×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Emory's Gift
  • Alternative view 1 of Emory's Gift
  • Alternative view 2 of Emory's Gift
     

Emory's Gift

4.7 56
by W. Bruce Cameron
 

See All Formats & Editions

From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, which is now a major motion picture!

After thirteen-year-old Charlie Hall's mother dies and his father retreats into the silence of grief, Charlie finds himself drifting lost and alone through the brutal halls of junior high school.

But

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Emory's Gift 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
MidwestAnimalLover More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to get a hold of an ARC of this amazing book. I was already a fan of A Dog's Purpose, and was nervous to read this because I wondered if I would like it as much as I had loved the other. I shouldn't have bothered to worry as this book is as good, and yet totally different from A Dog's Purpose. Mostly what I am left with is the spiritual profundity of this book's message. Not to plot spoil, but for me, this book is truly a Christian allegory, another way of seeing how messages of complete love and spiritual enlightenment can become complicated in this oh-so-flawed human world. Something about the purity of the animals that Cameron chooses to tell stories with and through helps these universal messages of love he conveys to shine through. And it's funny! And it's sweet...and it's so very romantic, in the kind of real-life flawed and awkward way that makes you believe these characters are as true and real as anyone you've ever met. I devoured this and can't wait for whatever this author has coming up next. I'm a huge fan and I am SO thrilled to have read this! More, Mr. Cameron, more!
PattyCakeLady More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to read the blockbuster "A Dog's Purpose" before it became a huge bestseller, and I guess now it's going to be a huge movie from Dreamworks. Because of that, they let me read W. Bruce Cameron's newest novel early, and I have to say, though I'm a huge A Dog's Purpose fan, it's possible I loved this one even more. The unexpected plot twists kept me turning pages on this one long after I'd decided to put the book down for the night. I was swept up in the stories of the characters, who are all so realistically drawn I came to feel as if I knew them in real life. This is the story of a father and his son who grapple with the need to move on with their lives after the death of the woman who was holding the family together. A chance encounter with a grizzly bear changes everything-the boy and his father must save the bear, and, in so doing, learn to be a family again. Just as A Dog's Purpose was told in the voice of a real dog, Emory's Gift is told in the voice of a real 13-year-old-boy. His take on things is often hilarious (he seems to have a crush on just about every girl in his life) and yet rings utterly true when he faces the challenges of being an eighth grader, with all of its attendant social agonies. Bottom line: I laughed many times reading this beautifully written book, but also I cried tears of joy and recognition. This novel is an utter delight. Note: The spiritual themes in this book are even deeper and more profound than those in A Dog's Purpose. Cameron is one of the few novelists out there who isn't afraid to talk about big issues, God, the meaning of life, the nature of faith. It's courageous in a literary climate where the big trends are toward everything being depressing, and "dystopian." I like to read a book that uplifts me, and makes me think. Cameron keeps turning them out! This one will satisfy me until the sequel of A Dog's Purpose comes out...can't wait!
iamchase More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutely fantastic! I was a huge fan of "A Dog's Purpose," written by the same author, and I can say without reservation that this one is every bit as satisfying. I am always nervous when an author I like decides to go in a different direction like this, but "Emory's Gift" is proof in my eyes that this author has more stories to tell. Personally, I'll be reading W. Bruce Cameron novels as long as he writes them. As for this book, it was an unexpected treasure. It hooks you from word one, immediately interesting, keeping your interest throughout and leaves you yearning for more. It is the type of book that you'll contemplate re-reading the moment you finish. Like his last one, this book is a joy to read, the characters are very real and easy to connect with, and by the end you'll feel the way you do after a long vacation; it is refreshing and moving, you'll laugh and cry and you'll return to your life with a new and wonderful perspective. It reminds me of the books that first got me hooked on reading as a young man. Novels like "Ender's Game" and "Catcher in the Rye" come to mind. It takes a book of exceptionally high quality and readability to get someone reading at that time of life, and this one is of that caliber, without a doubt. I wish I had a young person to buy it for! Do yourself a favor and buy two copies of "Emory's Gift." One to keep for yourself and one to give away, you won't regret it.
BookHounds More than 1 year ago
Much like A Dog's Purpose, Emory's Gift explores reincarnation. Shortly after 13-year-old Charlie's mom dies from cancer, he is walking in the woods near his home in Idaho and comes face to face with a cougar. Just when the cougar is ready to pounce, it backs off and Charlie finds himself staring down a grizzly bear. Instead of being attacked, Charlie finds himself making a connection with the bear, which follows him home. The bear sticks around and starts to communicate with Charlie. The story unfolds around their relationship and what happens is nothing short of a leap of faith. The bear has a simple message of faith to deliver which of course causes a commotion in the small town. The message of this story, while a bit religious, is something that will fill you with hope. It left me feeling very happy and hopeful. There is a lot of quiet humor in the book as well and the portrayal of Charlie as a teen is just perfect. The page turning moment hit me around page 200. The story just clicked and I became so caught up, I couldn't put it down until I finished it. This is a good clean read and is probably suitable for older teens.
enchantedMC More than 1 year ago
This wonerful book is appropiate for any age and I challenge any reader to stop reading. I stayed up 'til 2 a.m to finish. It is a tender story, with agonizing suspense. Shed a few tears but don't give up. You will love Emory!!!!
Anonymous 14 days ago
Anonymous 18 days ago
Nice
Anonymous 8 months ago
Dfh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A turnpager with an unanticipaced, but thoughful ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The ship fell into the surface of the planet, and most of the life-forms on it did not survive. <p> It had carried many various fauna and flora from the planets around this place; the planet that its inhabbitants call 'Earth'. The planet of which they say 'welcome' on every broadcast they send out, but nobody would ever go there because they shoot everyone down and disect them if they manage to land. Primitave, savage creatures. <p> The ship had been collecting various animals from many different inhabited planets. It had been brought here to pick up a rooster, some racoons, and a female and male lion, but an error had ocurred and caused it to crash. Why would they be collecting these animals? For science on their planet; so that they could teach the younglings. <br> The only survivors were a cholopanther (from Taezis) and her cub. <br> What is a cholopanther? Imagine a mountain lion. Now remove fur and skin folds, replace it with a tight, dark blue, slightly-translucent, very thick, skin that can glow at will. Put venom in the fangs, claws, and a retractable, needle stinger at the end of the tail. <br> Actually, they are kinda cute. Like a real-live pok&eacute<_>mon or something. No? No. <p> (It's a bit short, but prologues are not my specialty.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Smart, funny, and unabashedly poignant, this is a story of a motherless, brother - less young boy, and how he manages to use an exciting incident to get through another day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
CMKmom More than 1 year ago
This is a story about a young boy who is befriended by a grizzly bear. The bear paints a message in the boys barn and an uproar ensues. All of this time, the boy is in eighth grade and living through to horrors of middle school. He has also just lost his mother to cancer, and is in grief about her death. Bruce Cameron wrote a gentle story about growing up and learning about life. I didn't realize that I had read his first book, A Dogs Purpose until I got to the end of Emory's Gift. Both are folksy and gentle books in their way. I read a LOT - all kinds of books - but it is rare to run into such a heart-felt story with the feeling of a fairy tale about it. This isn't a shoot 'em up book, or a sexy novel, or a mystery, just a sweet story that is about life. A sort of "take a break from reality" book. I don't know if you will like it or not. I will just say I loved this book! I would recommend either of this author's books highly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are 705 pages in this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I throughly enjoyed this book. As i have a dog purpose, a dogs journey and now the dogs of christmas db michigan, 2013
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all three of these wonderful books!  All of them are so moving and meaningful, and I am convinced they are true stories. I can't wait for my grandchildren to be old enough to read them and appreciate them, too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is heartwarming, funny and touching and though it was a large book I finished way too fast - this is an excellent book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crosbie More than 1 year ago
"Emory's Gift" is a very pleasant & heartwarming story. W. Bruce Cameron is one of the better authors, especially with the young adult and animal-inspired genres. I enjoyed this book, as I did his other books, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody & would certainly read any book he writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down, every page is exiting and keeps you thinking. I absoulutley loved this book! I recomend this book to anybody because it is SO good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are 705 pages but they are worth it