×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

enLIGHTened: How I Lost 40 Pounds with a Yoga Mat, Fresh Pineapples, and a Beagle-Pointer
     

enLIGHTened: How I Lost 40 Pounds with a Yoga Mat, Fresh Pineapples, and a Beagle-Pointer

4.5 10
by Jessica Berger Gross, Bobby Clennell (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet your new healthy best friend and yoga guru: Jessica Berger Gross. For years, Jessica struggled with fluctuating weight and bouts of unhappiness. Then she took a yoga class. It changed her life. Not because she suddenly became a human pretzel, but because yoga gave her an entirely new way of looking at the world, and at what she was eating and why she was

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

enLIGHTened: How I Lost 40 Pounds with a Yoga Mat, Fresh Pineapples, and a Beagle Pointer 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Holly_Snowe More than 1 year ago
This is a whiny and incredibly pretentious ode to the author's neurosis. If you're already on the yogic path you will probably really appreciate how she validates your choices. I, however, do not view a whole wheat organic veggie pizza as a diet 'splurge' so it was hard for me to relate to. It's chock full of what a liberal earth mother would consider 'supposed-to' type advice. As I said, nothing new here, but it was interesting enough to read from cover to cover and kept me interested and even slightly entertained.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gina o'connor More than 1 year ago
Enjoying the book, but the Nook version is riddled with typos. The stories injected into the chapters are particularly bad. The section that I'm reading now has no periods. Typos aside, it is in interesting, thought-provoking book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Christine Sciarrino More than 1 year ago
down to earth, fun to read and insightful. i've faced so many of the same challenges and she taught me how to succeed with yoga, healthy eating and the people who love me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sable Moya More than 1 year ago
i really enjoyed this book. it was inspiring and had some great tips to follow.
SarahL More than 1 year ago
Part spiritual memoir, part how-to manual for diet and lifestyle change, the words filling these pages are both relevant and inspiring. Jessica Berger Gross succeeds in making friends with her readers by doing something we rarely get the chance to see- she exposes her very real past pain for all to see, and allows herself to remain real and accessible as she does so. Sharing hurt from a dysfunctional and abusive childhood, emotional over-eating, ineffective coping strategies, getting on and falling off the diet wagon, and eventually making a sustainable change in her own life, Berger-Gross reaches out a compassionate hand to us all, cheering us each on in our own path to happiness and health, with pages and pages of touching and humorous anecdotes along the way. I have tried nearly every one of the recipes she has included in her book- all to wild success and a huge hit for several dinner parties I've thrown since. She peppers the book with yoga poses- all intended to be used by real people- no impossible poses intended for those perfectly sculpted, impossible hollywood bodies. With the poses, she gives the traditional title, along with meditations to ponder and integrate with the practice itself. Her recommendations for music, books, websites and more was tremendously helpful for me, and I have happily used several of these resources to support myself in my own food/yoga life. Since reading her book, and the few books she recommends in her pages, I have moved from a committed vegetarian to a passionate, and compassionate vegan. I have never felt healthier, happier or looked better. Reading EnLIGHTened, I felt I had made a friend for life, and will enjoy every re-read of Jessica Berger Gross' words. I have purchased this book for friends and family, and highly recommend it to everyone and anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book! EnLIGHTened is a perfect mix of the practical and inspirational. It is written in a very user-friendly manner. The descriptions and pictures of the yoga poses are clear and helpful. Ms. Gross also highlights important take-aways in each section that can serve as great references. But in addition to being useful, Ms. Gross' story is motivating, candid, funny, and touching. As I read it I felt as if I was talking to a girlfriend. Her journey to wellness can serve as a motivation for all of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago