×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Everglades (Doc Ford Series #10)
     

Everglades (Doc Ford Series #10)

4.6 57
by Randy Wayne White
 

See All Formats & Editions

Doc Ford returns to his stilt house on Dinkin's Bay to find an old friend and one-time lover waiting for him. Her real-estate developer husband has disappeared and been pronounced dead, and she's sure there's worse to follow-and she's right. Following the trail, Ford ends up deep in the Everglades, at the gates of a community presided over by a man named Bhagwan Shiva

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Everglades (Doc Ford Series #10) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
grandma-1 More than 1 year ago
I enjoy the Doc Ford character. The descriptions of places in Florida and the places he travels takes me on a vicarious vacation. He's an honest character with flaws. I will keep on reading Randy Wayne White.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read like the idea of reading little tidbits about florida and its wildlife incorperated in the story line well written mystery
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
............
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cleans the camp. - cloverwhisper
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where is wheatclaw now?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Trouble is afoot again for Doc Ford in this tenth adventure for the marine biologist from Dinkin's Bay on Florida's Gulf Coast. Doc's childhood pal and one-time lover Sally Carmel arrives at his stilt house with a tale of a missing husband, presumed dead after a nighttime fall off of a boat while on a fishing trip. But is he really dead, and who is the menacing guy shadowing Sally's every move? The trail leads to the husband's business partner, a crooked religious cult leader who is cooking up some devilish plans to replenish his personal coffers. Bwagwan Shiva has no intention of waiting for the afterlife to reap a heavenly reward, and if murder and mayhem-not to mention major environmental damage to the fragile and unique ecosystem of the Everglades-is necessary, so be it. Doc is facing some personal demons of his own, as depressed and out of shape he confronts the price he is paying for continually camouflaging his essentially predatory nature with a socially acceptable facade. The Everglades, eloquently rendered by Randy Wayne White's vivid descriptions, offer a parallel reflection of the negative consequences of trying to impose man's vision of civilization upon the natural order. Through a maelstrom of impressively complex physical combat, a nighttime encounter with a deadly bull shark, death-defying air boat hijinks, earthquake tremors, high explosives and a volcano, White delivers an increasingly complex portrait of Doc Ford and his hippie pal Tomlinson. But long time fans have come to expect more than just great storytelling, and Everglades does not disappoint, as White peppers his narrative with impressively researched information about Florida's Indian history, the ecology of the Everglades, primitive human brain physiology and wrestling, among many other topics. Read this book and you will know some terrific bars and restaurants to visit on Florida's Gulf Coast; how to make a great rum drink and the special brand of Nicaraguan rum to use; what brand of baseball glove supports questionable business practices in Costa Rica; which boat engine manufacturer is finding favor with fishing guides these days; the legend of the Swamp Ape; and what exactly the witch's soldiers are chanting in The Wizard of Oz. A brilliant and amazing ride right to the last page, Everglades will leave you eagerly awaiting the next encounter with Doc Ford.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For years. as a Floridian, I've been hearing the fuss created by devotees of novelist Randy Wayne White, but had no urgency to read his books. After all, Florida is home to plenty of writers, many of them very good. At least two are surperb in my opinion. So, with my birthday in May, my boyfriend surprised me with an early copy of White's newest tale, EVERGLADES. I expected the book would be an acceptable imitation of Hiassen, MacDonald or even Hemingway. As I turned the final page, I couldn't help but be delighted! Everglades was an unbelievable read. I stand corrected and am now a believer. Mr. White is a terrific stylist and storyteller who writes more powerfully and with a lot more fun than Grisham, Patterson and Clancy (whose books I all enjoy). The ending to Everglades...endings, actually, were exciting. Highly recommended. I'm off to read White's other Doc Ford novels I
harstan More than 1 year ago
Dr. Marion Ford lives in a stilt house on Dinkin¿s Bay on Sanibel Island off the west coast of Florida, which is also home base for his business, supplying marine specimens to schools and research facilities. On the surface, he looks like a nerdy scientist but for years he was a deep cover spy. The guilt and shame he feels for those years is spiraling him into a deep depression, just when a good friend apples to him for help.

Newly windowed Sally Minster comes to Doc Ford for help because someone broke into her apartment and has stalked her since her husband died. Doc finds out that the man who followed her is a private investigator who wants to make sure that Sally¿s husband is really dead. Before he died he became deeply involved with the International Church of Ashram Meditation Inc., run by a con man named Shia who will do anything necessary to get what he wants. When Sally is kidnapped and the man guarding her is found murdered, Doc Ford must go into the heart of the guru¿s empires for answers that will lead him to Sally.

Randy Wayne White is a creative genus who writes stories that are seductively compelling and hauntingly refreshing. The protagonist finally comes to terms with the violence that is a part of him and in doing so is able to help those he cares about as well as appoint himself the avenger to those who need to be taught a lesson. After reading EVERGLADES, one will come to appreciate just how fragile that ecosystem is and find pleasure in the complex and intricate plot.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want your body so dam bad