×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Evening
     

Evening

3.4 26
by Susan Minot
 

See All Formats & Editions

Hailed as Susan Minot's finest work yet, Evening is a heartbreaking exploration of time and memory, a mesmerizing love story laced with passion and eroticism. Bedridden with terminal cancer, 65-year-old Ann Lord drifts in and out of a morphine-induced reverie, recalling the romantic and ultimately tragic events of a life-altering weekend 40 years in the past --

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Evening 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
About 15 pages into this book, I wasn't sure I was going to finish it. Not because it wasn't intriguing, just because I wasn't sure I was mentally capable. The book has an actual rhythm to it which takes some getting used to but once you do, its well worth the effort.

We all have moments in our lives that have shaped which paths we take and ultimately change our destinies. This book explores this in a beautiful and touching way. As an old woman bedridden and dying, Ann Lord examines her life as she slips in and out of mental clarity. The 'what if' as it pertains to a single weekend in Ann's life leads the reader through decades of pain, love, shame, and ultimately happiness.

Overall I found this book to be a good read and one I enjoyed much more after I was finished and able to reflect on its impact on my own life. This is definitely a book that demands your attention and a little work but I found it extremely rewarding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chccbffjddccjbc
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard read. Finally picked on the style of writing and read a little at a time because trying to keep characters and relationships in some sort of order. I understood the plot of the story. At least I finished the book. Would prefer not to read another book written like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was incredible...it has been a long time since I have read a book from cover to cover without putting it down! A deeply touching story about reflecting on one's life and love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The beginning and middle of this novel was great but the ending was a complete let down. It seemed like the author ran out of steam and just wrote a quick, disappointing ending. The movie was just as bad.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought it was going to be a good book since it won New York Times book of the year and a motion picture was made based on the book. Too many characters, made it too confusing. It was also depressing. Would not recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I did not care for this book for a couple of reasons. The stream of consciousness style of some of the passages was so annoying and lacking in depth that I simply skimmed them. The main story of the weekend that changed the main character's life was told in a very fine fashion, but those passages didn't make up for the overall choppiness and confusion that left the reader going 'huh?' I understand that the writer wanted the reader to be as confused as the dying cancer patient would be on her death bed, and while the intent is fine the delivery makes the book stylistically unpalatable. The portions of the book about the patient's present day family are irritating and left me wondering why they even bothered to show up at her deathbed. Overall, a dissapointment after all of the hype. I would not read this author again if a new book includes the stream of consciousness technique that here flopped so badly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down and I sobbed at the end of it. It touched something deep in me and brought up a lot of my own memories. I completely understood this heroine and I thought the mystery of love was really well conveyed in a beautiful but not overly sentimental way. I think if you have loved, lost and then had to go on this book will be more poignant for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story could have been told in a few pages. Unfortunately, the story was stretched out and told in three different ways, it seems. First, the main plot or focus of the book, the weekend Ann meets and spends a mere three days with Harris. Second, the constant flashbacks to her inadequate life after said weekend. Third, the weird, morphine-induced delusions of a dying Ann. The worst parts were the page-long, run-on sentences without punctuation. Add to that her thoughts or memories interjected in to the middle of sentences, e.g. 'So much of life was bracing oneself MAKE IT GO AWAY she was not as she once was I CAN'T BEGIN TO EXPLAIN the old way was not working...' The only good thing I found about this book was that, mercifully, it was a short read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's been done before. Take 'The Jilting of Granny Wetherall,' add some Woolf, some Mansfield and some closely-replicated Joyce. I read it straight through, though. Engaging, but predictable. Enough already with the dedication. . .
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. I thought it was a little depressing - I guess the take home message is that one never really is happy with how one ends up?? I'm not sure. It was definitely a good read, though, and made me think. I think it's a good beach/vacation read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very disappointing. A 'love' based on one weekend fling isn't love. It's scratching an itch. This could have been so much better. Also, the author's style of writing was entirely too kitschy.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Broadway and television actress, Emmy Award winner for her performance in the PBS series The Adams Chronicles, Kathryn Walker has a varied and busy career. Born in Philadelphia she made her debut in an off Broadway production in 1971. It didn't take long for her to reach Broadway in such stellar offerings as 'Private Lives' and 'Wild Honey.' Her film roles are many, and she has often appeared on daytime television. This is an actress perfectly suited to give voice to Minot's superb story of love and loss. In the summer of 1954 Ann Grant traveled from New York City to coastal Maine to be a bridesmaid in a good friend's wedding. She was 25, and it was there that she met Harris Arden. She had heard his name mentioned, but she had expected someone older. He was young, handsome, and they fell in love, almost immediately, fully, and passionately. That was a weekend she would always remember because Harris was engaged to a girl in Chicago, and he would marry her. Ann, too, would marry, several times. In the present narrative it is years later, we hear: 'In her sixty-five years Ann Lord had kept herself busy and was not particularly reflective but now forced to lie here day after day she found herself visited by certain reflections. Life would not hold any more surprises for her, she thought, all that was left was for her to get through this last thing.' Ann is dying, at times lucid, at other times seemingly lost in delirium where she relives that weekend of long ago. An incredible writer, Susan Minot has fashioned a singular story of love and loss, life and death. To hear this author's exquisite prose is a rare treat, to hear it read by Kathryn Walker enriches the experience. - Gail Cooke
Guest More than 1 year ago
At the end of her life, Ann Lord thinks back on how her life might have been different if she had spent it with her 'true love.' Right. A 'true love' with whom she spent moments in one whirlwind weekend, and with whom the extent of their relationship was based solely on physical attraction and on nothing approaching substance. The characters are generally not developed enough, with the exception of Ann Lord, who is intended to be this sweet heroine who has had a lifelong run of bad luck and bad choices, but who is really nothing more than a selfish and shallow child. Further crippling the hope of enjoying this novel, is the author's lack of punctuation. There are some passages where this works to convey the experience of a dying woman, and the way that the mind spins into so many different directions. But overall, it is distracting, and leads to having to reread parts of the book in order to figure out who is talking and what they are talking about. The one redeeming quality of Evening is Minot's use of descriptive language. She does manage to create some truly beautiful settings that keep this book from being a complete waste of time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ms. Minot does an outstanding job of telling the story of a dying woman's last days and her memories of the events in which she met her true love so many years ago. You don't have to be a fan of love stories to enjoy this novel, I'm certainly not. But, Ms. Minot tells the story in such a way, that you can't help but become transfixed with the star-crossed lovers. Well worth reading, for the breathtaking prose alone. Well done, Ms. Minot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written and heartbreaking- this book is great. Once I started, I couldn't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Minot's style of writing parallels the mind's often swirling indifference to thinking rationally when the emotional heart is involved. I find it hard to put this book down once I start reading it - swept up in the timeless romance, goosebumps and tears.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a very touching book and I loved reading it. It especially had meaning to me because of the death of my grandmother this past year. One can only imagine the thoughts that cross one's mind when death is near. A great read & highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well written and a basically enjoyable plot line, QUICK READ, but please explain more!I loved Minot's style and felt that she conveyed the conflict between conscious/subconscious or mind/heart very well. I grew attached to each of her characters but was left waiting for more closure by the end of the book. Minot did not clarify the answers to the questions she asked at the opening: Do moments last forever? Does the love matter? It did not seem that the author meant to leave problems unresolved, but simply lost the energy to finish what she started. The issues of the sisters and brother, with their mother, each other, and their own personal lives, had no conclusion. I was left wondering if Minot wanted to reader to believe that endless cycles exist in human nature, and this was reflected in Ann's problems continued on with her children. What was the connection between Ann and Constance? Why did Maria write Ann? Again, Well written and a basically enjoyable plot line, but please explain more!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found that once I started, I could not put this book down. The story of Ann's life and the one weekend that did so much to shape it was simply irresistable. Minot manages to tell this story in such a haunting way that I felt almost as if I was floating through the story with the character.