×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Elska (Horse Diaries Series #1)
     

Elska (Horse Diaries Series #1)

4.3 105
by Catherine Hapka
 

See All Formats & Editions

Iceland, circa AD 1000

Elska is a silver dapple Icelandic filly. She spends summers frisking about the countryside and winters in the farmyard, where the girl human Amma takes special care of her. But when a powerful neighbor notices Elska, her contented life suddenly changes. Here is Elska’s story . . . in her own words.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Elska (Horse Diaries Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
ELSKA is a horse story like no other. Mainly because this story comes straight from the horse's mouth. That's right; Hapka lets Elska tell her own story. The book begins with Elska's birth and follows her as she grows and learns the way of an Icelandic mare. Jump into this book and follow this magnificent horse through training, growing, and even a daring rescue. Reading ELSKA took me back to my childhood when I read horse books by Marguerite Henry. I have to say, I enjoyed Hapka's story as much today as I would have back then . . . maybe more. If you have a horse lover in your life, trot on out and pick up a copy of this book for them. I am passing this book on to my nine-year-old and I'm sure she'll love it. I look forward to future HORSE DIARIES books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recomend this book for all horse and pony lovers every where. This is a story of a young pony and her owner. I will let you find out the rest because this should remain an adventure for you! Hope you like the book like I did!
Glen Akins More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 5th grade because I couldn't find a book that I settled with. I started the series and now don't won't to stop!A very good book for horse lovers! I would give it a try if you have loved horses and wanted them to tell you a story I would give this book a try!
Sarah Breyer More than 1 year ago
i read this book over 5 times and i loved this book
Marley Leonard More than 1 year ago
i've read it alot and its amazing!
M_Johnson More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So cool u will love it totaly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book but i read it in like 26 minutes!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is NOT SOME STUPID NOT-REVIEW LIKE ONE OF THOSE FIRESTAR CLAN DUDES. If you are one of them, stop it and tell your other little buddies too. This is a very very very very very very very very very good book. I recommend it for you even if you dont like horses. Listen to me. Please.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that its an awesome book avnd that every girl should toatally have a chance to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great. Also try dog diares.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is great!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was really good, but i wish it was longer and had more details about the horses life. Otherwise, good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have the book in real life. It is so awsome the picturs are fab and way it make you get instrested in it. I do recommed this to childeren who love horses. I'am a child that love horses,it's one of my favoret animal to read and learn about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can not what tell i can read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horseclan. *the shecat paces anxiously* It was here. Where is it ? I remember Lilystar, Servaljump... i grew up here!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want this book for my nook but i know i like it beacause i read the hardcover book of this from my library
RICHARD CHENG More than 1 year ago
read!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous 3 days ago
I love how many people have this book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horse diarys are one of my favorite series. U have read all if them up to jinngel bells. I really want to read the rest but i do not have the mony:( I guess i will have to wait. - Carina
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book like three times, it is so good!!! The worst in the series is Black Cloud, so sad!:( The best in the series is Elska, great book!:) Anyways, bye!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another horse diaries book that is really good is Yatimah!!! The worst one in the series is Blackcloud!#sad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book! It is sooo cool! I've read it like a milion times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was the best!