×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Every Day
     

Every Day

4.4 159
by David Levithan
 

See All Formats & Editions

A has no friends. No parents. No family. No possessions. No home, even. Because every day, A wakes up in the body of a different person. Every morning, a different bed. A different room. A different house. A different life. A is able to access each person's memory, enough to be able to get through the day without parents, friends, and teachers realizing this is not

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Every Day 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 159 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can only give this book four stars because I wanted more. A fast read but brought some new ideas and questions about life and our necessity to judge others. I loved this book and hope to see more about the character, A. The power 'he' held but decided to follow a more compassionate path made me love 'her' more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never read a book that made me think about how much I take my everyday, consistant life for granted. This is a must read and I can't wait to experience it again and again.
RoHet More than 1 year ago
Simply fantastic. The book evokes questions about importance of love, future and what we are willing and able to do and give up for the significant other. Loved every word of this book!!!!! Can't wait for more :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought Every Day the day it came out, I read the first page at the store and knew this was a definitely must read, it did not disappoint. This book might have just easily have become one of my favourites, it's smartly written and put together, and the idea is very original. I fell for the characters and made a connection to each of them even thought they were all so different. The book made me reconsider the most basic thing we all take for granted, waking up every morning in the same body being able to love and have those close to us every day, being able to make ties with people. This book is gripping, beautiful, but broke my heart. There are just no words to say how much I honestly recommend this book.
JudiRohrig More than 1 year ago
A Totally Exceptional Story! I've added EVERY DAY by David Levithan to my top ten list of best reads ever. It fits nicely alongside Ken Grimwood's REPLAY, Audrey Niffenegger's THE TIME TRAVELER'S WIFE, David Benioff's CITY OF THIEVES, and Gene Wolfe's PEACE. "A" wakes up each morning in someone else's body. That's the way life's always been. But then . . . Levithan seems to intuit the questions that arise as "A" finds his world grinding to a halt all because he falls in love. (Or is "A" a she? And does it really matter?) But the answers only lead to bigger questions. And heartbreaking decisions. Read this book. Then read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book. But I just didn't. It is hard to feel invested in a main character that has little to no development, especially one that comes across as selfish for much of the book. A messes up many people's lives in the quest to make the romance work. The end felt abrupt, maybe even rushed, and left the story feeling sad and unresolved. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. Although it was unique and unlike anything I have read, it wasn't what I expected at all. I rarely write reviews but this one deserved a warning. Make sure you know what you're getting yourself into before you read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is addictive but anxiety provoking because the protagonist is so alone. I kept looking for that "OH" moment when the essence or origin of the character's main issue would be explained. It never is and in the end I was left feeling unresolved and a bit sad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book had a really interesting concept but the story was really boring. There were so many exciting ways the author could have used this book concept, but he spent most of the book talking about gay, lesbian, and even transgender 15 year olds. Too boring and uninteresting for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some books are very well written, but have a poor plot line, and some books have an engaging plot but are poorly written. Very rarely I can find a book that is both enticing and well written. Unfortunatly, this was not one of those books. The book is intriguing and interesting to think about. I liked the idea of someone inhabiting a new body and having to adapt to a new life everyday, I just wish that there was more of a plot to the story. I feel like the author could have done something more to the story to create a bigger conflict and keep the story moving. Overall, the story was a good read. I have always loved the books by Greene and It's a much better than most teen fiction. I am looking forward to the seqel. Hopefully, the author will add more twists and action!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise of this book is really interesting yet sad. The idea that you truly have no identity or family of your own is painful. I enjoyed reading about A's experiences and his conclusions about how alike we all really are. My frustration is with the predictability of the story line itself. With such an amazing concept i had hoped for more of an adventure. As it stands, it looks like just a set up for a series to come. I really would have liked to learn more about A's condition and perhaps more about his previous hosts. More info...less cliff hanger. Thank you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautifully  written. I really enjoy reading the journey That A, the main character, makes to always  see the girl that he likes. This idea for the book is very unique and make us think more about how important  everyday our lives is. The ending of the book broke my heart. I was really sad to read that A has sacrifice his love so that Rhiannon can have a better,clear future with the one she loves. I really hope that there will be more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first that I have read by this author. Loved it but his others do not sound as interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kept me reading & wanting to read more when it was done
Elemillia More than 1 year ago
Since the first moment I picked up this ARC, I knew I was going to really enjoy it. "David Levithan... has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love." That's exactly what happens in this book. Along with angst, there's also some real romantic and heart-grabbing love. I was totally grabbed by this book, beyond my expectations. The reason this book really attracted me was because I can relate to the daily expectation of life to be someone... and sometimes how we crave to be someone else... to just escape, but to also come back to who we truly are. This is a very unique concept. It breaks all notions of who we are, or what we are expected to be. It spreads awareness about acceptance and of seeing beyond the shapes, colors, and even genders. This is an example of how one character can make a huge impact on our perception of life. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was also an easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book within a day. And I cannot wait to reread it in the future, through an even deeper perspective. 'A' is the main character who falls in love with Rhiannon. While their romance starts abruptly, the book takes you on a thought-provoking, beautiful journey of life and love. While reading, take the time to ask yourself questions, and you will have a new viewpoint towards the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this read. Any book that can tie the reader and the protagonist emotionally is an excellent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read 262 of the 322 pages of this book in one day. I couldn't stop because like our lives, the story is always rolling forward. Whether we, or A, likes it or not. With all of the bodies A possesses, it's easy to find one that you relate to, and gives what you feel or what you've thought some solid word and phrase. The ending leaves you breathless and furious for more but you totally understand why it ended this way. Just as A intended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book I have read in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me from the first page and it never stopped entertaining and moving me. This will be one of my favorite reads. Treat yourself!
blamethebooks 6 months ago
Every Day is a magical realism novel that tells the story of A., a teenage soul that wakes up every day in a different body, not knowing why or how this happens. One day, A. wakes up in the body of Justin, the boyfriend of a girl named Rhiannon. A. quickly realizes that they have fallen in love with Rhiannon and embarks on a daily journey to find her no matter what body they inhabit. Every Day is beautifully and lyrically written. It was such a pleasure to read just because of the writing style. But there was one other aspect that I absolutely loved about this book, and that is Levithan’s acknowledgement of diversity in the form of gender fluidity, mental illness, racial and class differences, and even struggles with substance abuse. The character of A. identifies with no gender, and frequently mentions being attracted to both men and women. They can’t seem to understand why people are so afraid of gender fluidity and gender identity. Levithan also gives a nod to mental health issues, allowing the reader inside A.’s head as they inhabit the body of people with varying degrees of mental illness. This was approached so wonderfully. A. also inhabited the bodies of people of different races, body types, religions, and social and economic classes - and it was fascinating to read about the public’s reaction to A. when they were in these bodies. It was like a mini sociological experiment, which is something that is right up my alley. I wish I could describe the way these scenes were presented in more detail, but alas, I am not as eloquent as David Levithan and therefore I will leave the writing to the master and suggest you check out the book for yourself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book my sophomore year in high school. i recommend to read it. I was disappointed at the end because i was just so into the book and then it just ended like that . This is one of the best books i have read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
toniFMAMTC More than 1 year ago
Wow, this story. I did not expect the punch it gave me. I suggest that you not find out any spoilers before reading it. It does an excellent job of making you really think about what’s important and truly appreciate things. I highly recommend this for teens and adults. It’s great for opening the mind and the heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a frustrating yet delightful read.
SecondRunReviews More than 1 year ago
’ve been intrigued with Every Day by David Levithan from the first time I encountered it at my local bookshop. Just the synopsis on GoodReads gets the mind thinking… Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day. Why does A wake up in different bodies every day? What’s it like living in someone else’s skin for the day? How do you cope being someone different every day? The mind reels. When Every Day first started off it was a compelling read. It was a learning experiencing for me because A doesn’t necessarily have a gender. A’s thoughts are philosophical and give the reader a lot to chew on. Then A fell in love with Rhiannon. I didn’t have a problem with A falling in love with Rhiannon. Their infatuation with each other, the joys of young love was lovely. I had a problem when A spent the day in Rhiannon’s body. I was so fantastically creeped out that my skin was crawling. I was driving and I just wanted to take a bath after getting done with that section. It took the body hopping a bit too far and it escalated, in my mind, A’s obsession with Rhiannon. To me, he felt like a stalker. I also had a problem how the secondary story line with Nathan Daldry and the Reverend evolved. The late reveal that there are others like A in the world felt like an afterthought. At that point in the game, I just wanted A and Rhiannon to figure out their relationship. That was the meat of the story for me—how relationships grow and change. I didn’t care if A is part of an alien race or a demon or what by that point. If the author wanted that to be a primary part of the story, why not bring it up sooner? I was super annoyed because a) it meant that this was suddenly going to be series and b) it meant that A could cling to Rhiannon longer. I know, based on the average review rating on GoodReads, that I’m in the minority in my feelings about this book. The strongest points of this book are the deep understanding one can gain by considering the thoughts and feelings of others in every thing that one does every day. But the creepy, stalkerish behavior of the characters and the late decision to continue the story into other books rubbed me in all the wrong ways.