×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Evergreen
     

Evergreen

4.1 46
by Belva Plain
 

See All Formats & Editions

The towering modern classic of passion and  ambition that forever changed the way we see the  courageous immigrants who came to America's shores — the  story of Anna Friedman transfixes us with the  turbulent emotions of a woman and her family touched  by war, tragedy, and the devastating secrets of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Evergreen 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having read this book when it was first published, I found it so memorable I saved it for my daughter who is now 30. She, in turn, put it away for her own. It is definitely a "must read", even for Irish-American Catholics like us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of a handful of novels that had a profound influence on me. I was a sophomore in college when I read it, and then embarked on studies in Jewish American history because I was so moved by the characters and their stories. Plain is a master at the art of sagas.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A truly moving book! It captivates you and draws you in from the first page. You read it and you live it. There is a realistic plot filled with hopes, dreams, love, and true sorrow. Possibly one of the best novels ever written.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I consider it the best book I ever read and I read all the time. I read it for the first time 15 years ago and just read it again and loved it again!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
An excellent book worth reading. This book captivates you and pulls you on to read more. Definatly a book to be read over and over.
Anonymous 3 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes, one of the best. You do not want it to end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, I have never kissed anyone either, but I say get comfortable with him and get in the moment. Kiss him!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For your first kiss, do not, and l mean, DO NOT, try french kissing, or weird movements with the tongue. Gently press your lips against his. Hold his hands, or put your hands around his neck. Don't leave your arms hanging limply by your sides. Lastly, pop a breath mint in your mouth before you kiss. Hope this helps!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think it has been probably over 20 years since I first read Evergreen and I am so glad I decided to re-read it!!!!! It is an amazing book and a MUST READ. It is the novel that started Belva Plain on her wonderful career and even though she went on to write many more books, this is still my favorite. The writing has a way to make the characters come alive in your head. I love the generations and the webbing of the story and all the characters. I could go on and on. It is a quick read because you won't be able to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow , never felt like oer 600 pages. Enjoyed every moment of this book.
capri45 More than 1 year ago
The best novel I've ever read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was Belva Plain's first novel. I read it many years ago and enjoyed it again just as much as the first time. She is a gifted author who has mastered character development.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book can be put down and picked up again without losing the plot line. The characters are good, story is pretty good, but not a page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book very much. I did not want to put the book down. I finished it in 2 days and then began reading Evergreen's sequel: Heartwood by Bela Plain. I am highly recomending both books to my friends. Evergreen and Heartwood books are treasured in my Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago