×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Escape from the Deep: A True Story of Courage and Survival During World War II
     

Escape from the Deep: A True Story of Courage and Survival During World War II

4.6 24
by Alex Kershaw
 

In the early morning hours of October 24, 1944, the legendary U.S. Navy submarine Tang was hit by one of its own faulty torpedoes. The survivors of the explosion struggled to stay alive one hundred-eighty feet beneath the surface, while the Japanese dropped deadly depth charges. As the air ran out, some of the crew made a daring ascent through the escape

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Escape from the Deep: A True Story of Courage and Survival During World War II 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed book, could not put it down, read it cover to cover very quickly. Excellent.
___ANNA___ More than 1 year ago
Better than any type of action movie. Very exciting: great writing, incredible survival story of WW2 submarine wreck survivor(s) in Pacific during WW2, escape submarine being blown up, then remaing survivor(s) enduring Japanese prison of war captivity. It is definetly a page turner, coulud not wait to read the next page, very good book. Highly recommended WW2 book, action-adventure book. Great book.
Brian Dorn More than 1 year ago
Picked up this book and could NOT put it down! It is an incredible book about WW2 submarine survival! IT IS AN AMAZING BOOK! Most exciting book I have ever read, very good writing! Buy it -- read it ---- you will LOVE this book! I did!
fireman More than 1 year ago
Book is great thriller from the submarine service. It shows the heroism by our submariners. Also it shows there courage when taken pow. At the end of the book are interesting facts about the Hiroshima bomb which was dropped while the men were still in there pow camps. Also the men were in pow camp with Captian Boyington from Baa Baa Black sheep fame. A must and fast read book.
PIUSLEE More than 1 year ago
Shipshape nonfiction novel. Alex Kershaw is so much superior to any other nonfction warfare writer alive today. This book, had me turn every page to find out what happened next. Unrivaled in his resarch, this author paints a very inspring tale of survival during WWII. Excellent book.
Jennifermiller More than 1 year ago
Finest book I have read in a long time, WW2 story of survival in the Pacific during WW2, between USA submarines -- survivors, vs Japanese patrol boats, then as POWs under Japanese commnand. Very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Received this book as a christmas present, very good gfit, the author does an exciting job of painting a picture of submarine survival story in world war two pacific. Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book. Better adventure, action story than anything you will ever read in another book, see in an action movie. Fun, easy to read, good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so well written,learned a lot about human spirit! Motivated me to success in my own life! Escape from the Deep is a well writen book about the plight of a WW2 submarine vessell that is bombed and the few survingcrew members odessy as prisoners' of war in Japan. It is very good! VERY VERY GOOD! This author should be given the Pultzer Prize, he is probably the best writer I have ever encountered in regard to the topic of history and/or world war two. This book motivates, inspires, teaches the reader about WW2, you will definetly love reading it! A page turner, once you pick up this book and read the first page you will not be able to put this book down until you are done, it is incredible! HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMNEDED. Anyone interested in history, WW2, spending their money an a high quality nonfiction book -- buy Alex Kershaw! This book one of the best books I have ever read! Very, very well written.
GalinaMorse More than 1 year ago
Escape from the Deep, by author Alex Kershaw is written in a timeless, classic manner which deserves the attention of millions of readers. Great story, great book.
New-York-City-Reader More than 1 year ago
Very well written Submarine story of survival WWII bombing. It was very action packed, fun book.
BD0 More than 1 year ago
Best survival story, action book I have ever read.
briannnnn More than 1 year ago
Tale of survival in the face of death, destruction WWII pacific theatre.
Christianbelle More than 1 year ago
Amazing book, superior to anything ever written in regard to warfare conducted on the sea, incredibly inspirational. It was awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EddieGreen More than 1 year ago
Think I read there making this book into a movie, it is deserving, it is like being involved in some great action movie while you read it.
REDFOXEAST More than 1 year ago
I shouldn't be alive on cable tv -- stole this book's premise. Very captivating tale of survival. GREAT BOOK, a real page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GREAT FUN READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Superior to any other WWII book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exception is my opinion for ranking.
austintexas More than 1 year ago
Great story of survival, warfare WWII.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GOOD