×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Equity of Evil
     

Equity of Evil

4.9 15
by Rudy A. Mazzocchi
 

See All Formats & Editions

Based on true events, this bold novel involves some of the world's oldest, most emotional and controversial issues. At the core of each matter is man's predisposition to control and take ownership of the human spirit for the sake of profit and personal gain. Such control and manipulation over the will of others is the most horrendous equity of evil.

"EQUITY of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Equity of Evil 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was fortunate to be able to review the initial PDF version of this novel and now intend to order for my eReader as well! This is one of those rare thrillers that you want to read several times. OMG!
MeteorFlower More than 1 year ago
Roman Citrano is a successful entrepreneur who is hailed by others for chasing high risk deals. When a proposal to set up a controversial new company that offers mobile abortions is placed on his desk, he sees it as a way to get rid of seedy and life-threatening back room procedures by offering a clean, safe and dignified alternative. However, the rabbit hole runs deeper than that and he soon finds himself in an unfolding world of deceit, rape, human trafficking and assassination. One that becomes extremely personal when his love interest secretly uses one of the mobile vehicles to end her own pregnancy and then disappears with nothing but bloodstains and a broken lamp as proof she was taken by force. I liken this book to a jigsaw puzzle. Rudy Mazzocchi uses his own experience to present the reader with an edgy medical thriller that you won’t want to put down till the end. He lays out the pieces, leaves the reader wondering just how they’re all going to fit together and then there’s sudden clarity in one epic moment. Not everything comes together mind you, but most of it does. Considering the subject matter, I thought it might reflect the author’s values or seem a little preachy but was happy to find that the author let the character form his own views based on what he goes through and some of the absolute horrors in this book. It made for a really agreeable yet controversial read and that’s something I’ve never seen before. It pulled me in, ensnared me, made me wonder just how much of it was true and left me wanting more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Simply put, the more I read into this novel the harder it was to put down. Mr. Mazzocchi has beautifully woven very current issues that have been and will continue to be very controversial. His humanization of these issues, looking from both sides, is masterfully done. Equity of Evil does what all great books should do...make you think...and then ask questions. Tom Bridges, CEO, MDBook Inc
tmontido More than 1 year ago
Great Read, It definitely makes you think!!! I can’t wait for the hard copy to add to my collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EXCELLENT READ!! Very interesting, fast paced thrill ride!! I had the opportunity to read an advance copy and I could not put the book down! It is the BEST THRILLER I have read in years!!!
alanb1 More than 1 year ago
The author has written about a very controversial subject in terms that bring it to a new level of realtiy. His knowledge of the medical field and the settings where the story takes place make it all seem more like a news story than a fictional one. The character development is well done and the story line keeps you interested until the shocking ending.
Raphael Antonio More than 1 year ago
Wow - While I have never read many novels over the past couple of years, several friends and family have suggested that I read this novel, actually my first medical thriller since Coma by Robin Cook. I found EQUITY of EVIL to be a thoroughly engrossing, enjoyable read with many twists and turns. After finishing, I found it important to read a second time so that I could focus more on the characters than the chilling medical and scientific scenes. I look forward to another novel by this author - he has re-inspired me to start reading thrilers again!
ThrillerReader007 More than 1 year ago
I have never taken the time to "review" a book before, but this was an incredible read. It's like nothing I've ever read or experienced before. It played out in my mind like a movie. Why isn't this already on the NY Times Best Seller List? Totally awesome! This NEEDS to become a movie.
Nook-reader1 More than 1 year ago
Spectacular read! Its like nothing I've ever read before; like a combination of Stieg Larson, Robin Cook and Michael Crichton all rolled into one. Anxious to see this author's next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me a while to get into it because so many characters were introduced at the beginning that it was hard to keep track of who they were. Once I got into it, the book was really hard to put down. It raises some really thought-provoking and controversial topics and made me consider my own ethics. Most of all it made me stop and think about how our laws and priorities differ from those in other countries. I really enjoyed this book, and think it would make a really good movie.
GBDirector More than 1 year ago
More than just a medical thriller, Equity of Evil is a suspenseful story about highly controversial medical science that will shake up how you think about several moral and ethical issues. It also provides unbelievable and scary insights into the business and venture capital side of our healthcare system. This is a must read for anyone interested in business, science, healthcare, and/or how our government impacts and controls matters associated with our own bodies. The author pulls from true events and scary medical science that is under development, making this a gripping story that will stay with you for several weeks after you turn the last page. This should become one of those pieces of literary fiction that will be mandatory reading in high school or college. I can't wait for the author's next novel and hope to see this one play out on the big screen!  
Humbee More than 1 year ago
The Dame's Take On The Novel: This is a novel extremely well-written and burning with intrigue. The medical aspects, though quite detailed at times are absorbing and visceral. I was reminded of several other medical thrillers in the opening pages- -many of which are known today as best sellers in the industry. The business dealings behind the medical scenes were fascinating. Rudy Mazzocchi is destined to be a recognized name in publishing. His book is very good. You'll be knocked back in your chair in the reading! As I read "Equity of Evil" I was moved on many levels. Mazzocchi's characters cover the gamut of medical genius, Machiavellian personalities, manipulators of business and financial markets, political pawns, innocents, and the unaware. He leads us behind the scenes of medical labs and big business conference rooms, in back alleys and criminal darkness. We go where women are terrified... We often see where medical technology can lead us to depravity when it's taken to a level unchecked by heart and morality. However, this is not a "preachy" novel. It is absolutely not a book of that sort. Rather it is a story based on truth that gives us a glimpse into things that are possible, and that may be on the horizon in our future. Things that we need to be thinking about. And, things that we may need to take into consideration when we look at laws and regulations in our country. Or, perhaps, just that we may want to be aware of when we consider the daily world news... Was it just an early teacher of mine who used to say, "A word to the wise should be sufficient?" I found the book a great story to read. It was difficult not to be horrified at some parts of it. I'm going to have to tell you I'm pro-life, so the parts about fetuses being the size of a human thumb, having tiny hearts and lungs, eyelashes and tiny hands...being "plopped" out of bloody baggies onto clinical tables "making the exact sound of goldfish" and having their organs removed, hurt me. There were, of course, several other parts that hurt me having to do with the way women were treated, and the way animals were treated. I really despise violence toward children and women in particular. Human trafficking always makes me so angry! But, all in all...I needed this book. I needed to have my eyes opened to the possibilities of medical research and development. I loved the human equations featured in this question. This was a great way for me to have an understandable and clear introduction into those actualities and future possibilities. I enjoyed the experience in the long run. I'm happy I decided to read "Equity of Evil" because it was all I'd hoped it would be, and I'm so happy I took the whole journey. This is a novel of suspense, of mystery; a medical thriller with thrilling insights. If you loved Michael Crichton, you'll love this book. I hope it's going to be a great hit this year, it certainly deserves to be!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG! Had read these books out of order, EQUITY of FEAR first, not realizing that this was a series. I think I liked this one better, but now want to go and re-read the next one. Would be an incredible movie!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Equity of Evil is a suspensful look behind the scenes of medical research, venture capital investing and the potential abuses of both. Modern science and biotechnology is exposed to greed and power where millions of dollars are in the offing and innocent perople are unwittingly manipulated into participating in a horrific scheme. The main character is initially seen as an opportunistic investor, but his greed allows him to overlook danger signals that all is not right. From there, bad things happen and he if forced to examine his own ethics and morality. The story within the story which examines the ethics and morality of scientific reasearch, and the potential of what can be done (and at what cost) makes Equity of Evil a worthwhile read. It is suspenseful throughout and thought-provoking. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago