×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England 1544
     

Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England 1544

4.6 89
by Kathryn Lasky, Josephine Bailey (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions


Welcome to the bizarre court of Henry VIII, where even a princess fears losing her head like her mother. Elizabeth hides her tenacious personality from everyone, especially her father. Your 21st-century kid will enjoy Elizabeth's "treasonous thoughts" and glimpse the daily life of a young woman who ascended the throne at 25 and went on to rule her country for 45

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England, 1544 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 88 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. it was bit scary at times. I read it when i was younger, about ten maybe. It was good, and I like and respect Queen Elizabeth. like her, I will NEVER fall in love! She suffered so much! It was a very gory book and Im afraid of blood. Very interesting. My favorate part was May Day when she talked to Mandy. I cant beleive they drowned the poor kittens! Like Daisys kittens . . . . . . SO READ THIS BOOK! But I think that only girls will appreciate it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book I think it is fun,but then scary at times. To have your mother dead your dad having all these wives and never knowing what is going to happen.But is also a wonderful book i read the royal diaries all the time and I think they are really good books !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The last book that I have read is ELEANOR CROWN JEWEL OF AQUATINE. that is another great book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book and loved it!!I loved how the author wrote it and would definatly buy it!It tells you how elizabeth lived her life and how sad and how much pain she felt because her mother was hated and called a witch.I also felt bad about how mary treated her.It teaches so much history i couldnt put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
it could have not been better.it is awe inspiring.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this diary when I was eight, but stopped because I couldn't tell what went on and kept getting lost with King Henry's wives. Even though I kept looking at the chart, I still had no idea which wife was being talked about. When I reread the story at an older age, I understood the it entirely. The book begins with Elizabeth exiled at Hatfield. It made me depressed how much she suffered and longed for her Father's attention. Even after returning to court, she still underwent terrible troubles and insults by her sister Mary (aka y Mary). Her friends, Lady Jane Grey and her brother, helped her endure some of her troubles. The book ends with her father's and Edward's coronation. Katharyn Lasky writes the book in such a way that you emotionaly feel Elizabeth's pain and stress. Espeshely when her father dies and the kingdom is in turmoil over who should rule. I felt for Elizabeth in that time, for who would want a cruel sister who s you aand only wants you ? I enjoyed this diary, as I have enjoyed all of them. but I must say I have read better ones but that is just my opinion. For those who have not read this book, I do recommend they read a copy.
kittykat2002 More than 1 year ago
i think it was good 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Baroque_Musician More than 1 year ago
I can't remember when I first got my hands on this book, but I went head over heels in love with it! I've read it over and over again, in spite of ageing. It is certainly one of my most favorite books ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago