×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters Series #1)
     

Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters Series #1)

4.3 84
by Alethea Kontis
 

See All Formats & Editions

It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.
     When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Enchanted 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
sikbookreviewer More than 1 year ago
Originally reviewed on my blog: SIK Book Reviews Enchanted is Alethea Kontis's debut YA novel. Although, she has written short stories, essays, reviews, etc. I think she did a very good job with this novel and I believe she has a lot of potential for her future novels. I look forward to reading her next book. This novel is a lovely fairy tale story filled with wondrous magic, first loves, and dangerous adventure. I very much enjoyed the way Kontis told the story, using all different types of fairy tales and melding them into one lovely fairy tale story. Although I am partial to the original fairy tales filled with doom and gloom and no happily ever after, I do still enjoy the more modern fairy tales in all their glory of true love stories and the happy endings. I am a romantic at heart, after all. I loved all of the characters. I thought the Woodcutter family members were all presented in a fun and interesting way. Sunday and her sisters each have their own unique characteristics that are delightful to read about. Sunday is a sweet young girl who just loves to write, tell, and hear stories. She is a very endearing character who you can't help but love. Rumbold (the prince/the frog) begins as a very mysterious character, with secrets hidden in his past. He seems like such a nice young man, but the mystery causes one to wonder what has happened in the past. The fact is, he doesn't even know...so, as the reader, we get to learn right alongside him. I thought the writing style was very good for a debut novelist. There were some mistakes, but it didn't bother me too much (but I am an English major, so these things do tend to bother me more than the average person!). Kontis's writing was able to envelop me in the story enough to fully enjoy it. The beginning, however, did not grab me as much as I would have liked...but, it did grab me later on. I thought the story was creative and unique in the way that all types of fairy tales made an appearance in just one story. The fairy tales also had unique twists to differentiate them from the canonical versions, but keeping the core motifs intact. I also love the cover and the title. They are perfect for the story. The only thing I would complain about is how quickly Sunday falls in love with the frog. It didn't seem quite right to fall in love that fast and that easy for a first time love, especially since she wasn't falling in love with the human himself, she was falling in love with an enchanted frog. One would think that this would take some time to wrap her mind around the fact that he is not human and then gradually fall in love...
FuzzyCoffeeBooks More than 1 year ago
I cannot praise this book enough. I loved the characters, I loved the idea, I loved the plot and having all of my favorite fairy tales coming together in one place. Miz Kontis's writing style was perfect in keeping with this theme, and the end result is a lovely story full of magic and drama, pulling together classic characters and classic stories in new and exciting ways. This is not to be missed!
LauraRobin24 More than 1 year ago
Charming story. Enjoyed all of the fairy-tales coming together. I am a 26 year old YA enthusiasts and found the story to be intriguing. I recommend this book to others who like a different spin on fairy-tales as well. The story is geared toward the younger side of the young adults genre, but I still found it to be interesting.
TheBumbleGirl1 More than 1 year ago
I do love my fairy-tale stories and when I come across a retelling of not one fairy-tale, but a few of my favorites all entwined into one book - it is a must read for me! And because of that, I am going to have high expectations for it - and I'm happy to say, Alethea Kontis delivered an exceptional and enticing whimsical tale that swept me off my feet! For me, this story flowed quickly and beautifully... I really enjoyed the way Kontis was able to string so many fairy-tales together... The Frog Prince, Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Peter Pan, Jack and the Beanstalk... while keeping the story going with what I would traditionally expect - the lessons to be learned, unforgettable characters, good versus evil and the innocence of true love. I loved all of the characters, even the 'evil' ones, lol! Their descriptions and personalities all shined through enough to make them individually memorable - and that was so important being that there were so many to keep track of. I applaud Kontis for being able to pull this off. Sunday is the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, which means, that she will possess great magical powers and destined for many good things. She is the youngest of 10 in the Woodcutter family, who loves to write stories, but limits herself to only writing about her family in fear of writing new stories that eventually come true... Sunday befriends Grumble, The Frog, and her three kisses turns him back into a man, Prince Rumbold. Unbeknownst to Sunday, the Prince returns home to gather his strength and creates a plan to meet Sunday again, and have her fall in love with him for his true self. And the quest begins with balls, fairy godmothers and dark magic. It does help if you are familiar with the more popular original tales. And even though the ending is somewhat predictable, it did not keep me from reading this book in one night. If you truly believe in fairy-tales, this is definitely a book for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been seeing a lot of reviews, both negative and positive describing this book as a fairy tale retold.  That is not what this is.  It is a whole new fairy tale. The biggest mistake anyone can make when opening this book is to think you know the story already.  This is an entirely new creature. What Alethea Kontis does in this book is bring to like our favorite tales from the Brothers Grimm and a touch of Hans Christen Anderson to weave the magical rules of this world. This is a world where, if a girl meets a talking frog, she easily figures out its a man because her world is full of enchanted frogs turned men, full of Kings with no name, full of fairy godmothers baring magical gifts. I quite enjoyed this read. It sets up a beautiful world and Alethea's writing voice is perfect for it. She captures the true essence of fairy tales and makes them her own. I grew up with Brothers Grimm and every once in a while, Alethea would make a reference to apples and you knew they must be poisoned, or to any other number of things and if you're a true fairy tale lover, you understand the rules of them. She doesn't spell it out for you but if you pay enough attention, she leaves you enough clues to make an educated guess.  Like so many people having violet eyes.  I think this says how much magic is in their blood.  Purple and violet always seem to be a reference to magic. This was a lovely start to what is going to be an enchanting series. Just remember, when you open the book, let Alethea weave her magical tale. She's not retelling you a story you've heard a thousand times.  She's using the age old fairy tale references and rules to create something entirely new. She's setting up a world that I can't wait to visit again to find out what happened with all of Sunday's sisters and, hopefully, her brothers too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All of your favorite fairy takes wrap in one great story. Its pretty cool how they alp fit in one story but the author did it! I just wish there was more to it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aletha Kontis has written a beautiful story interweaving many favorite fairy tales. One can see the scenes as they play out in front of you. The characters become larger than life, the magic is palatable. If you enjoy fairy tales told in new ways then you will love this. The intricate weaving of so many different stories had me wrapped up, guessing who or what would come next. Finding little hints at stories untold throughout the entire book was such an enjoyable thrill. I truly enjoyed this book, and it will be on my reread list frequently. This is one of those books where you can take something away with each read. The cover of this book is absolutely beautiful. But the words written inside are even more beautifully written!
Crytal More than 1 year ago
An interesting blend of just about every fairy tale ever written. And in a way that worked. The story was well thought out and held my interest, and left me wanting more of the sisters that we didn't get to see much of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. I am a fan of fairy tales and love the tv show Once Upon a Time. I think this book is like that show. A fairy tale mash-up where the stories are retold, sometimes differently, and where a character may be more than one fairy tale character and their stories intertwine and they interact with each other. It can be hard to follow with all the different siblings and stories going on but it is fun. I would reccomend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so many mysteries
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the story. It kept my attention and I finished it in 2 days. There were a couple of times where the writing lost me and I wasn't sure what happened and I had to go back and re-read. I will definately read her new book which releases in October. Fun, easygoing and interesting read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love anything that has to do with Fairytales so i thought that i was going to love this book. Well i read the whole thing it was not very long in the first place and it incorporated so many different stories all into the one which was cool. What i did not like was the way that she was changing the fairytales. She was twisting things around which is an authors right. But the way her writing style was just like a fairytale but at points i was very confused as to what was going on and had to reread what was last said. Over all it was a good book the plot was enchanting but it was confusing to read.
shep1 More than 1 year ago
This book had an excellent premise; the idea of mixing all the fairy tales into one storyline was appealing. Unfortunately, this angle wasn't thoroughly explored. The story was sweet but became predictable and superficial. There were spots that it definitely lagged. Still, I would recommend this book to my 9th/10th grade lower level reading students. The read is fairly easy and comprehension was solid. It would be a good stepping stone to more complex reads.
Kspina More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS BOOK! I CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THE WHOLE SERIES!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved how the prince talks about his love for her!!!!! I recomend this book to anyone who loves a clean, spunky romance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth $80,000,000,000,000,. I am a professional book critic and my job is being a book critic so listen up, pay what i say and along with the book you will get a SPECIAL SURPRISE!!!!!!!!!!!!? (What i amean is that you will get a present!)
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
Enchanted was quite the mix of fairy tale goodness. I saw Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, a hint of Rapunzel, The Little Old Lady Who Lives in a Shoe, The Swan Princess, The Princess and the Pea, The Frog Prince, and I'm sure there are many more that I'm just not thinking of at the moment, Sooo many that at times it got a little crazy. I really loved the Woodcutter family - named after the days of the week - they all have their very own personality based on an old rhyme. The story really starts with Sunday falling in love with a frog - a talking one of course - and really takes off from there. We have fairy godmothers, princes, evil fairies, and even a changeling. I really liked how we got to know so many different people in the Woodcutter family. All the sisters have a special role to play and each of them get to be the hero at some point in the story. I loved that they were the heroes and got to save the day several times. Arilland is an amazing kingdom full of magic that I really enjoyed. But there were just too many fairy tales going on. While there were combined and meshed together quite well, my mind kept jumping around from one to another and sometimes lost track of where it was actually going in the story. I had a few "now what" moments. On the other hand, I'm totally invested in this family and I need to know what happens to the next sister.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Sunday Woodcutter is the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter. She is not destined for greatness like her oldest brother, Jack Jr. She is not hardworking like her sister Saturday, or unfailingly kind like her sister Friday. It is also almost impossible for Sunday to live up to her own name. Blithe and bonny and good and gay? That's a lot to live up to. Still, Sunday is happy with her life. She loves her family. She has her notebook to fill with stories (that have a slightly disturbing tendency to come true). All is well in their crowded hope near the enchanted forest. In a land as ripe with magic as Sunday's, it isn't particularly surprising to meet a talking frog. The real surprise comes when he shows an interest in Sunday's stories and quickly becomes her dear friend. Until he disappears. Rumbold is more than happy to be human again thanks to Sunday's love. Even if it does mean he is once again Prince Rumbold--a man Sunday's family has long hated. But love and magic can be complicated things. And Rumbold isn't one to give up easily. Rumbold will have to try to win Sunday's heart all over again amidst a whirlwind of balls, fairy godmothers and true danger for himself, Sunday and the entire kingdom in Enchanted (2012) by Alethea Kontis. Enchanted is Kontis first novel. The second book in the Woodcutter Sisters series, Hero, is due out later in 2013. Enchanted is part retelling and part fractured fairy tale as Kontis works in every fairy tale trope, convention and character imaginable into this volume. (Half the fun is catching all of her references.) Happily, Enchanted is a fine addition to the world of fairy tale novels. Sunday is a winsome heroine who is steadfast, brave, and just the right amount of stubborn. Rumbold is as charming as one would expect a fairy tale prince to be. With a sprawling cast, this novel is filled with characters that are as amusing as they are endearing. Working with so many different pieces of source material, you might expect a story like this one to feel forced. It doesn't. Kontis' writing is seamless as she effortlessly brings together many beloved fairy tale elements to create a story that is both sentimental and exciting. The heavy focus on the importance of family--especially the obvious affection the Woodcutters have for each other--was a delightful part of the story. With adventure and magic and not one but three royal balls, Enchanted is guaranteed to have something for everyone. This story even has a perfect ending to Sunday's tale (and a perfect beginning for the next Woodcutter Sisters book). Possible Pairings: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, The Selection by Kiera Cass, Entwined by Heather Dixon, The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy, Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alethea has woven a stunning tale. A must-read. A good book for reluctant readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! And quick to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I love how It has a lot of different fairy tales in one. It had ja ck and the beanstalk, cinderella, ect. I was freaked out that Rumbolds dad (the king) was going to come back alive but he didnt. I really loved how the author made the character Sunday, i feel that i cna relate to her alot! But overall this was an amazing book and RECOMEND THAT YOU READ IT!!! <3 ^-^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago