×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Every Last Cuckoo
     

Every Last Cuckoo

3.6 30
by Kate Maloy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Every Last Cuckoo 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kate Maloy has written the most fantastic book. Its not about magic or vampires or anything that everyone now days seems to want to read about. Every Last Cuckoo is a book about life, and all the good things that you can achieve in it. This lovely little book tells of one womans capacity to love and care for her family and friends and even strangers at the time when she is at her lowest. She discovers that nature can heal and not all of life is perfect but life still goes on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once I started his book I couldnt put it down.To be honest,I havent even finished it yet.I am savoring the last few chapters because I dont want it to end.I just want to live next door to these people:) I have been married for 23 years and have had our highs and lows.Kate explains a longtime marriage wtih such grace.Their as even a in a part in the book that I put in a card for my husband.She touched me so much.Made me rethink family....made me realize how lucky I am to have the husband I have.Thank you so much Kate.I checked this out from the library but am buying this one for my own!!!!
PaulineMA More than 1 year ago
I didn't know what to expect but the title intrigued me and the blurb sounded like something I'd like. Plus I loved the cover. I really enjoyed the characters in this book, the setting in Vermont and the descriptions made me feel like I was right there with them in the story. Sarah reveals her present and little bits of her past through the this story. Her ups and downs. I love how she came to acknowledge her faults and even how she resolved differences. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I'm so happy I found it!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book. Can't add much to Jen's earlier review of this title. It was a great story that I hated to see end.
snowshoe27 More than 1 year ago
When life throws you a curved ball go with it. This story of an elderly couple and their grown children and grand children takes you on a journey of life changes and discovery of one's self. I enjoyed this book because it is the story of how even the elderly can change and find a new sense of purpose and happiness.
Eliza_Berry 8 days ago
I first read this book in 2014, and I've found myself returning to it again and again, each time finding something new and personally rewarding. The perspectives and interactions among the people in the book shine new light on my own experiences as the years pass.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Library, not purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Refreshing? I guess even after reading this I felt short of being enlightened or encouraged in any significant way. Read the free sample and if you love the style it is right for you. I read the sample and took the 1:99 bet. Oh well, at least I didn't lose much money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a page turner. I enjoyed it very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was beautifully descriptive in nature. I felt I really got to know the landscape and wildlife of Vermont and how Sarah was truly feeling. Love was a major theme, while some elements were just a tad far fetched. Such as, the amount and age of houseguests. So many characters to remember and keep track of!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed the story and characters in this book. Would recommended it highly to persons 50+.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found it difficult to follow the plot in the beginning of the book because there was no definitive indication that the character was reminiscing. The story addresses family relationships. It also promotes the use of marijuana.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has great insight into the mind of a 60-70 year olds loves,regrets,relationships, and knowing that the end is near. It also gave me hope that life can be good after that 50 year old love of your life dies.
Stevewin More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. Makes one reflect and think.When you finish ,it is like drinking the last of a glass of water and feeling refreshed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago