×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse (Every Cowgirl Series)
     

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse (Every Cowgirl Series)

4.0 18
by Rebecca Janni, Lynne Avril (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse, Nellie Sue does everything with a western flair. Whether it is cleaning up the animal sty (picking up her stuffed animals) or rounding up cattle (getting the neighborhood kids together for her birthday party), she does it like a true cowgirl. All she really needs is a horse. So when Dad announces at her birthday party, “I

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
blakeandlily More than 1 year ago
cute and charming story about a girl who wants a horse for her birthday and gets something else instead! Makes a great gift too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a clever, delightful story! My granddaughters have picked it every night since I gave it to them for me or their parents to read to them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The colorful cover on "Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse" piqued my interest since I had my own horse when I was young. What an imagination Nellie Sue has in her detailed planning to accomodate her coveted horse. I loved the crossed out misspelled words which indicated her excitement and anticipation. In Nellie Sue's imagination, she took on the character of a real cowgirl. Her every thought was "Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse." The colorful illustrations are captivating, making the story come alive; making the characters real. Nellie Sue's desire to share her birthday horse with friends indicates her joy in sharing with others. This delightful book is not only fun reading but it has lessons that the young readers can absorb. Nellie Sue was diligent in her planning for her horse. She was perserving in that she followed her dream. She applied herself to her work. Nellie Sue was not inclusive in her friendship but shared with all her friends. Nellie Sue was able to deal with situations and dream on. Great Book! Nellie Sue will be remembered.
RadcliffeNJ More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best children's books I've ever seen. First and foremost, the illustrations are beautiful! The colors are lovely and the images are soft and wonderful to look at but yet pleasantly detailed. It was the illustrations that drew me to the book on the shelf and I've always felt that they are such an important part of a good children's book. They also really help to tell the story in a way not found in most children's books. But the story is equally genius! : ) The main character, Nellie Sue, is a Cowgirl "through and through." In fact, the only thing she is missing is a horse - so she asks for one for her birthday. Well, she doesn't get a horse, she gets a bike, but the way it is handled is so sweet and clever! I thought it was great that the author chose to go that route because it's much more realistic - how many little girls are really going to get a horse? This makes the story so much more relatable. It's just a warm and funny read from beginning to end. This is a great book for girls who aren't into the "girlie" stuff like princesses and ballerinas, or any little girl (or boy) who loves horses. This is also good for adult collectors. My sister was a horse lover when we were little and I got this book for her as a fun, nostalgic Christmas gift.
Rachel Rogers More than 1 year ago
My daughter LOVES this book! Really cute story and cleverly written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my 3-yr old's favorites. It is pure imagination, similar to "Pinkalicious" and "Goldilicious". I didn't know if she would like it since she doesn't have much interest in cowboys or cowgirls and the main character in this book is obsessed with being a cowgirl. But my daughter took to it the first time we read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author came to my daughter's school so we purchased the book so she could sign it. My daughter loved the book and played cowgirl after reading it. It is a cute book filled with imagination. We will be getting more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Word-Crafter More than 1 year ago
Nellie Sue knows exactly what she wants for her birthday. She's even planning to turn the garage into a stable. But her high hopes are dashed. The story of how she deals with her disappointment is charming. The language is witty; for example, the cowgirl narrator "rounds up" the neighbor kids for her party. The expressive illustrations capture both Nellie Sue's imagination and reality. While the message isn't heavy-handed, Nellie Sue and her father set a good example of how to deal with the gap between what you hope for and what you get. This book would make a great readaloud. Activities, such as a maze and word search, are available at http://rebeccajanni.com/fun-stuff.html This is the author's first book; I hope more of Nellie Sue's adventures are coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Allison Snead More than 1 year ago
i really dont know i have not read this book