×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

End of the Spear
     

End of the Spear

4.7 21
by Steve Saint
 

See All Formats & Editions

2005 ECPA Retailer's Choice Award winner for best biography/autobiography!
Steve Saint was five years old when his father, missionary pilot Nate Saint, was speared to death by a primitive Ecuadorian tribe. In adulthood, Steve, having left Ecuador for a successful business career in the United States, never imagined making the jungle his home again. But when

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

End of the Spear 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is a cross-cultural experience that will awaken you to evaluation of priorities and values in your own life and culture and a better understanding of mankind, and of the God that created us. We live in a world that is made up of separate little worlds, even ages, but over it all is a Meta-narrative, a Big Story which is true for all the little stories. The title of the book should interpreted in this way: 'End of the killing mentality in the Waodani culture.' As I started reading the book, I felt I was entering into a chaotic hodge podge, not knowing where I was in the story, let alone having any clue where it was going next. I don't know if this was intended, but it is, I am sure, exactly how Steve and Ginny felt during the time in which the story begins. As Steve and his family discern and submit to God's leading, things become more clear, God shows and makes all things beautiful. And, by the way, leave your standards of beautiful at home, they are no good here. As a matter of fact, you'll probably put them away for good. I am sure you are familier with Jesus' teaching that a seed cannot bear fruit except it die. That is what Steve's father, Nate Saint, and his four companions did when they visited the 'Aucas'. Rachel Saint, Steve's Aunt, eventually died among them too. But the case should be made that they all died long before their physical death. We begin with the funeral and burial of Rachel among the tribe and the next day the tribes askes Steve, according to their culture, to take her place in their society. This starts the part of God's story which is Steve's story. The story of his dying so that his life may bear fruit. This is a story of how life changing it is to follow God's carvings. The Waodani people show such love, it is very convicting to us in our individualized society. Their desire to learn the things of God is also convicting and motivating, even down to the smallest of them. Rachel Saint's self-description: 'I Love the Lord Jesus with all my heart, and I trusted Him completly. And I guess I just learned to persevere in whatever He gave me to do.'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant even begin to tell you all of the spelling mistakes along with random words and no spaces. But great story
RachaelSuzanne More than 1 year ago
I wasn't alive when this true story happened, but my aunt told me how she remembered it. These brave missionaries are an inspiration to all. They gave their lives freely so the Auca Indians could find theirs with God. The way the Holy Spirit worked through the Auca is remarkable. Steve Saint's relationship with the people responsible for his father's death is inspirational. Okay, I know I used the word inspire too much but I really don¿t know what other word could be used. And I carry a pocket thesaurus!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Excellent read for anyone who really wants to see what faith in action and forgiveness looks like. It really makes you question yourself, your priorities, and most of all your level of faith in God and the ability to love as He does. Excellent adventure!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is incredible. Mr. Saint shares stories of his life in the Amazon Jungle as an adult, and as a child. He also tells of his father, Nate, who was killed when Steve was a child.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This powerful real life adventure of a family with four teenagers moving into the Amazon Jungle, clearing land and building open relationships with former stone-age people. Down to earth people that learn as much as they give to the people. Great humor and storytelling by the author. I would come to work and read funny passages to my fellow workers daily. Through each page my previous thoughts about these native cultures were challenged in such positive ways. I would recommend this as a great entertaining read to anyone, anywhere, anytime.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Five star
debforb56 More than 1 year ago
A great book of faith and forgiveness. It is the story of Steve Saint who learns to love, forgive and help the Waodani people of Ecuador even though they had killed his father when he was a little boy. It is a moving interesting book. I can't imagine number one what it would be like to live and grow up in the Rain Forest of Ecuador, and number two then to have your father brutally killed by the very people you grow up around and you forgive them and love them as your family, this is just mind blowing. This truly tells a story of how this family not only believed and had faith in Jesus but truly lived their faith. Loving, teaching, forgiving, and living with the very men who were the ones who speared his father and 4 others to death is only possible through Christ and really knowing the meaning of loving others as Christ loves them. This is an interesting book of the story of Steve Saint and his family and the Waodani tribe of Ecuador. When Steve's aunt who lived with the tribe dies they ask Steve to come live with them to teach them the ways of God and what they need to know to survive and not be dependent on the outside world. It is a remarkable journey, one that draws you in and makes you want to keeping reading. It is a wonderful story of God's plans being put into work and we come to love Mincaye and the Waodani people too. Steve is a man of faith but even more amazing is his wife and children being in tune with God's call on their lives and being willing to go where God leads them, leaving the modern world and all its conveniences behind. Praise God for this man and his family. I found this book both interesting and challenging. By that I mean it makes me look at how I live my life, could I forgive like Steve has and then follow God's calling to live with these same people in the jungle. I would hope I could, this book makes you think about this. I really enjoyed this book, and I hope everyone will take the time to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steve is my friends gpa
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want to read a story on true forgiveness, this is it. Our Pastor even used this book as a theme for one of our sermons. It is fantastic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Captivating reading! Not only was the story of Steve Saint's personal tragedies and triumphs riveting, but it gave me pause to consider why I do the things I do. It is a compelling story, for sure, but more than that it gives you a window into your own soul, your own motivations, your own legacy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing story of how tragedy can inspire people to overcome obstacles and to help others. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about spirituality, other cultures, underdogs against impossible odds, and nonfiction that is so unbelievable it must be true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I give this book 5 stars even though i haven't finished it yet.just how God worked through Steve is remarkable.i'm currently reading chapter 10,and so far it's been a story about forgiveness and God's providence.i'm only12 yaers old and i found this non-fiction book extremely well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago