×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You
     

Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from the Four Emotions That Control You

4.4 49
by Andy Stanley
 

See All Formats & Editions

Break free from the destructive power of guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy.
 
Divorce. Job loss. Estrangement from family members. Broken friendships.
 
The difficult circumstances you are dealing with today are likely being fed by one of four emotional forces that compels you to act in undesirable ways, sometimes even against your will.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Enemies of the Heart 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
TisSewSweet More than 1 year ago
Enemies of the heart is one of those books that made me evaluate my attitudes and thoughts about various events and people in my life. It really opened my eyes to unhealthy emotions hidden in my own heart. With that said I want to make it clear that Enemies of the heart is not a self-help, 4 steps , How to make all your problems go away kind of a book. This book, written in a conversational style, leads you to think about your hearts attitude toward circumstances. Andy Stanley Describes in perfect detail the reasons We often feel anger, jealousy, and Greed. He describes how harmful these emotions become when they go unchecked. He not only exposes the dangers of these emotions, but he gives us the tools to begin the journey towards conquering those enemies of your heart. And yes we all have them. This book is very well written and kept my interest all the way to the end. I even went back and re-read and underlined things I needed to stick in my own heart. I recommend this book to anyone who is hurting, or has been hurt in the past, knows someone that is hurting, or will be hurt in the near future. Enemies of the heart is a very well written book perfect for those moments in the waiting room, bus,train ride, and can even be used as a devotional or a study group guide. (The study guide is in the back of the book) Get this book. You will be changed by it. Forgive.Celebrate.Move forward.
Amanda_in_Medora More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy Andy Stanley's books, so I wasn't surprised to find that this one was good too. If you have read other things by him and don't connect with his communication and writing styles, then you'll probably be disappointed here as well. However, if you have enjoyed other books and teachings by him in the past, it's likely you'll enjoy this one too. If you've never read any of Stanley's works, then I recommend that you try this one out. Guilt. Anger. Greed. Jealousy. These are the four emotions that are covered in this book. While I was skeptical at first glance to think I would take away much from this book, as I got further into it, I found myself nodding my head and interrogating my heart. He approaches these topics from a "debt" perspective helped simplify each emotion and how that "debt" expresses itself in our lives. And with each emotion, there is a "debtor" to whom the "debt" is attached. Andy Stanley addresses not only the debts and debtors in our lives, but gives a specific antidote to dealing with each of these controlling emotions so that we can live more fully and freely. While we may not have a problem with any one particular emotion this book covers, it is good information to store up, for, being human, we are prone to fall short and be tempted in a specific area if not all areas. I do think, however, most any reader will find at least one area in their life that could use the illumination this book provides. At the end of the book, he takes a little time to address lust and how it differs from the other emotions he covers. While the four emotions of guilt, anger, greed and jealousy are to be eliminated from our lives in order to be healthy and whole, lust is with us and to eliminate it would not be advisable. Instead, he calls it an appetite that needs to be controlled, and if we are successful in managing our lust properly, lust is a benefit and a gift. The end of the book contains a study guide with questions to be used in an individual or group setting.
TStephens More than 1 year ago
Formerly released as "It Came from Within," Andy Stanley's newest book, Enemies of the Heart: Breaking Free from Emotions that Control" is a great read for anyone has a heart (pun intended.) Andy proposes that there are 4 primary enemies of the heart: guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. By offering practical direction, supported with biblical insight, the author seeks to help you break free from their destructive power over your heart...and your life. "...just as a heart attack has the potential to destroy your body, so spiritual heart disease has the potential to destroy you and squeeze the life out of your most valuable relationships." The concept is not hard to comprehend. Deep down we know something is wrong with us and yet we continue to say we're "fine." Though there are many enemies of the heart, I'm glad that Andy narrowed it down to the most destructive of them, addressing each with practicality and biblical support. Written from his point of view, the reader can easily relate to the material and will enjoy his transparency. I look forward to reading more books from him. About the author: Andy Stanley is a pastor, communicator, author, and the founder of North Point Ministries, Inc. (NPM). Since its inception in 1995, North Point Ministries has grown from one campus to five in the Atlanta area and has helped plant more than thirty strategic partner churches globally. Each Sunday, more than twenty-five thousand people attend worship services at one of North Point Ministries’ five campuses. Andy’s books include Communicating for a Change, The Next Generation Leader, Visioneering, and How Good is Good Enough? Andy lives in Alpharetta, Georgia, with his wife, Sandra, and their children. The book is available in print and ebook format. Disclosure: A copy of this book was provided to me free of charge from the publisher for the purpose of review. A positive review was not required. All opinions contained in this review are mine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book helped me see the condition of my own heart like never before! I always struggled with understanding how to identify the emotions I have with its root cause. This book guides you through 4enemies that if left unchecked can plague your heart and allow you to be vulnerable to more than you would care to imagine, including sexual sin. The case was made clear biblically with multiple references to scripture that we are to guard our hearts for out of it flows the wellspring of life. Written in conversation style it is as if Andy is a good friend. He balances his writing with relatable stories and reveals some of his own personal struggles along with signature humor. This book packs a punch that will give you a very clear plan, not just identifies the problem. But gives you the anecdote to apply for healing and restoration with God. There are discussion questions to do this in a small group setting. This book has personally set me on a new direction and goal: to keep my heart guarded, cleaned by God's forgiveness, and pass on these 4 steps to my children so they may be connected with their own hearts as a discipline to help them grow healthy hearts of their own. Highly recommended! I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for this review. Tpekurny
MatthewJM More than 1 year ago
Andy Stanley writes about how our actions come from within and how our inner condition is determined by the condition of our heart. It is because of our damaged or wounded hearts that we react in certain ways. He describes four enemies of the heart, which greatly impacts the condition of the heart: guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. He attributes habits (one habit per enemy of the heart) that can be practiced to help confront and turn away from our guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. I appreciated what Stanley had to say concerning the heart condition and how to approach each enemy. I found myself naturally thinking about what he was saying and analyzing what condition my heart is in. He does a great job at making the material understandable and relevant to the life of the reader (at least for me he did). I was challenged to not simply read and be educated, but to actual confront the enemies of my heart with the help of God. I believe this book is a good resource to revisit our heart and reflect on what we need to go to God with and allow Him to transform. I see this book being a good introduction to growing in self-awareness. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great to study in a group...Interesting...Hold your attention!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will change your life
SidneReadz More than 1 year ago
In this book, the author, Andy Stanley, states that their are four enemies of the heart. They are: greed, jealousy, guilt and anger. He gives practical advice alone with biblical insight (scriptures). With the tools he provide and prayer I would say one should be able to break the strong holds that linger within our heart. The author also included advice on LUST and how it should be controlled. I really like the last pages in the book too. A study guide that can be used in a group setting. I enjoyed reading this novel and think the author made is simple and practical enough for any adult level reader will understand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful to use for daily devotions. The studying of this book is like going to a therapist. It helps you have insight into your heart and your relationship with God.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JonLloyd More than 1 year ago
Andy Stanley does a marvelous job at one thing in "Enemies of the Heart:" uncovering a few uncomfortable truths within all of us. The primary issue uncovered is that the things in life that fester negatively within us are actually tied to our heart. The book is basically laid out into four parts. In Part One, Stanley covers the deceptive nature of our sin, and how our sin is indeed a heart issue. Drawing on Scripture from Jeremiah, we are left with a striking need to correct our sin issue. Part Two lays out four specific "enemies." These are guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. Using real-world examples, Stanley gives practical knowledge on these circumstances. Part Three offers ways to counteract each of these enemies using happiness, forgiveness, and philanthropy. Part Four introduces a topic on which Andy preaches often - the legacy we leave for our children and for those to whom we are accountable. Using vivid imagery, Andy closes out the book leaving the reader filled with a longing for action. This book is written in a very down-to-earth fashion, making it appropriate for anyone. However, I think that the Christian will benefit most from it's teachings, as it is laden with Scripture throughout.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very useful, I recommend it to any body that want changes in his life but don't know what to do or where to go, people that are dealing with divorce, rape, abortion, death, and all other life deceptions. I learned that what comes in is what comes out, if we need to be better we need to start from the inside. this book help me see my true self and understand other's shortcoming.
itvln02 More than 1 year ago
Book Review: Enemies of the Heart By Andy Stanley Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley is an informal text about four main emotions that may grip one's heart, robbing them of a full life. The book discusses where emotions come from, the four emotions (guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy), how to deal with each of the emotions, and how to go on with life. The book is full of personal experiences shared by the author. The emotions are demonstrated clearly through the detail of real experiences rather than being at the philosophical level. It may be difficult to relate at times, if your experience is different than that of the authors. Overall the book provides a good frame work for addressing the heart issues: "confess, forgive, give, celebrate". ¿I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review¿.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book! Andy does a great job of taking the challenges in our life and putting them into logical perspective. He really unravels the confusion around guilt, anger, and entitlement that just really makes life tough. I wish I would have read this years ago. Highly recommend it.
RamblingMother More than 1 year ago
Andy Stanley helps us understand what the Bible tells us all about human nature and the source of sin. He expertly guides us to the problem, ie the sin problem like guilt, anger, greed, jealousy, etc. Then he shows us through scripture the answer to these sins. Forgiveness is the answer to anger as generosity is the answer to greed, and so on. This is a very helpful book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JessicaTurner More than 1 year ago
I have to admit, the title of this book and the cover grabbed my attention. I have never heard of Andy Stanley. Andy talks about the 4 main enemies of the heart. Guilt, anger, greed and jealousy can eat away at your heart until you are a bitter person. Ever since I got the news that my little brother is fighting cancer, I have been angry. I have given in and have been allowing anger to rule a lot of areas in my life. This book has given me hope that I can overcome anger with God's help. I would highly recommend this book. I found myself struggling in a few areas, not only anger.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arayj More than 1 year ago
Emotions are a part of life. Everyone deals with them at some level. But what if our lives become controlled by emotion? What if the issues we are dealing with today are the result of our inability to control our emotional heart? In his personal and humorous style, Andy Standy unpacks four destructive emotions that when taken root will damage relationships. These emotions are guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy. Seriously, who hasn't struggle with one or each of these emotions? Stanley offers powerful and practical advice grounded in the Bible to help win the battle in our hearts with these emotions and restore relationships that have been broken as a result. This is an excellent read for any follower of Christ who wants to grow in their ability to "love one another." I give Enemies of the Heart 4.5 out of 5 stars. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago