×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eva Luna: A Novel
     

Eva Luna: A Novel

4.6 19
by Isabel Allende
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet New York Times bestselling author Isabel Allende’s most enchanting creation, Eva Luna: a lover, a writer, a revolutionary, and above all a storyteller.

Eva Luna is the daughter of a professor’s assistant and a snake-bitten gardener—born poor, orphaned at an early age, and working as a servant. Eva is a naturally gifted and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eva Luna 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A excellent book. Iwas unable to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
boogiedowndiva More than 1 year ago
Why aren't all of Isabel Allende's books in Nook form?
ShelbyLynn628 More than 1 year ago
Isabel Allende wrote this book about Eva Luna who narrates her own life. This book is exciting, romantic, sad, and adventurous. It starts off by telling the story of Consuelo, Eva's mother, and about her life. After Eva's born, her mother dies and she has nowhere to go since her father had died as well. Eva lives with multiple people in exchange for working for them. As she grows up, she meets many important people in her life including the men she falls in love with. When she becomes a young adult, she meets with 3 people from her past, a transgender whom she lives with, her "abuela" and one of her lovers. The transgender, Mimi, allows Eva to stay with her and her lover, Huberto Naranjo, whom she's known since she was a child, meets up with her in the most unexpected times in her life. Mimi and Eva find Eva's "abuela" Elvira. Elvira used to live with Eva in the house of her patrona and Elvira came and lives with them. After a time Eva meets with Huberto, Mimi is furious because of the fact that they love each other and she claims she knows who Huberto really is. But when Huberto becomes a Commander and Eva meets Rolf Carle, she feels as if she'd known him for years. Who will she chose; the guerilla fighter or the German immigrant? I didn't love this book but it wasn't torture reading it. The major reason why I didn't enjoy this book was because it confused me. Ever other chapter it went from talking about Eva then about Rolf Carle. And for quite some time, I had no idea what Rolf had to do with the story or with Eva. Thankfully the end cleared up my confusion and the book started to make sense to me. I especially liked the romance in the story, for example, how Mimi didn't want Eva with Huberto but she didn't care because she loved him so much. From reading this book, I learned that no one has a boring life and everyone has an interesting story to tell, just like the stories Eva was known for telling. I overall liked this book but I don't think I'd like to read it again. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Spanish books or has enjoyed any other books by Isabel Allende. But I would not recommend this book to anyone in my age group because I know that most of them wouldn't enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
john591 More than 1 year ago
Eva Luna is an imaginative tale of personalities well developed, and life situations imaginatively described. Her humor, imagination, and ability to spin a yarn are truly remarkable. Her writing is as good as that of Gabriel Garcia Marquez--my favorite author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i absolutely LOVED reading this book. i really enjoyed all the characters in Eva Luna. There is a certain feeling you get when reading this, maybe its from the magic realism that Allende sometime embeds. Most of all, the richness of the characters and scenery is what makes this novel so great. I also think The House of the Spirits by Allende was superb!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wolds of possibilities
Guest More than 1 year ago
This extraordinary book, Eva Luna, by Isabel Allende, is about a girl living in South America and the story of her life. This girl finds herself in this world completely alone after her mom dies, with nowhere to go and with a talent for telling stories that was barely worth anything at that time. She has to go through hard times, tough situations and new experiences to survive. Through out her life she meets and makes friends that later on are really important to her and affect her life in every possible way. She meets all kinds of people, from different nationalities to different lifestyles. She meets a Turkish merchant, a South American guerilla fighter, and a German immigrant that makes this book a definite page-turner. Another thing that makes this book so interesting is the variety of characters and how interesting they make this story. For example, Eva Luna a girl with a passion for telling stories, a writer, and a person with a great heart always who wants to help others in every way possible. Eva Luna meets a German immigrant who during his childhood suffered a lot. Then he decides to move to South America and start a new life as a photographer. Another interesting character is a Turkish merchant who is married to a woman who can¿t stand seeing him because of a birth defect in his lip, but who is the most generous man anyone has ever met. These characters make this story a great story to read. This story is full of rich detail, and feeling. It makes you feel and understand the hard situations that Eva Luna was going through as if it were you living those same experiences. This story is very original and full great adventures and various situations from romance to revolution to storytelling. Allende narrates this story in such a way that keeps you glued to the book from the very beginning. A book everyone should read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i enjoyed it a lot. it s simply excellent, unputdownable, incredible and terribly real. i loved reading it!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book a few years ago, and was completely thrilled and didn't know she did House of Spirits,I enjoyed it very much, rich details, romance and a great story, I would like to read more by this author.