×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ernie's Ark / Edition 1
     

Ernie's Ark / Edition 1

3.7 45
by Monica Wood
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0345477162

ISBN-13: 2900345477162

Pub. Date: 12/28/2004

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Acclaimed novelist Monica Wood again turns her keen eye and wry humor to small town Maine. Nine interrelated stories create a layered and complex portrait of a community in the midst of crisis as a strike wears on at the paper mill, and the residents of Abbott Falls feel the reverberations of the town's shifting fortune. Ernie, just days shy of retirement when the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ernie's Ark 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
MJ Clough More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Each story, though connected, stands on its own and draws you further and further into the town of Abbott Falls. Kudos to the small Portland Me bookstore that helped me discover Monica Wood!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really enjoying the first chapter. Then, as soon as I started chapter two, the g-d word started. I can put up with a LOT, as far as language, but that one I CANNOT abide. There is no reason for it. I wish BN would warn the readers about language, as some of us are sensitive to it and do not want to spend good money supporting disrespectful garbage like that. I am VERY disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not usually a fan of short stories, but the way these stories are all interwoven makes it and excellent, interesting read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting book. A town and a few of its people in a few short stories. Well worth reading, surprisingly good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very moving, different book. Not at all what I expected, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. A quick read because it is hard to stop. Each chapter opens more interest in the characters. I may just have to read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really great read. Highly recommend!!
imkevbo More than 1 year ago
I've only read Ernie's Ark, the first story in this collection, but it was a charming, enjoyable selection! I would purchase the book for first story alone! Then, if the other stories are as entertaining, what a bargain!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started this book and really lost the story line of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will be looking for more from Monica Wood.
SouthernSilverReader3 More than 1 year ago
This book really draws you in & holds you in it's grip. Very touching and also humorous. Wonderful story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A kalideascope of characters around a single event.
chrn3211 More than 1 year ago
I am a sucker for short stores and really liked this one as all of the stories were set in the same city/state and the characters were intertwined.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read, loved the author's style of explaining each character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was interesting to see how different people reacted to the plant shutdown and how their lives interacted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good light book but I would have liked it better if it had been a little longer. Think the author could have expanded on the book. A touching story.