some disconnected thing just up in the clouds watching us. He loves us so deeply and wants us to understand that love. This book strips away the argument that the Bible is "outdated" or "just too confusing" to live by in today's world. Many thanks to Bill Myers for allowing God to speak through him to reach all of us. BEWARE: When reading this book at the laundromat, don't be surprised to find yourself weeping in front of the other laundry-doers!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The way that Bill Myers compares and shows the two worlds are amazing and the way that he adapts the presence and power of Jesus to the present is amazing.He truly never changes. A must!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. I read it once for myself and then decided it would be an excellent tool for teaching my junior high Sunday School class. It has helped them to understand the how the life of Jesus could just as easily have happened in our lifetime. As for myself, I have learned more and more as I study the book and parallel it to the actual bible. This is a must read for any Christian and for anyone else who is searching for the truth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fantastic novel. Makes you really understand what the apostles went through, and moreover, helped ME understand deeply how much it meant for Christ to die for me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So many people find reading the Bible boring, frankly, because we don't understand it. After all, we live in a completely different part of the world at a completely different time, how are we to understand ancient customs of the Middle East? This book puts all of this into modern-day American terms easily understood by most western countries. If you don't understand the Bible because of the culture shock, this is an excellent book to set you straight. It names the people who would follow Him, the people that would oppose Him, and the people that would kill Him. It just tells the same story the Gospels tell as if Jesus were born today. A very revolutionary technique!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not only did it impact me, but it changed my husband's way of thinking. It had an effect on his hard to kick drinking habit. No doubt, a book for everyone who has fallen and isn't sure they will be forgiven! This sets the record straight.
Guest More than 1 year ago
just read the book!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bill Myers is SUCH a gifted writer! This book really brings Jesus into our time...in such a thought provoking way. This book was so very well written...it just grabs you and won't let go. It makes you think about the Gospel story in such a modern way...Would you have followed Jesus if He came today? Or, would you have labeled Him a cult leader? And...this book is such an emotional ride...from the joy and love received in getting to know Jesus to the heartbreaking realization that He gave the ultimate gift for YOU...He died a horrible death...so you could live. Yes...this IS a fiction book...but it sure makes you 'feel' Jesus in such a real way. READ IT!
Anonymous 6 hours ago
Eli is one of my crush too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where were we? He said walking close to her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I AM LILA AND ELI AND I R INCHARGE BAR IS AT AFTER ELI MY ROOM IS AT ELI THE GOOD AND BIOS R AT RES TWELVE POOL AT RES NINE AND THE REST R FOR SEX THX FOR JOINING!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
5'11". Hair: brown hair. Eyes: brown. Personality: smart, fast, kind, likes both girls and boys. Wears: usually wears a black tank top and black miniskirt with a white lace bra and a thon.g.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The second half of the book really took off. Bitter sweet ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago