×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The English Major
     

The English Major

2.9 31
by Jim Harrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

“It used to be Cliff and Vivian and now it isn’t.” With these words, Jim Harrison begins a riotous, moving novel that sends a sixty-something man, divorced and robbed of his farm by a late-blooming real estate shark of an ex-wife, on a road trip across America. Cliff is armed with a childhood puzzle of the United States and a mission to rename all

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The English Major 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
karenhastings More than 1 year ago
Just finished reading this book yesterday and I thoroughly enjoyed it!Can't wait to read more of his other books!
ReviewMan More than 1 year ago
Jim Harrison is America's greatest living novelist. All other writers pale in comparison to him. That he has not received a National Book Award or a Pulitzer Prize demonstrates the ignorance and vacuity of America's critics. That Stephen King was given a National Book Foundation's Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters Award proves how low America criticism has sunk. Again, Jim Harrison is America's greatest living novelist."The English Major" is further proof of his brilliance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ginya More than 1 year ago
Really what was the point of this book? Does it have a meaning under all the rambling and sex? Not even good sex. Renaming the states represents what? I really expected more, I reached my limits on remarks about his soreness and stopped almost at the end. Few books that I really don't even care to look to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarieHammond More than 1 year ago
This book did not have enough "umph" to keep me interested. It was what I would call a "fluff" book or a beach book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Former_English_Teacher More than 1 year ago
While this book seemed very different from Harrison's other books and in some ways less dramatic (therefore more humorous), it is thoroughly enjoyable. A 64 year old man might have more in common with the protagonist but there are ideas, events and insights everyone can identify with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not what I expected. The Plot is good; seemed drawn out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago