×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Empire (Orson Scott Card's Empire Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Empire (Orson Scott Card's Empire Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Empire (Orson Scott Card's Empire Series #1)
     

Empire (Orson Scott Card's Empire Series #1)

3.6 102
by Orson Scott Card
 

See All Formats & Editions

The American Empire has grown too fast, and the fault lines at home are stressed to the breaking point. The war of words between Right and Left has collapsed into a shooting war, though most people just want to be left alone.

The battle rages between the high-technology weapons on one side, and militia foot-soldiers on the other, devastating the cities, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Empire 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 102 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The two extremes in the USA have reached a point of hatred that threatens the fiber of the country. Neither extremist group wants to compromise because they believe that makes them seem weak. The vast center prefers harmony, but they are considered expendable pawns by the right and the left who each assume the mantle of righteousness. In this divisive world of hate, the final blows occur almost simultaneously. Terrorists kill the president, the vice president, the secretary of defense, and other VIPs leaving a chaotic nation without leaders. The right blames the left for being soft on Al Qaeda the Left blames the Right for failing to protect the infrastructure.------------- Major Reuben Malich was near White House when the rocket attack killed POTUS, and the Defense Secretary. Initially considered a hero for saving lives, soon Rube is accused of carrying out the assassination. With his new assistant Captain ¿Cole¿ Coleman and a few other trusted aides, Rube investigates and soon believes the recent assassinations is the first stage in a coup to turn America into a world dominating empire to outlast the five centuries of Rome. The 'Progressive Restoration' has begun as the second American Civil War has exploded into open hostilities.----------------- Extrapolating from the hatred that has divided the country, Orson Scott Card provides a cautionary futuristic science fiction thriller. The war seems a plausible outcome though the recent election controlled by the middle brings new hope that maybe we can get along. Readers will appreciate this powerful military thriller yet extremists on both sides will condemn Mr. Card for failing to take their opinion while missing the whole point of this strong thriller that either extreme could destroy the values of this country with their no compromise idealism.--------- Harriet Klausner
FlaRobb More than 1 year ago
The book was a very fun read but left, in my opinon, one big hole at the end. The question of who killed the president and how was not fully explained. However, it does provide a very good look into a possible future. Lastly the cover art and words do imply a much wider war front that is seen in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i'm a long time card fan and have read almost all of his books and empire was as good as many of them. however, it wasn't on the level of ender's game, speaker for the dead, seventh son, or ender's shadow. but you can't write a new york time's bestseller every time. having said that, i think that empire was a book worth reading. it is heavily drenched in american politics of a few years ago, but the real story is driven by fair-minded characters. people have complained that card was too biased in this novel but i didn't get that impression at all. and if it feels too much like a video game it's because card was writing a novelization of a video game with the same name.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite aread. Full of parallels to current politial situations. Exciting and every bit as gripping as his Ender novels. Card never disappoints.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So i reccomend getting the book, it amazingly depicts scenes settings and plots that just run rampant in your mind, BUT most people will not mention it is a sequal to enders game. John paul (j.p.) is the name of the wiggins father. Anotherbut though, four stars because i feel it is a thinly veiled attack on the left wing side of a political standpoint. Also lots of untied knots at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For a kid like me who doesn't care about politics it a great book
Godswork More than 1 year ago
Yes it's a book about a very possible future, one that many great nations time and again have represented. Days of chaos followed by a sturdy rule that would extend the life of the nation for a few more centuries. Why can't such a thing happen in the united states as well? Read the book and you will not regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book I have read by this author, and to my surprise it has become one of my favorite books. I have now ventured into the second of this duet series and hope it will be just as good.
iWrite16 More than 1 year ago
Being a fan of Orson Scott Card's, my expectations for this book were very high. Once again, Card has far surpassed my expectations! I would love to write a twenty page review complimenting Card's masterpiece, but I don't want to give anything away. Instead, I will just say this : READ IT. =)
Stapler More than 1 year ago
Another outstanding and creative read by Card! Let's hope his fiction remains fiction and not prophecy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is indeed right-wing slant in the novel, and this title, as Card's first thriller it cannot compete with the classic ones like Tom Clancy/Michael Critchton. But it is still an interesting novel with good imagination. Go read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Orson Scott Card is most indefinitely the best storytelling author since Lewis, Bradbury and that rare breed of writer. He maintains the tremendous style of writing which I have come to deeply enjoy. He is the best modern Science Fiction/Fantasy author of today. This book is a pure continuation of his talents. For those that desire a magnificent work of writing in general, select this masterpiece, and for any of you Orson Scott Card fans like myself, get this book IMMEDIATELY!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Captain Coleman 'Cole' is assigned as the new aide for Major Reuben 'Rube' Malich. However, Rube never comes into the office and never calls. His secretary, DeeNee, says she cannot help him. According to DeeNee, who has no way to contact him, Rube seldom shows at the office except to pick up messages and leave again. No one knows what Rube does or where he goes. DeeNee assures Cole that Rube knows he has arrived, but all he can do is stand around and wait for what could very well be days or weeks. Within minutes of Cole finally meeting Rube, chaos comes storming in! The Vice President is killed in an 'accidental' car wreck. Only few minutes later, the President and the Secretary of Defense dies when a rocket hits the west wing of the White House, at the very section the two were in a meeting. Everyone is calling Rube and Cole 'heroes'. Had they not been there and acted immediately, it would have been much, much worse. But the two heroes know that Rube is being set up to take the fall. .............. Rube has his wife and kids move in with a relative in West Windsor, New Jersey. Before joining them, Rube and Cole must meet up with Rube's old buddies from Special Ops for some serious brainstorming. The men have not been in New Jersey with the family half a day before chaos comes stomping (literally) back in. This time it is fourteen-foot-tall, bulletproof, heavily armed globes on mechanical legs. The mechs, along with gunmen on individual hovercrafts, succeed in seizing New York City and establishing the 'Progressive Restoration'. They claim to be restoring the government to what it should have been and even invite other cities and states to join them. It looks as though a second American Civil War has erupted. One side has high tech weapons. The other side has militia footmen, Rube, and Cole. .................. ***** Author David Weber is diabolical in writing books with military tactical maneuvers. Author Tom Clancy is clever in writing books with espionage. But author Orson Scott Card is brilliant in a way that is difficult to define. Card loudly attacks your physical senses, while at the same time he silently infiltrates your mind and twists your very way of thinking. The most horrifying part is that as I read, I could detect no flaw in the strategies. It is all perfect...and very possible. I strongly recommend ordering pizza to be delivered and unplugging the phones before you even open the cover of this military/political thriller. Stellar! *****
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Any at all respond
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rue said that that shadow angel was an imposter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok. Tp be appointed to anything you must post frequently and wheb we have war games fight well. Then you probably will become appointed to a post. Jill is the captan since she was here first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Commander. She's a dragon. She can shoot lightning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Camper - Anyone not listed. <br> <br> Sergeant - KC, Robo, Stormbringer, Duke<br> <br> Captain &star - Jill <br> <br> General &#19977 - Turner, Rue <br> <br> Leader of the Empire &theta - Shadow Angel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expect more from Orson Scott Card. I have enjoyed his other books, but this one seemed like the work of a lazy author. He took an interesting, potentially thought-provoking idea and turned it into a shallow platform for his political and cultural beliefs. I'm not saying this because I disagree with him, but because it is disappointing. To make an plot work, you need well-rounded characters, not caricatures. He throws a few bones to the other side, so that even halfway through the book I hoped there might be a plot twist or two coming, but no. Just a trite story that reads like a retread of Red Dawn. I can picture the checklist of bad guys he must have had pinned to his wall while writing this novel, because he hits every boogey-man (or woman) of the right-wing in this book. In the end it didn't make me think, like a good book should. It made me roll my eyes. Too bad. It could have been really good, and I think that the people he hero-worships deserve better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can imagine this happening right now. Easy read also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago