×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ernie: The Autobiography
     

Ernie: The Autobiography

4.5 15
by Ernest Borgnine
 

See All Formats & Editions

We wept at his Oscar-winning role in Marty. . .we gasped when he took on Frank Sinatra in From Here to Eternity. . .we were riveted by his compelling performances in The Dirty Dozen, Bad Day at Black Rock, and Ice Station Zebra. . .and we laughed at his television sitcom McHale's Navy. We loved all of Ernest Borgnine's many

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ernie: The Autobiography 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great man, great actor, great book! A light certainly went out when he passed last July. One of the last greats of Hollywood, and the last of The Wild Bunch. God speed Ernie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're thinking of controversial, dysfunctional Hollywood actors, Ernest Borgnine is unlikely to top the list. As advertised, the man met in this autobiography is "Ernie," a down to earth guy who has lived a long and interesting life. He takes the knocks without bitterness or vindictiveness, accepts triumphs without the big head, enjoys life and relishes every person encountered along the way. I did too. A few hours spent with this Hollywood legend is well worth the price of admission. It's very well written too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very poiignant, funny and straightforward! You feel like Borgnine has invited you to dinner and is telling great stories that end up being his life! Very enjoyable with historical perspectives. A good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Paul-Kyriazi More than 1 year ago
Ernie has been is so many classic movies, such as 'The Vikings', 'The Wild Bunch' 'Ice Station Zebra', so he has some real stories to tell. And it's good to get the truth about his short marraige to Ethal Merman. She left a blank page for here 'chapter' on Borgnine and you'll read Ernie's reaction to that. If you are a Borgnine fine, this book is five star. If you are a movie fan, this book is four star. Never a dull part in this book for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book about Ernest Borgnine, a native son of Connecticut. His writing "sounds" very much as one would imagine him speaking. If you liked him as an actor, you will enjoy reading about his life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lisabugIA More than 1 year ago
In his autobiography Mr. Borgnine opens up about his past, his passion for his work and the problems he faced on his road to doing the work that he loves. He makes a concerted effort to be fair to those he might not have good feelings for but still give the reader the reasons for his distaste. He has long been one of my favorite actors and this look into his past was wonderful. He only reinforced my belief that he is a true gentleman. Everyone makes mistakes, its what we do after them that seperates the men from the boys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shows a side of Hollywood, that is rarely seen or heard of. Respect for his fellow human beings ! Interesting and emotionally, provocative. A person who perfected his craft by studying and learning from experiences. A remarkable person who had compassion for his fellow workers. Shows that the up bringing of yesterdays and respect for ohters regardless of race , color, or religion, works!