×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eon
     

Eon

4.5 236
by Alison Goodman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Read Alison Goodman's blogs and other content on the Penguin Community.

Eon--the award-winning crossover fantasy that soars!

Sixteen-year-old Eon has a dream, and a mission. For years, he's been studying sword-work and magic, toward one end. He and his master hope that he will be chosen as a Dragoneye-an apprentice to one of the twelve energy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eon 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 237 reviews.
BasiGirl More than 1 year ago
EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and familiar Asian-inspired world where dragons are essential to maintaining peace, balance and harmony. I applaud the efforts of Goodman to cast her heroine as a cripple. She does a lovely job of keeping faith with the difficulties of being lame without it feeling forced. I also enjoyed the edgy quality that carried the flavor of Tamora Pierce. The topics explored are definitely for an older YA audience and I'm sure many adults looking for a good yarn will enjoy this story. Do not expect to be amazed by a brilliant, new writing style or concept. While Goodman does a compelling job of telling Eon's story, and excels in keeping a predictable story entertaining and interesting, the story has been told before, many, many times. She does a creditable job of creating a believable world with strong Asian connections with her own style. Above all, this is a story of a girl, masquerading as a boy, learning to be true to herself. If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's Alanna stories, tales of dragons, Asian lore and culture - I am sure you will enjoy EON and EONA.
NookEthanM More than 1 year ago
I loved the book and I can't wait to read the 2nd one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good book! Couldn't put it down. I was so amazed about what happened in the end! So awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic book that draws you in and takes you on its adventure. Definitely a must read!
Katagaria More than 1 year ago
My daughter and I have read the first two books and all I can say is wow, we really enjoyed them. Hope there is another book coming. Thank you for writing such great books.
Readinista More than 1 year ago
I had my doubts about whether or not I would like this book, but shortly into it I was hooked. It was so good I found myself wondering, how has this book not received more attention?! Why didn¿t I read this book sooner? With awe inspiring dragons, formidable characters, a vivid setting, and a skillfully crafted story, this epic first book in a duology is now one my favorite books of all time. Alison Goodman made me a fan for life. Strongly influenced by ancient Asian cultures, Eon is set in a detail rich world ruled by an imperial family but balanced by the powerful Dragoneyes. Through a bargain with the twelve energy dragons, the Dragoneyes connect with their spirit dragon to wield power, control the elements, and much more. In training to become an apprentice to the Rat Dragon, Eon has the odds stacked against him. His broken hip makes him walk with a limp making it difficult for him to walk let alone practice the dragon art of fighting. To top it off, Eon is really Eona, a girl and therefore forbidden to practice the dragon art. An act punishable by death. The one thing working in her favor is her dragon sight, the rare ability to see all the energy dragons. She can only hope that the Rat Dragon chooses her as his apprentice. Eon/a is a complex heroine. She is strong and intelligent yet flawed by her inclination to be dishonest and her lack of trust in others. She weaves a dangerous web of lies in her fight for survival and, at times, this is very frustrating. There are many moments where I wanted to yell at her to snap her out of it. While at the same time, you understand her situation and her reasoning. That being said, in the end, Eona became one my favorite heroines. Eon is technically considered a young adult book but, to me, the story reaches beyond young adults to older audiences as well. Goodman¿s world is exceptional and you will find yourself captivated by the rich culture and unique mythology. I enjoyed this book so much that once finished it, I immediately (the same day) bought the next book, Eona: The Last Dragoneye.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, very much enjoyed it and would like to see more from Alison Goodman. I know I liked it as I was a bit disappointed that the story ended with only two books! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"It's all in a name." Never has that been more true. This book pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the final page, and even then you are left wanting more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! The plot is weaved together so well, with twists and turns that will keep you turning those pages! If you're the type to visualize the story as you read like I am, you'll really enjoy this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will captivate you and launch you into a world where love fear desire and power hold sway of most of the empire of the celestial dragons. You should stop using this book to chat with each other and role play. The people who do quote rps un quote are such freaking drama nerds. Go find somwhere else mess off
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book
Whymsy More than 1 year ago
Dragons, Emperors and Girls in Disguise, Oh My! Crippled Eon is in training to become a candidate for the Rat Dragon’s apprentice; one of the greatest honors in the kingdom. Gifted with rare full dragon sight Eon can see each of the dragons, except of course the Mirror Dragon who has been missing for 500 years. On the day of choosing no one in the kingdom expects the “cursed cripple” to be chosen, but Eon has another reason for thinking he might not be chosen, Eon is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl. Females cannot take part in the Dragonseye ceremonies, on pain of death. When the Mirror Dragon resurfaces and chooses Eona everything in her life is thrown into chaos. Plunged into a dangerous world she doesn’t understand and unable to call upon her dragon, Eona must carefully navigate the twists and turns of the palace for the sake of her allies and the Prince Kygo, otherwise much more than her life will be lost. I purchased this book without knowing practically anything about it on the recommendation of a very enthusiastic store employee during a book buying frenzy. So when I started to read it I only knew the very basics without my usual research and couldn’t help, but be concerned. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The mythology is very well developed and thought out. Goodman even managed to nicely mix the mythological elements with the political intrigue. Her characters are charismatic, multi-dimensional, and each one has their very own agenda. The story is rather complex with a large host of characters interacting and contributing so you do really have to pay attention. I would not call this book a light, easy read, but it is worth the effort to keep everything straight. This book is very interesting and did a good enough job pulling me in that I am now in search of “Eona”, the next one in the series. The recommended reading age says 12 and up, but personally I think a little older would be better, at least 13 or 14, so the reader can fully grasp the content.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eon is a real page turner! I could not put it down for a moment! Keep up the good work, Alison Goodman!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
33 and loved it!
KendraJ_lillianopal 3 months ago
4.5 stars. Eon was such an exhilarating, page-turning, and suspenseful read. Oh, and action-packed. Lots of action. Also, did I mention how gorgeous the cover is? A normal dragon is already majestic enough, but a spirit dragon? I can only revel at its powerful glory. That, added with the fierce silhouette of a girl with swords and the intricate scrawl of the character symbol, just makes me want to stare at it all day. First of all, I love the fact that the book was inspired by Chinese and Japanese culture! I'm always drawn to such books, and this one was no exception. It was fun reading about the dragons each representing a member of the Chinese zodiac, and I liked the diagram at the beginning depicting each of them. The empire was similar to that of ancient Asian culture, too--there was the "heavenly emperor" who ruled over all, there was an imperial court (rankings, concubines, eunuchs, servants, and all), and there was the ever-present danger of royalty. The amount of time Eona spent in the court filled the book up to its brim in political intrigue. Even though the harshness of their ways of life made me cringe in sympathy more than once, I loved it all. It just made the whole book much more interesting, adrenaline-pumping, and delightful to read. Lady Dela was probably my favorite character. She was witty, clever, and filled with courage. She was living proof that being female didn't necessarily being weak. Even though technically she was male, she had the mindset of a woman, and that was what mattered. Not surprisingly, most of the empire is very sexist (save for her home tribe), but she ignored them all and stood firm in her declaration of being feminine. That is definitely something to be greatly admired. I wish Eona was as self-accepting as Lady Dela. That would have solved many problems, but since it was part of her character development, oh well. Although Lady Dela is still my favorite. This book was heavy on masculinity and femininity. Since nearly everyone in the empire favored males, thinking them to be stronger and more reliable, Eona tried her best to suppress her secret girl identity. She refused to listen to Lady Dela when she told her that females could be strong, and she thought the way to power and dragons was masculinity. Hence the many scenes where I wanted to smack her over the head for her stubborn ignorance. Nevertheless, the whole topic about everyone's opinions on genders was interesting to read about. Thank goodness for today's gender equality (at least compared to ancient times). Do I recommend this book? Of course, that's an easy yes, especially if you enjoy fantasy and stories based on Asian cultures (like I do!). Go try it out!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Hey!
Anonymous 6 months ago
I like dragons?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually first read this book in Junior highschool, as an assignment for a book report. At that time I was a relatively unaware reader and while I found it interesting, even renewed my library checkout in order to read it twice, a lot of the deeper subjects flew over my head. Now, almost 6(?) years later, this book is more relevant to me and modern social struggles than ever. I recommend this book to anyone, but especially young gender-questioning kids seeking validation and strength. High praise to this author; very rarely nowadays can I find time to sit down and just read, but i set time aside for this book, and I intend to seek out her other works, after the sequel to this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anne_jindra More than 1 year ago
Eon is a win: EON - Alison Goodman The year is unknown, but she is in medieval Middle Earth. The climate is steeped in magick and eastern forms permeate the story so thoroughly that, even without the naming of the culture, you know roughly where you are in the world. Eon is a story of a young Asian woman in what is known in the Orient as "Middle Earth". It's a common belief in Asian culture that we live in a middle realm, one that was borrowed by J.R.R.Tolkein. As Eon struggles to rise to the position of a sword bearing warrior, defying tradition on every level, she stumbles onto one of her country's oldest secrets. One of the first and most powerful warriors was a woman. Contemporary on many levels, Eon is a feminist look into a traditional culture. Aussie, Goodman does a good job of painting a holistic view of a tradition steeped magick and a state dependent culture, although she does through a few modern spins in that may or may not have flown back in that era. Overall the book exemplifies the modern westernized fascination with a set of philosophies that they cannot quite grasp as they have no corresponding correlate in Western Philosophy. In the next eight minutes installation of "Everything Philosophy in 30 Minutes or Less", we'll be tracking Language, Inventions and Philosophers to try and help the Western mind track foreign emotions and ideas, before transitioning completely into the ideas found on other continents. For light readers in search of some interesting mental candy, Eon is a win. http://badfantasyrx.blogspot.com/2016/04/eon-alison-goodman.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book. Would highly recommend to anyone. Love how east meets west in this delightful novel with a surprisingly well developed story line and ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book I cant wait to buy the next one. I highly recommend you read it, who knows you just might it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was hard to put down. Definitely getting the next one, though I hope the main character's decision making improves a little.