×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Enchantment: The Life of Audrey Hepburn
     

Enchantment: The Life of Audrey Hepburn

4.0 22
by Donald Spoto
 

See All Formats & Editions

Her name is synonymous with elegance, style and grace. Over the course of her extraordinary life and career, Audrey Hepburn captured hearts around the world and created a public image that stands as one of the most recognizable and beloved in recent memory. But despite her international fame and her tireless efforts on behalf of UNICEF, Audrey was also known for her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Enchantment 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had greatly anticipated reading Mr. Spoto's latest book about one of the best film icons, Audrey Hepburn. Unfortunately, the actual book (with a disappointing biography listing -- too few sources -- suggests the possibility that some of the material presented therein could be 'expanded or exaggerated' rumors (certain aspects of Ms. Hepburn's life seem to be approached from an angle that is not flattering, to say the least). Additionally, the book is not endorsed by the Audrey Hepburn Estate, and only one of her sons is quoted (and not at length). The photos offered are few (the cover photo is uncredited, for example), although most movie fans would be extremely interested in reading the latest on one of the most popular of all film and theater stars. It is, therefore, more unfortunate about the personal-life inclusions that are made. The book could have been done with a little less of a 'Photoplay' magazine approach and more of a serious, concerted effort of understanding towards its famous subject.
Guest More than 1 year ago
No matter what people say this book is one of the most interesting Audrey biographies I've ever seen. It shows her life in great detail and shows who she truly was. This book is amazing and I highly recommend it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read about Audrey Hepburn and overall I learned a lot. She was truly an amazing human being and an amazing actress, and her life is really interesting. The only thing I did not like about it was how long it took to finish. I don't recommend it to people who want a short and easy read. Also, it can get gossipy and the author focuses too much on rumors about Audrey instead of the facts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fantastic review of audrey's life, very well researched.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Audrey Hepburn was actress, model, and a performer. She was born in 1929, which put her in an era where her and her mother experienced the traumatizing World War two. After the war Audrey decided to pursue her love for dance which brought her fame and success. She was put in Broadway shows and became a Hollywood icon. This was a great choice novel for me because I like learning about people I admire and look up to, and after reading this book, it made me more aware of how I can follow in Audrey's footsteps to pursue what I love. The one thing that came as a struggle for me was following the author's maturity in writing. Some of the word choice was beyond my knowledge. The message I received from Audrey was that if you put all your heart into what you love, there will be good outcomes from your passion and hard work, and Audrey carried the theme of achievement through out her life. If you are looking for and inspirational figure to look up to, I would highly recommended Enchantment, but if you are a jealous type, this book might frustrate you! There are other biographies on Audrey Hepburn, along with DVD's.
mistress_of_prose More than 1 year ago
I looked for a biography about Audrey Hepburn for quite a while. She is my favorite actress, and I wanted to read something that really spoke about her life, not just about the theories of her life. So many things you hear about her are gossipy and untrue. Donald Spoto really focuses on all the things that can be proven about her. Some things are a bit gossipy, but he has evidence to back it all up. The writing is also very entertaining, unlike a lot of biographies. Most of them tend to be very dry. If you care to learn more about a wonderful actress and her life, this is a good book to get. My only complaint about it is that the actual paperback copy has a very flimsy cover, and it is a rather large book, so it makes it very difficult to hold in your hand and read. You have to lay it flat on a table to avoid complications. I tend to read in my car or on the go, so the fact that it was hard to hold was aggravating. But this is not a reason to not buy the book. If you like biographies, "Enchantment" is a very good read. It is a bit pricey, but I could not find one biography on her that was not $20 or more, so be prepared to shell out some cash for this book.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I falled in love withh it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fashionistamom More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with this beautiful woman within the first few chapters. Her strenghth and poise are so admirable. I had seen her in Breakfast at Tiffanys, but didnt know much about her. After reading the biography, I can't wait to see the rest of her movies
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book about Audrey Hepburn. What Donald Spoto wrote about Audrey Kathleen Ruston. As known as Audrey Hepburn. She is just a wonderful person in her special little way. But i am going to tell you once you read this book you would not want to put it down because it is so intresting and well put on things in her life. She was a wonderful actress frim what i heard. You should watch Breakfast at Tiffany's. It was one of her famous film and it was wonderful. You could get it on netflix. Or you could watch parts on youtube but back at what i was saying. This book is sooooooooooooooooooo goooood. No its not good it is wooooonnnddderrrrfffulll. Wonderful. Well thanks for reading .my review. Love Marta Chiboroski.
Chokowen More than 1 year ago
This book it's absolutely superb. It gives you an overall face of who was Audrey Hepburn. Written in a very respectful way.