×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Enchanting the Lady
     

Enchanting the Lady

3.6 1400
by Kathryne Kennedy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Historical Romance Meets Fairy Tale Magic

In a Victorian England with a rigid hierarchy of magic, lion shape-shifter Sir Terence Blackwell is at the bottom rung of society. Only Lady Felicity Seymour, who has no magic, no inheritance, and no prospects, may be willing to judge the man strictly on his own merits.

When

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Enchanting the Lady 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1406 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1882 London, duchess-of-honor Felicity Seymour is worried that she legally will lose her inheritance as she lacks the magical gifts of her parents Prince Albert¿s rule states that no magic equates to no duchy. Lion shapeshifter Sir Terence Blackwell enjoys finding ancient relics, but also is a close friend of the Prince, who asked him to participate in the test of Felicity. She ignominiously fails, but Terence feels something was not right as he experiences a trace of relic-magic in use, which makes no sense.-------------- - Terence decides to court Felicity somewhat because he is attracted other somewhat because he feels sorry for her as she is now a pariah like he is as a shapeshifter and somewhat because what he believes destroyed her test is too similar to what killed his brother. He needs to know whether Felicity is the user or the victim of dark magic. However, Terence never expected to fall in love with her.-------------- ENCHANTING THE LADY is a fantastic late Victorian romantic fantasy that casts a magic spell on the audience from the moment the heroine expects to fail her test and never let¿s go until the final magical revelation. The story line is fast-paced with an underlying paranormal mystery that enhances the prime romantic plot the fantasy elements provide a unique look at 1882 England as Kathryne Kennedy provides her readers with a wonderful thriller.-------------- Harriet Klausner
Jazzikins1953 More than 1 year ago
I almost didn't get this one. The only other free fantasy-romance I had downloaded was highly disappointing. That one was far more explicit and the plot didn't hold my attention. This one though, was highly enjoyable and balanced the sexuality (nowhere near as explicit as others) with a good story line. Even when I figured out who was the real villain, I kept reading to see how it would resolve. Rates up there with some of the Mercedes Lackey books I've enjoyed in the past. This author is now on my wish list for new ebooks come payday. Truly fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was sent this book by a book club. I thought, 'This sounds interesting.' As soon as I began it, I could not put this book down. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the Relics of Merlin series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silly bodice-ripping tale about people with or without magical powers, with lots of sexual longing thrown in. The wedding night scene goes on forever. I can not believe Barnes & Noble chose this for a Free Friday. At least it was free - it borders on erotica or hard-core romance. Nothing historical about this romance.
bmamca36 More than 1 year ago
I have to admit, I look forward to the free Friday download and this is where I found this story. Though not a book that I normally would purchase, I decided why not? I really did enjoy this book and would consider purchasing more of Kathyne Kennedy's work. The story moved along well and was not predictable and I enjoyed the fantasy aspect. The only thing keeping this from being a five star in my opinion is that I wish that more of magic than the romance was pursued. It was worth reading.
Para-Fan More than 1 year ago
Having never read any of Ms. Kennedy's books, I was pleasantly surprised to find I really enjoyed this book. I thought the concept of the British Royals and such being the keeps of magic was fun and made for a good read. The romance portions are similar to all of the "bodice ripper" books and was well written, sexy as well as funny. I've down loaded the next two books in this series, "Double Enchantment" and "Enchanting the Beast" and I'm sure they will provide as much enjoyment as Enchanting the Lady has and just think... it was free!
Guadyt More than 1 year ago
Is just that, very cute. It is a little predictable and really not very complex, yet it is very engaging and cute and it makes you smile and want them to love each other. It is very entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this expecting it to be a bit ridiculous, despite my love of romance novels and fantasy but I was surprised to find that I didn't want to put it down! The fantasy parts were written in a way that made sense and were not over-done and while its relatively predictable, it still has a bit of mystery and adventure to keep it interesting. Most of the negative reviews seem to be about how its a.) fantasy b.) romance c.) contains sex. If you don't like that, you won't enjoy this book [and I'm not sure why you would think you would since its in the Fantasy Romance category...] I enjoyed it enough to buy the rest of her novels and think that its a very fun merger of the fantasy and historical romance categories.
seniorchief More than 1 year ago
When I am searching for books to buy I pass up this genre. I loaded on my nook only because it was free. I will soon be buying books from this genre. This was a fantatstic book. I loved the fantasy, love story and especially the ending. It moved along at a good pace. One person is looking for a relic another person cannot figure out why no one pays attention to her. She finds out the shocking truth in the end.
Gypsy4life More than 1 year ago
Somewhat predictable romantic plot but well written and enjoyable. Some unusual twists keep you entertained.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A sensual fairytale for adults who still have a whimsical soul. I devoured the book in two days cause I had a hard time putting it down. It's so nice to read such a unique romance, with the blend of history and fantasy (and a not sure who done it) that made it so much fun. Uh, just to note, guys like romance too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seems to me that Kathryne Kennedy doesn't have just an enchanting titled but that the title matches the content. I think it is very insightful and fun to read. It is vivid but not obsene, it is fascinating and just a fun book all around.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Fantastic, extremely descriptive. I felt as though I had to use little imagination to put together scenes. A definite recommendation for a reader who loves a good love novel with a fantastic plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Enchanting The Lady is a magical story and I’m trying to come up with words to do justice to such a wonderful book. While it took me a little bit to get into the story than I thought it would, once the story picked up, that was all it took. There were so many enchanting things going on in this story. I loved how the author described every detail and made it very easy to imagine what was being said in the book.  Oh, to be able to have the magical ability to conjure anything that anyone’s imagination could come up with. To be able to look at water and see a dragon come up and fly around and have fire coming from it.  *swoon* I would love to meet Terence and see him as he shifts into a lion. I just imagine him running from rooftop to rooftop.  I could see myself turning into a lion and leaping into the air, feel the air running through my hair, feeling free.  Since magic has no effect on Terence, his job is to find the relics that Merlin hid. Relics are evil and need to be found before they get into the wrong hands. Terence senses the relic’s powers on Felicity and vows to get to the truth. I felt so sorry for Felicity. I couldn’t imagine going through life knowing that I was supposed to have magic and wasn’t gifted with it. To know that my title and everything that went with it would be forever lost to me. To have people sit on me and run into me because they couldn’t see me. Felicity and Terence made a great couple and what started as a flirtation ended up being more. The more time that they spent with each other, the more that Terence forgot why he was courting her in the first place. They both are social outcast since she has no magic and he is a were shifter. I would recommend this book to everyone who loves fantasy and a great romance. You will be taken on a magical fantasy adventure. If you want to find out if Terence chooses love, the relic, or finds a way to get both, you will have to read Enchanting The Lady.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great altered history/fantasy romance. I thought the sex scenes were tastefully done and no where near erotica. The plot moved along and at steady pace and kept me thoroughly engaged. Didn't want to put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kennedy's Enchanting the Lady is an excellent alternate history/fantasy romance. Felicity and Terence are both wonderfully drawn and sympathetic characters. The setting is original; it is just different enough from the real world to be intriguing. I will definitely be picking up the next book in the series. And i totally want a dragonette like Daisy for my very own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just wish Kennedy wrote more in this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago